7/28 Harley +5/43 HC & karo, +5.5/98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Harley is only 90 and falling. I know I should not shoot but have to get to work 1 hour early. Have to leave in 20 minutes...what should I do? Plus he is crying like crazy for food. I will give some raw to try and tide him over.

I don't want to skip the shot but might give BCS dose of 3u instead of 3.75.

Pattie


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=48543
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

Good morning Pattie,

Since this is a dropping number and Harley tends to go very low I am not sure I would shoot at all. I know you don't like to skip shots but I am afraid even with a reduced dose he will still go low. You cannot test at all during the day right?
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

I agree with Miriam. Either a skipped shot or a severally reduced shot like 0.50 or 0.75 just to put something into the shed, and maybe some MC left out. I would do whatever Miriam says. Harley is doing so good! :-D Down to 3.75 units!
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

With all the posting, I will be late for work so I bought a little time telling work I would be about 30 minutes late. I can test again at +12.5 and see what is going on. He might be up because of the little bit of food I gave to him. I like the idea of REALLY reducing the shot...would 1u be too much?

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

It was 85...I then I gave about 1 TB LC food. No chicken in the house for him to eat. And yes, he has been loving the 30's lately. I think that is a great sign.

Glad I bought some time with work. I do worry about him.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

A reduced shot may be fine but don't forget the numbers today are still influenced by the last dose.

Believe me I am not one to ever skip a shot and I have shot Putty in the 50's before ( nobody should shoot this number unless you are data ready) but I am home to monitor. I can also pretty much predict where Putty will go with low numbers.

I know you are very fearful of losing progress but I still worry about how low he goes. He can drop quite a bit in a short time.
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

Yes, this guy drops when I least expect it, and I do worry about losing ground. I test in 15 and then need to decide. Miriam, would doing just a little be too much. Of course, if I don't shoot at all, I can use a bit of R tonight if the number has skyrocketed.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

I wish you all the luck today, Pattie. Do you have a friend or neighbor that can at least look in on him, at about +3 or +4?

Get up on that surfboard Harley, and be safe.
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

No one is available today...neighbor can usually feed but not today. I am going to test in a couple of minutes and if still low, skip the shot...maybe draining the shed won't be such a bad idea.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90

Harley and Pattie said:
Yes, this guy drops when I least expect it, and I do worry about losing ground. I test in 15 and then need to decide. Miriam, would doing just a little be too much. Of course, if I don't shoot at all, I can use a bit of R tonight if the number has skyrocketed.

Pattie


Arggg....where is my crystal ball when I need it. ;-)

It looks like he is surfing and with any other cat I would be inclined to say shoot a reduced dose on a surf but this is the Harley we are talking about......need I say more.

See where he is in 15 minutes....I will be here.
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11/90,12/85, +12.5/84

Decision time! He is 84, with a small amount of LC food in him. I think that he would still have a ways to go down if it were a regular day and I was at shot time.

I hate to skip a shot, but I am. There will be no shot this AM and I will make it up tonight.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley No shot today / still falling

Running out the door but had to test 1 more time. Good thing I skipped shot. Even with food, Harley is still falling. +12.5, Harley is 73. I left some HC food..boy, hope that was right.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley No shot today / still falling

No worries Pattie.....I think you did the right thing. He may high when you get home but you know what to do and he will get right back on track and throw you another 30 soon enough. :lol:
 
Re: 7/28 Harley No shot today / still falling

You can always refill that shed since you've skipped a shot. Better to be safe than sorry, right? You may be dealing with bounces from the no shot, but that's a small price to pay instead of a having a kitty hypo. May you have a great day, and I know you're breathing a sigh of relief. You're both doing very, very well. :-D :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/28 Harley No shot today / still falling

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Look at Harley ! ! ! Man-oh-man! ! !

Fabulous job all youz guyz!
(you are all some serious early-birds!)

You made the right call Pattie. It will be OK, no worries.

