7/28 Marvin ambg 106, + 2 86, + 5.5 103, PMBG 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
condo
Today we are trying to manage Marvin BG with LC food only. Morning started with 106, Marvin was hungry. He only ate half of his food. He seems to be doing good this morning, he just stumped in the living room. Hope to see improvement on his neuropathy soon, so the stumping is less :) be light on your feed baby :)
 
Nice! :D How encouraging.

Will Marvin be on the Cabergoline the rest of his life? Or is this something that shrinks the tumor? The B-12 will help - but it does take some time.
 
condo
Today we are trying to manage Marvin BG with LC food only. Morning started with 106, Marvin was hungry. He only ate half of his food. He seems to be doing good this morning, he just stumped in the living room. Hope to see improvement on his neuropathy soon, so the stumping is less :) be light on your feed baby :)
Nat, where are you buying Zobaline in Canada?
 
Nice! :D How encouraging.

Will Marvin be on the Cabergoline the rest of his life? Or is this something that shrinks the tumor? The B-12 will help - but it does take some time.
I think it will be for the rest of his life. It is suppose to block or reduce the iGF-1 secretion I think. I did read on the human study that there was tumor shrinkage. Since it still experimental and trial going on, will know more once the trail results from RVC are published. I think the hopes was that it decreases the production of IGF-1 to a normal range.
 
Plus 2, Marvin gave me a nice green @ 86, not sure when the next meal should be. I know that the Plus 8 & 9 is a good place for a snack or small meal. Not sure if I should give him a meal middle of cycle?
 
I think it will be for the rest of his life. It is suppose to block or reduce the iGF-1 secretion I think. I did read on the human study that there was tumor shrinkage. Since it still experimental and trial going on, will know more once the trail results from RVC are published. I think the hopes was that it decreases the production of IGF-1 to a normal range.
I wonder why it doesn't work on all? Very interesting. It is so great that there is now a possible option/help for some Acro's.
 
I wonder why it doesn't work on all? Very interesting. It is so great that there is now a possible option/help for some Acro's.
I know that Chris at RVC said that " seems to reduce the hunger that many acro cats experience and that it improves their overall well being as owners report their cats being more normal in their behaviors", I suspect that it may depend what IGF-1 Level and how much insulin the kitties are at when starting, it is possible with the higher dose kitties it takes more time to see results. The human trails also had varying results. The test group is small too, only 6 cats, I think 5 are really high dosers, and the one reacting well to it was on a lower insulin dose like Marvin. It will be interesting to see the study results in September.
 
He's not currently on insulin. When you give the small meals is not important, as long as it's not before preshot. I might not have gotten a +6 test. Once he showed you green on his own, it's OK to put away the test kit for that cycle. I know, easier said than done. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top