7/28 Nadia PMPS +2.5=79 +3.25=63+4=62 4.5=66 5+57

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

Here is last night's PJ party condo

We lowered Nadia's dose to .75u for both AM and PM shots today. I had really REALLY hoped she wouldn't nose dive for a third night in a row, but it looks like that's where she's headed only 2 hours in from 225 to 109.

I can't do this a third night. I slept almost the whole day today because I was up until after 4:30am with last night's ordeal, and after 4am Friday nights. Luckily, DH has tomorrow off and will stay on top of this tonight. I am very grateful so I can get some rest and go to work tomorrow.

DH's name is Kevin and he is comfortable testing and posting to the board and following advice. I hope you all don't mind if he posts her as we go along. I'll be testing her in 30 min from now and hoping she slows down on her own.

Any idea why she's still nose diving at the decreased dose? How long can I expect this will go on night after night? You may hear the frustration in my words. This is very draining. :( I feel very out of control

-Liz
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 PJ party 3rd night in a row?!

That would be great if your DH posts!! Maybe he can sign his posts so we don't think we're talking to you.

The reason you feel like you're out of control is because you were never in control! Nadia is in control and apparently, she likes all of the attention at night.

What's probably happening is that Nadia's depot hasn't caught up with the dose reduction. Hopefully, within another cycle the depot will be reduced.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 PJ party

Thanks! Kevin is here now and will be taking over in a few posts. I'm giving him a quick overview of how to update you all in the subject and whatnot. I will have him sign his name at the end. Just tested her again 30 min later and she's dropped to 79. I'm so glad you all will be here again to help him out!!

Quick question - if she goes down to the 40s again, will this mean an automatic second decrease? Or do we need to wait to see what the first decrease does for longer?
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 PJ party

Hi Liz (and Kevin if you are there), unfortunately the next couple of cycles after a deduction cycle can still be exciting. However, that doesn't mean a deduction would happen in this cycle. It would still be the depot from the previous larger dose that is influencing the cycle. I usually like to see at least 4 cycles between deductions.

On the up side, since Nadia isn't going to earn a deduction this cycle, feel free to feed her something higher carb, especially with her dropping so fast so early in the cycle.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=64 PJ party

Just tested again at +3.25 and she was at 63. I think the LC food is slowing her down. I'm only giving her a couple bites before taking it away. I don't want her to fill up her little belly too fast in case we have to whip out the big guns later, the HC gravy!

-Liz
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=63 PJ party

Oh - should I give her some HC gravy now? Even before she gets into the 40s then?
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=63 PJ party

Do you have any medium carb food around? Or just mix a bit of LC and HC together if you don't.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=63 PJ party

Okay, we mixed HC and LC and gave her about 1 tblsp of that. But before I tested her (which was 15 min since she last ate some LC food) she was actually at 64, so she hadn't dropped any further in the last 15 min. Maybe it was too soon to test, but I did and it was interesting that she hadn't. I'm eager to see what her next one is, then I'll hit the sack and let Kevin take over here. :)
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=63 PJ party

It usually takes around 30 minutes for carbs from food to hit the blood stream, which is why we ask you to test every 30 at the low numbers. Karo can be a bit faster.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=63+4=62

Tested her at 4 hours in 62 bg. Should we continue with medium carb or low carb?

-Kevin
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=63+4=62

Hi Kevin, so she had the MC (low/high carb mix) at +4? Why don't we hold off on food until the next test, then decide what to feed from there. If she's surfing which means around the same numbers, I'd go with LC. If she's dropping, I'd go with MC.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS=225 +2=109 +2.5=79 +3.25=63+4=62

Thanks Wendy. Just did another test and she was at 66 no food.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS +2.5=79 +3.25=63+4=62 4.5 = 66

Good girl Nadia! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Trying going another 30 without food. If she gives you a couple of tests with rising numbers where she hasn't had food, you might be safe to call it a night. That 66 is pretty much the same number as the 62 with meter variance.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia PMPS +2.5=79 +3.25=63+4=62 4.5 = 66

Awesome. Thanks so much. Shes chillin on the couch with me so I will test her at 1:00 again.
 
Darn. Not what we were looking for. That's the higher carb food she got a couple of hours ago wearing off but it's still within 10% of the 62/63 so within meter variance. Since she can't earn a deduction this cycle (last one was too recently), you have a couple of options. If you want to get to sleep, you can give her lots of high carb food and see if you can get her over 90. If you do that, then leave out some food for her to snack on when you go to bed. The other option is to test again in 30 and hope she's done dropping for the night and then wait for those 2 rising numbers without food.
 
A couple tsps of high carb food and test in 30. Maybe add one or two small drops of karo if you have it. No need for her to be low at this point.
 
Re: 7/28 Nadia +2.5=79 +3.25=63+4=62 4.5=66 5+57 5.5=47

gave her some high carb food. will test in 30

-kevin
 
Sounds good. I have to go to sleep, I'm getting up in 4.5 hours, but I'll be up in an hour to test Neko if you have any more questions. In the mean time, if Nadia is still below 50 in 30 minutes, give another 2 tsp of high carb food and test again in 30. Keep repeating that (test, feed HC and test in 30) until she's at least in the high 60's. Then you can move to low carb food. If she hits the high 70's/80's, you can move to once an hour testing.

If you haven't got it printed out yet, it's a good idea to have the Handling Low Numbers Sticky on hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top