Check out BKs ss - 02/13/2009-02/16/2009. 3 skipped PM shots in a 4 day period. And we where always around to check, night and day, yet still skipped based on the numbers and how BK was responding at that time. That was a period where he slid down a few rungs in the dosing ladder pretty quick - from 5.0u on 02/12/2009 to 3.5u on 12/16/2009. Notice that during that time of rapid dose reduction, there are no trips to the lowlands...no 30s or 40s but plenty of 50s and many of those at or near shot time. Even with the skipped shots, on 02/15/2009/AM he was 183 at +24.25!

These are the crazy times. The times you have to feel your way through. Whether or not you can be around to monitor is a big factor in choosing whether to shoot or not and how much.

I can't wait to see where Harley will be when you get home! Depending on the numbers, you may want to hoot a bit early. You will need to consider you schedule in deciding if you want to hoot early.

Regarding R, my gut instinct with Mr.(let's go see what's going on in the cellar) Harley, is to try to skip it unless he is way way high. If you do use some, I would say literally just a drop...a DOR :-D
I'll be watching from tbp. . .

Exciting things going on here!
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 7/28 Harley No shot today / still falling

Hi guys .. wow what a morning .. I think you did good by skipping his shot .. We don't want harley hanging out in the 30's with no one around .. You can always get back on track .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/28 Harley No shot today / still falling

i think you did the right thing too, pattie. far better to lose a little ground (and you don't know that you will) than to have him go hypo with no one around to help him. you have good instincts.
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +10/168

Need to be honest - I did go home and test at +4/85. Now at +10/168. Not too bad because I did leave some MC food for him to eat. Am feeding some LC food and will see what he does.

I am sure I will need some dosing advice tonight unless he begins to go really high.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +10/168

Been watching for you!

Harley and Pattie said:
Need to be honest - I did go home and test at +4/85. Now at +10/168.
That would be +16/85 and +22/168. . . big difference! (Please update your post title to reflect +22) That is one serious surf. . . how cool! :mrgreen:
Harley and Pattie said:
I am sure I will need some dosing advice tonight unless he begins to go really high.
What time do you hoot? (and how many hours from now)
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +10/168

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Harley and Pattie said:
I now would shoot in about 1 hour (5:45 my time
I'll be here.
ps - please update your post title/header to reflect +22/168 (cuz that's what it really iz) :o

Ok, updated the title but the ss is still +11. I have never heard of going over the 12 mark.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +11.5/265

Ahem... that would be +23.5/265

All I can say is that I have done the same thing under similar circumstances. He is definitely on the way up and I'm sure the shed is pi$$ed off. Let's see what the +24 :lol: number is. . .
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +24/234 - dose help

Well, it is shot time and Harley has fallen 30 points in about 30-45 minutes. Usually I would shoot the full 3.75- even if falling because he is so high. I need some suggestions please.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +22/168, +23.5/268

Harley and Pattie said:
Ok, updated the title but the ss is still +11. I have never heard of going over the 12 mark.
well, Mr. Harley has done just that - going on 24 hours since the last shot, right?
In all seriousness, it is important to note that on the ss so that if you go back to refer to it you know exactly what happened, how much duration he had. It makes things clearer, and believe me during crazy spells like this you'll want all the clarity you can get!
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +24.5/273

Harley is back up. +24.5/273. I am planning to shoot the full amount tonight. 3.75u - maybe on the skinny side.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +24.5/273

Harley and Pattie said:
Harley is back up. +24.5/273. I am planning to shoot the full amount tonight. 3.75u

Trust your gut here. You know how to manage a cycle if he decides to go to the cellar. That was a good jump in 1/2 hour; 234-273. Shed must be drained a bit, after 24.5 hours!
I have no idea where Harley will go from here. You are in uncharted Harley territory! You will get valuable info from this, which his great because it very well may happen again. . .
I'll be checking in here tonight!
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +24.5/273

ok, thank you Sandy. It is nice to know someone is looking over my shoulder..this really is uncharted stuff for me. It is kinda exciting.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +24.5/273

I thought I would in about an hour. Since he has eaten, I think it will be high. Then it would be at +1, +3, +4 (my bedtime)

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +1.5/265, +2.5/205

+2.5/205. At this rate, Harley will bottom out again tonight. I will test again in 1 hour and if lower, will add a bit of MC to try and slow him down. BTW, with all the extra HC food, he is becoming a porker (said with love) again.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +3.5/109 - HC given

Harley is really falling fast (I think). Any suggestions on getting him to stop and surf. Should I do the MC or is the HC better?

