7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88, +16 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

houghtam

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100978

Started a new condo. Link is to the old one. :)

Hardey loves the freeze dried chicken. I'll try a test in 30 minutes. Can hardely wait. :(



I DID IT!!!! ONLY 2 STICKS AND HE BLED GREAT! HAD HIM EAT THE TREATS THE WHOLE TIME AND DIDN'T EVEN RUN AWAY AFTER. :-D
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115

Good job!! Now when you do your checks during the day, you can just edit the subject to add +2, +4, +6 (whenever you do your checks between AM and PM) and the blood glucose reading

You're doing GREAT Mary Alice!!!


Once you're more confident in your testing skills, you might want to do a "curve" that'll start to narrow down when Hardey's nadirs are (the time the Lantus is most effective, which is usually around +5-+8 ...except when it's not..lol) ECID (every cat is different) and some nadir early, some nadir later in the cycle, and some seem to never really make up their minds. Unfortunately, we haven't been able to get a good translation for the "manual" that our cats can read :-D

Of course this depends on if he even is going to require insulin too!! Switching to low carb food might be all you need!

I think the times they suggest for curves are +3, +6 and +9, but you also want to get "spot checks" at other times on different days...there's no such thing as too much data!! You don't do curves every day, or every cycle, but I'll have to wait for more experienced eyes to advise you how often they suggest doing curves. I've been doing so much testing (and spot checks) I've never really done just the 3 "curve" tests
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115

Got it! Now I just have to do the test....

I can do this. I can do this. I can do this.

At least he'll get a yummy healthy treat when I'm done. :smile:
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107

That's fantastic Mary Alice!!! Are you using the biggest lancets today? They do make a big difference. After you've been poking awhile, the ears will learn to bleed and you can go back to the tinier lancet sizes. China has one ear that bleeds a LOT better than the other, so it tends to get more poking, but I try to give it a break as often as I can and poke the other one. I just hate to have to poke her more than twice. A lot of people do 2 pokes right near each other so the sample is a little larger and easier to see, but I have a Confirm Micro that only requires a TINY drop to get a reading..I'm not sure what sample size the One Touch Mini requires, but once Hardey's ears learn to bleed, it'll get a LOT easier!

If reducing the dry is doing this much for Hardey, you might be one of those really lucky ones who (if you got completely off the dry) might be able to be a diet controlled diabetic. Some cats are more than happy to transition to wet only, where some like their crunchies a little too much and make it more difficult, but the people here can help transition the most stubborn cat!

I feed China small meals all day...her biggest meals are at AM and PM, but she gets a little (or more) during each cycle depending on how well she's eating.

Both you and Hardey are doing GREAT!! I hope it continues!!
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107

Thanks guys. I think I'll do another one at 6 since that's when his next shot should be (last shot was yesterday morning). Hoping it's still a good level and I don't have to give it again. I did use the bigger needles. It does seem to help. Yay!
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, +12 88

Okay. About the same as yesterday at this time. No shot. :)

Should I test again tonight or wait until tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, +12 88

Tested at 6 and it was 88. Fed him 1/2 can of FF about 2 1/2 hours before that. Do I need to test again tonight?
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, +12 88

Yes. It was PMBG. Do I need to change the subject line? Not sure of the proper website protocol yet.

On another note, He's been very lazy lately and wants me to bring the food to him. I've noticed his back legs seem stiff. He's not walking weird or anything. He just has trouble lying down. Maybe arthritis? He is 12 after all.
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, +12 88

when you do your AM and PM tests, if you're stalling, you'd say +12 stall, +12.5 stall, +15, +18, etc...however many hours past the last time you DID give insulin ...If it goes until the next day, if still no shot, then it's AMBG and PMBG (BG--blood glucose instead of PS--pre shot)

Good call on the skip tonight too....Hopefully he'll stay in those green numbers just by food change!!

As for the back legs, it's possible it's arthritis, especially if you're due for a change in the weather, but both arthritis and neuropathy (one of the complications of untreated diabetes) doesn't just "happen"....you should have noticed him having gradually increasing problems over quite some time. If you're sure this is something new, it might be best to get him looked over at your vet. Cats hide their problems so well, that by the time we do notice, lots of times whatever is causing the problem, is pretty advanced.

As for bringing the food to him...he has you trained well :lol:

In the future, if you have a question, click on the ? in the icons above your Subject...it'll get more eyes looking sooner...and if it's an emergency, like a low number and you're worried (or really, anytime YOU think you want some help quick!), use the 911 icon...once it's safe, or you get the answers you need, you can take the ? or 911 off by clicking "None" in the list of Icons
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMGB 88

Did I change the subject line correctly? Does it make sense now?

Now I understand the buttons at the top. Thanks for the heads up.

I have noticed it for awhile now. Assumed it was arthritis, but with all the reading today on the website here, I noticed it could be the neuropothy. Should I mention it to the vet when I see her next week? He has an appt next Tuesday for a post-UTI. Can it wait until then? He seems to do okay, just looks kind of sad when he tries to lie down.

Wendy on another page mentioned something called methylcobalamin. Does it have any side effects?
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88

The subject line is fine!! If he's low in the morning when you test, you'd put +12 stalling...don't feed and retest in 30 minutes....if you're unsure whether to stall or not, go ahead and put the ? up along with your new condo for tomorrow.(make sure you say you're stalling so people will notice and hopefully get back with you sooner) Don't forget to link today's condo in it too so people can easily see what has been going on. If he goes below 50, put the 911 up so you'll get help sooner....Of course if you don't end up having to give insulin at all, you won't need to worry about him having any problems with hypoglycemia!

