7/28: Dexter 167 @ AMPS, 109 @ PMPS

Hi Katie, I don't think you should stall anymore and give Dexter his shot. .1 is a very small amount of insulin, and he's high enough that it's likely he will be safe. :)
 
Hi Katie, I don't think you should stall anymore and give Dexter his shot. .1 is a very small amount of insulin, and he's high enough that it's likely he will be safe. :)

Great, thank you! Is there a range that I can keep in mind when deciding whether to stall or go ahead and shoot?
 
Great, thank you! Is there a range that I can keep in mind when deciding whether to stall or go ahead and shoot?
The answer to that question depends on the dosing method you decide to follow. Have you read this sticky yet?
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you decide to follow SLGS, you can shoot any number above 90. If you follow TR, you can shoot any number above 50. You seem to be good about testing and TR is the best way to get Dexter into remission.
 
The answer to that question depends on the dosing method you decide to follow. Have you read this sticky yet?
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you decide to follow SLGS, you can shoot any number above 90. If you follow TR, you can shoot any number above 50. You seem to be good about testing and TR is the best way to get Dexter into remission.

Do you think I am at a point that I have enough data to go off those numbers?

I know it was initially recommended that I be aware of anything below 150 because I just recently started testing and didn't have a lot of data to go off of. TR sounds like the best option for Dex, so that is what I'd like to go with.
 
Great! Please put TR into your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet. You have some good data. At this point, the goal is to keep giving Dexter his shot in the morning and in the evening every day. You can evaluate whether or not to increase or decrease his dose after 6-10 cycles of insulin twice a day or 3-5 days. Post for advice then. It really depends on whether or not you see green numbers between now and then. If you see greens, you hold the dose for longer. If you don't see any numbers below 100, you can increase then to .25. Anytime you skip a shot, the cycle count restarts again. Make sense?
 
Great! Please put TR into your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet. You have some good data. At this point, the goal is to keep giving Dexter his shot in the morning and in the evening every day. You can evaluate whether or not to increase or decrease his dose after 6-10 cycles of insulin twice a day or 3-5 days. Post for advice then. It really depends on whether or not you see green numbers between now and then. If you see greens, you hold the dose for longer. If you don't see any numbers below 100, you can increase then to .25. Anytime you skip a shot, the cycle count restarts again. Make sense?

Yes, so helpful! Thank you! So, that 6-10 cycles for Dex will start today! In the meantime, should I just plan to post on here for advice if he goes below 50 and otherwise go ahead with that plan or should I continue posting his numbers every day?
 
Yes, so helpful! Thank you! So, that 6-10 cycles for Dex will start today! In the meantime, should I just plan to post on here for advice if he goes below 50 and otherwise go ahead with that plan or should I continue posting his numbers every day?
Please post each day if you can. It helps me and other members get to know you and your kitty's patterns. Also, you will want to intervene with food if he drops below 60 because we never want a cat to be hanging out below 50 for any period of time. Post when that happens and we can help you with it. You should read this sticky about TR and low numbers:
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
 
Please feed him a little of his normal LC food.

Did he get any food in between? The key to preventing drops is to spread out the food into mini meals every hour or two.
 
Please feed him a little of his normal LC food.

Did he get any food in between? The key to preventing drops is to spread out the food into mini meals every hour or two.

He had access to food, but I'm not sure if he ate any or not. I just encouraged him to eat and he did eat some. I can't always be home every hour or every other hour. Suggestions for how to get him to eat the food he has access to when I'm not there to lead him to it?
 
This is the autofeeder I use - but I only have one cat. It's a lifesaver for when I can't be here - Luci knows the sound of it turning and she'll go right to it to see what's being served.

https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...ital/dp/B000GEWHNS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

And yes, I put wet food into it - sometimes I freeze chunks in the ice cube tray - then set those into the slots that are going to open later in the day - like when we were both gone recently for DH surgery...she had to depend on the auto-feeder for her food since I wasn't going to be there to test or feed.
 
This is the autofeeder I use - but I only have one cat. It's a lifesaver for when I can't be here - Luci knows the sound of it turning and she'll go right to it to see what's being served.

https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Automatic-Dispenses-Digital/dp/B000GEWHNS/ref=sr_1_9?crid=21UM94ZQZN8N4&dchild=1&keywords=auto feeder for cats&qid=1627598980&sprefix=auto fe,aps,287&sr=8-9

And yes, I put wet food into it - sometimes I freeze chunks in the ice cube tray - then set those into the slots that are going to open later in the day - like when we were both gone recently for DH surgery...she had to depend on the auto-feeder for her food since I wasn't going to be there to test or feed.

Thank you for the recommendation!
 
Back
Top