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +1.5/265, +2.5/205

These are some real purdy numbers here. . .it sure would be nice if Harley learned to surf right about now. . .

Harley and Pattie said:
+2.5/205. At this rate, Harley will bottom out again tonight. I will test again in 1 hour and if lower, will add a bit of MC to try and slow him down.
Harley is way different from BK in this respect. BK wasn't a diver. It was 11 months before he had his first taste of HC! Maybe once or twice did I have to intervene with food before +4.
Harley and Pattie said:
BTW, with all the extra HC food, he is becoming a porker (said with love) again.
How much does he weigh?
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +3.5/109 - HC given

Hopefully I have not goofed up but I did give Harley some LC mixed with gravy. Harley, last vet visit 2 months ago, was 14#. I am sure he is a bit more now with all the HC the last week or so. He is not a fat cat - kinda chubby.

Since I go to bed in an hour (ha, ha - this is going to keep me up), I thought the MC+ food would help him stabilize a bit. He really is going down. Glad I did a skinny 3.75.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +3.5/109 - HC given

Harley and Pattie said:
Harley is really falling fast (I think). Any suggestions on getting him to stop and surf. Should I do the MC or is the HC better?
It sounds like you are concerned so follow your instincts. (I'm sure you know) keep him hungry because you have a ways to go with this cycle. A few bites, test in 30 minutes...

(Just an observation - - the earliest you intervened with HC in the last 2 weeks was at +4.5 on 07/19)
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +3.5/109 - HC given

I guess I am concerned because it is night and I sleep like a log. Glad I have the timer. When I test in 20, he should be high (HC at work) but then there is the inevitable fall an hour after that.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +3.5/109 - HC given

Sorry about the crisscrossing posts - I am not a very good typist, painfully slow - and when the adrenaline is going I'm even worse!

Harley and Pattie said:
last vet visit 2 months ago, was 14#

He must be kind of a big boy. . . How old is he?

Harley and Pattie said:
(ha, ha - this is going to keep me up),
I'll be around.

Harley and Pattie said:
He really is going down. Glad I did a skinny 3.75.
Amazing, after 24.5 hours without a shot - I was expecting some pink. Have any thoughts about the morning?
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +3.5/109 - HC given

Harley and Pattie said:
I guess I am concerned because it is night and I sleep like a log. Glad I have the timer. When I test in 20, he should be high (HC at work) but then there is the inevitable fall an hour after that.
Didn't you say you had a timed feeder?
 
Re: 7/28 Harley PMPS 273, +3.5/109 - HC given

Yes, I do use it during the day but at night, I do like to see where he is. I would hate to have him eat and not go up enough.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +3.5/109, +4/60

ok, I am confused as to what is happening. Could the meter be wrong? Harley is acting fine - trying to sleep. I don't think the feeder will work for this. I would want to test before more food given.

I will test in 30 and karo given if he has not gone up. Don't remember the day but there was a time where it was impossible to get him to go up.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +3.5/109, +4/60

Harley and Pattie said:
Yes, I do use it during the day but at night, I do like to see where he is. I would hate to have him eat and not go up enough.

certainly not at a time like this...but there will be nights it will come in handy.
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +3.5/109, +4/60

Harley and Pattie said:
ok, I am confused as to what is happening. Could the meter be wrong?
No harm in re-testing.
Harley and Pattie said:
I would want to test before more food given.
most definitely
Harley and Pattie said:
Don't remember the day but there was a time where it was impossible to get him to go up.
It was 07/19/AM. Although it's not on Harleys ss, you mixed honey and gravy... was that you?
eta - sorry - it is on his ss. ..
 
Re: 7/28 Harley +3.5/109, +4/60, +4.5/52

Still going down. Yes, I did see that on 7/19. Do I let him hit 40 for a dose reduction or give more of the HC and karo. Testing again in 30, long night ahead. Good thing I can stay home tomorrow and do computer work.


Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top