7/28 - Macka - AMPS 560, +3 340, +5.5 174, +6.5 255, PMPS 589

He is at 255 @+6.5. I fed him 1/2 can of LC an hour ago because he was VERY hungry, I guess that's why the numbers went up. After all, I'm going to go to my brunch if it's not too late :cat:
 
Awesome numbers for Macka today!! I hope you were able to relax and go for brunch!

Hopefully we will see more numbers like this soon :cool:
I know! But he went back to black sooner than expected too. I am (and he is) so sick of the blacks at every shot. Why doesn't it go down at all? :(
 
It really just takes time! It will happen believe me. Don’t focus on the “bookends” focus on the nice numbers he’s getting in between! Let’s see how 1.75u goes for him! It might take 1 or two days for you to see the full results.

I want to say, great job holding back on testing today! I’m trying not to be a weirdo but I’m kind of proud :cat::cat:
 
I want to say, great job holding back on testing today! I’m trying not to be a weirdo but I’m kind of proud :cat::cat:
Thanks! err... I feel like I tested way too much. It's so hard to resist because I analyze every single behavior and always find something odd, so I test, and always get it wrong lol. When I think he's low, he's actually high! I am not sure I will sleep much tonight though, because this new dose terrifies me.

Yes the bookends, they are pretty ugly. They shouldn't be that high though. Ok to see the full results in a few days. As we increase the dose, shouldn't the pre-shot numbers go down in sync with the nadirs? Right now they stay pretty steady.
 
Good luck with this increase! I hope it helps even out Macka's numbers over time. Figaro is still bouncing in ugly numbers too, so I can't get a curve at all yet sigh :( so I am really glad you have been able to see those lower numbers even with the bounciness. I miss the blues and yellows already, they were such a relief from this red and black business!
Oh I know what you mean about analyzing behavior, and testing because it seems like he must be higher/lower, and then... nope, wrong! And to think some people manage FD just through clinical signs and behavior without home testing. Yikes!
 
Figaro is still bouncing in ugly numbers too
Oh no, he is bouncing indeed! One thing I can tell you for sure is, he'll come back to the blues in a few cycles :) But it is so nerve wrecking.
What is your feeding schedule like? Are you consistant?
I am trying to feed him more, but less times a day because I want him to be hungrier (looks like he wasn't getting enough calories, and is losing weight). I was also hoping to see a change in the numbers too, like lower pre shots, not sure it's working but at least he eats!
 
Oh no, he is bouncing indeed! One thing I can tell you for sure is, he'll come back to the blues in a few cycles :) But it is so nerve wrecking.
What is your feeding schedule like? Are you consistant?
I am trying to feed him more, but less times a day because I want him to be hungrier (looks like he wasn't getting enough calories, and is losing weight). I was also hoping to see a change in the numbers too, like lower pre shots, not sure it's working but at least he eats!
Figaro gets 4 meals a day, at shot time and then around +3, but he basically just eats a bunch of snack portions from the dish I leave out because he prefers to graze. So I am pretty consistent in serving, but he eats when he eats :smuggrin: and then at PM test/feed time he is super hungry.
Great that Macka is eating for you, I hope he likes the kitten food, and puts a little more weight on. :cat:
 
One thing I can say is this: everytime you have your cat “figured out” they will show you you were wrong :rolleyes::p Mowgli has proven this to me many times :facepalm:

The PS values are typically the last ones to come down. I have been at this for 4.5 months and I have very few blue PS’s ... they’re all yellow and pink. But again I just focus on where Mowgli spends the majority of time :bighug:
 
He's going back to blacks and reds because he's been in that zone for so long that his body probably thinks that's normal. So when he gets a blue number, his body tries really hard to go back to "normal". It will take time for Macka's body to realize blues and greens are better than pinks and blacks.

I know what it's like to desire better numbers but fearing them as well. I don't think there's any way to get rid of it besides exposing yourself to it and you WILL be exposed :smuggrin::smuggrin: When Macka starts to learn to use his insulin, you'll soon experience the blues and greens. It'll be scary at first but it gets easier.
 
He's going back to blacks and reds because he's been in that zone for so long that his body probably thinks that's normal. So when he gets a blue number, his body tries really hard to go back to "normal". It will take time for Macka's body to realize blues and greens are better than pinks and blacks.

I know what it's like to desire better numbers but fearing them as well. I don't think there's any way to get rid of it besides exposing yourself to it and you WILL be exposed :smuggrin::smuggrin: When Macka starts to learn to use his insulin, you'll soon experience the blues and greens. It'll be scary at first but it gets easier.
I think Crista has described this really well! I believe the same thing as her :) Macka just needs time :)
 
Last edited:
The PS values are typically the last ones to come down. I have been at this for 4.5 months and I have very few blue PS’s ...
But they have to come down at some point, don't they? I saw so many cats' SS that had very flat blue curves and then went into remission... Argh!
 
Great that Macka is eating for you, I hope he likes the kitten food, and puts a little more weight on.
Yes but I only gave kitten food for 2 days. He had pale poop and some diarrhea. I stopped it, and the poop turned back to normal :)
Right now I try to feed him 3 can/day, with bonito flakes sprinkled, hoping he'll put on some weight. Still not reaching the 360 cal/day, but at least 300.
 
But they have to come down at some point, don't they? I saw so many cats' SS that had very flat blue curves and then went into remission... Argh!

You're battling glucose toxicity right now. You need to hit that wall and knock it down. I would still recommend TR just so you can increase more frequently but again, I know you're not comfortable with it and I understand.

Also ECID! It's been a year and more since Ming was diagnosed. He started Levemir in March.

We are not getting those to-be-envied all blue and green cycles. But I see progress and I'm happy. There was another member here that took 7 months for kitty on Lev to stop bouncing and finally get nice flat curves.
 
I think Cristina has described this really well! I believe the same thing as her :) Macka just needs time :)
Yes she did :) I understand the phenomenon, sorry if I repeat myself all the time, as if I don't read what people write hahaha. I do, I'm just so impatient and overwhelmed. I want him to feel better asap. It's like trying to conceive and getting a negative result every time! But not every month, every day x2!!
 
We are not getting those to-be-envied all blue and green cycles. But I see progress and I'm happy. There was another member here that took 7 months for kitty on Lev to stop bouncing and finally get nice flat curves.
Thank you for these hopeful words. I am so scared that Macka will not make it, health wise, if it takes that long.
 
Back
Top