Yes, of course I'd talk to the vet about it if you're going in anyway. Better to have it checked out in case it's something more serious and is just starting to show symptoms. If he really seems to be in pain, or it gets really worrying, you could get into a vet sooner, but Tuesday is pretty close. It's up to you. You know your cat better than anyone!

As for the methylcobalamin, it's just a form of B-12, so I don't know why it would have any side effects, but I have never used it, so don't know anything about it. Best to wait for someone who knows. If you saw Wendy talk about it, you can always send her a Private message and ask her. Just click on her name, and the option to send a PM should be available...or just keep checking...hopefully someone who knows about it will chime in with some information!!
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88

There are no side effects from the B-12 Methylcolbamin.

The body will only use what it needs and pee out the rest.
The cat version is Zobaline

Here's a test for your vet. It does have to be the methyl variety. Regular b-12 is just colbamin and it will not help the neuropathy at all.
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88

Hi Mary Alice

Welcome to Lantus Land!

Actually, right now, he's at +36 at his PMBG (but you have it posted correctly). If you are stalling in the morning, he would be at +48 until you decide whether to shoot. If you don't shoot, it becomes AMBG.

If you aren't shooting because he's in normal numbers (50-120) and we're hoping he doesn't need insulin, then I'd just get the morning test, feed, and get a test three hours later (which you would list under the +3 column) to see if he's bringing himself down (which means his pancreas is working). You could also test and feed him at the equivalent of +9 and then get the equivalent of a +12 tomorrow night and see if he brought himself down. Other than that, I wouldn't do a ton of tests as long as he doesn't go higher than about 120 and he's bringing his numbers down.

I use a OT mini as well and love it. Strips are lots more expensive than the Relions but I just can't make myself switch. I get my strips on ebay. It's cheaper; you just have to be careful. I make sure I buy only strips that have a while before they expire and I only buy from top rated sellers who ship free.

Methylcobalamine (most here use Zobaline because it has no sugar and many other of the products do) won't have any side effects.

Glad you are here with us. Let us know your questions!
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88

Thanks guys. :)

I'm going to call vet tomorrow anyway to tell him what happened this wknd and that he hasn't had a shot since Saturday morning.

Curious - why would I retest tomorrow morning in 30 minutes (if I dont' feed him)? What would change?
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88

why would I retest tomorrow morning in 30 minutes (if I dont' feed him)? What would change?

If you get a normal number again in the morning, just feed him and test him in three hours as I suggested.

The only reason you would test, not feed, and retest in 30 minutes is if he has a number you are nervous about shooting. Let's say he's at 175 and you haven't shot that number and you have no data. Then you might want to withhold food, test in 30 to see if he is going up or down. Post for help because we might want you to shoot it with help. OK?
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88

you just want to know if he's continuing to drop, or starting to climb...without the influence of food. Like this morning, China was only at 113 at her usual AMPS time...30 min later she was at 121 (but that was so close, I was still not really happy with it since I got a big shock the other day when she dropped to 21)...after an hour, she was at 135..still close, but since I hadn't fed her, I was pretty comfortable that she was heading up and therefore safe to shoot...BUT I've been testing for awhile too, so have a fairly good idea how she reacts...You're still way too new, so if you're in new territory, please ask!! Most of the time if you're under 200, we want to support you through it until you get more info on how Hardey is going to react

And Marje is absolutely correct...I forgot that you hadn't given insulin since yesterday morning, so it's been over 36hrs since she's had any insulin :-D
 
Re: 7/28 Hardey AMBG 115, +6 107, PMBG 88

Got it. Thanks. Fingers crossed it's normal still. nailbite_smile
 
OK..Marje corrected me, so your +16 would actually be +40 since it's been 40 hours since you gave Hardey any insulin (instead of +16)....the +6 from this morning would actually be +32

The AMBG and PMBG are fine :-D

Sorry for the confusion earlier :oops:
 
So... Leave them alone in subject line? What do input in the am when I get my reading if I am skipping the dose again (wishfully thinking)? How many hours?

AMBG + 48 and the glucose number?

Hardey has some serious diarrhea. Guess all the wet is kicking in. Stinky!!!
 
If you are stalling in the morning, he would be at +48 until you decide whether to shoot. If you don't shoot, it becomes AMBG.


The "edit" button is your friend :-D

If you aren't shooting because he's in normal numbers (50-120) and we're hoping he doesn't need insulin, then I'd just get the morning test, feed, and get a test three hours later (which you would list under the +3 column) to see if he's bringing himself down (which means his pancreas is working).

Since you're still so new, and don't have any test results to compare to, if he's between 120-200, I'd post and ask for help...add the ? and something like "Dosing Advice please"

Personally, I don't think I'd be too comfortable shooting 2 units even if he was higher than 200. It's still too new and so far, he's reacting really well. I hope someone else who's been around longer than I have will come along with some advice (but we all hope you don't see that high a number ever again!!) Of course, no matter what his number is in the morning, if you're unsure, you can always ask!
 
Got it. Thanks. I don't feel real comfortable shooting 2 either. Even 1 will be stressful me if it's less than 200. We'll have to wait and see.... :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top