7/28 - Darwin: AMPS=217, +4=90, +7=43, +8=70, +9=92, +10=265, PMPS=340

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
7/23

Hello friends! Well, I wasn't expecting this today.

I know lots of people say that the Lantus pen should last 6 months when refrigerated it, but I can't help feel as though the new pen I started last night is suddenly making a difference...Maybe it's just a coincidence? The last pen was only a little over 28 days (started 6/24), but Darwin's been in the pinks and yellows for a week, and then a sudden drop? Hmm...
 
I think he heard that if he didn't have any nadirs under 150 today, he'd be getting an increase. :p I rather suspect he saw at least blue in some of the night times this last week. If you see a +2 that is quite a bit lower than the preshot, like on the 23rd, changes are it's an active cycle with good downward movement.

I used my cartridges (pen refills) to the last drop.

Surf time Darwin. :D
 
Good to see you posting! Yes, dosecrease threats work 95% of the time around here. :joyful:

I feel if Darwin goes lower than 90, I wouldn't reduce just yet. It took him a long time to see a green after the last reducie. If any pro disagrees with me, that's fine. In the end, it's in your hands what to give.

Good luck! :bighug:
 
+7=43, +8=70, +9=92, +10=265....so this was fun.

I guess he REALLY didn't like hearing the dosecrease word :eek:

My poor girlfriend was dealing with this active cycle at home while I was at work with a crazy busy afternoon, and couldn't respond to her texts. She opened four cans of MC FF w/ gravy, and he would touch any. She got him to eat some FF classics with YA Zero (like 6 kibbles), and he just came up on his own, I guess. Fun times!

So, I need to find some MC and HC canned that he'll eat (he only likes pate, I guess). And, do I still stay at 0.25U with that BG of 43?

ETA:
I feel if Darwin goes lower than 90, I wouldn't reduce just yet. It took him a long time to see a green after the last reducie. If any pro disagrees with me, that's fine. In the end, it's in your hands what to give.

I feel the same way - this makes sense to me!
 
Ok. I know what happened here. Darwin broke his bounce on the 14th cycle. Usually cats break bounces within 6 cycles. ECID :rolleyes: He will probably bounce for a few cycles. He never had the flat yellow cycle before breaking the bounce. :eek:
 
Ok. I know what happened here. Darwin broke his bounce on the 14th cycle. Usually cats break bounces within 6 cycles. ECID :rolleyes: He will probably bounce for a few cycles. He never had the flat yellow cycle before breaking the bounce. :eek:
Okay - gotcha! I was watching for that flat yellow cycle too! :nailbiting: I wonder if he was going to have a flat cycle on the day when he got into some HC kibble....
 
43 definitely means a reduction! :eek: Time to practice drawing 0.1 unit. :D

You can always add a drop of karo or honey to the FF to make it higher carb.
 
Here's the 0.1u image.
01unit-1.jpg
 
43 definitely means a reduction! :eek: Time to practice drawing 0.1 unit. :D
You can always add a drop of karo or honey to the FF to make it higher carb.
Okay, thanks! I did think that adding Karo or Honey only temporarily increased BG (15-20min), so you wanted to get some higher carb food into them, too. @Mandy & Rex suggested pureeing the MC gravy - which I think might work! I can try that, and adding a bit of the pate that he likes next time I need it.

Wendy is the pro here! :)
Haha, yay! Then I feel lucky to have that advice! Thanks!

Here's the 0.1u image. View attachment 30007

Thanks!! I actually looked all of the micro/fine doses up when he was dropping so low before because I figured this was next, LOL. We call this a "skosch" at work when we give a teeny dose of something to a teeny (usually) dog. Thanks!!
 
I had the exact same feeling. Then Rex went low on a drop dose that he didn't fully receive. o_O
Isn't that crazy?! I can't help but balk that I've been a vet tech for all these years, and never worked with any vets that recommended home testing regularly. It makes me so sad, BUT I get to change things now - hoping to get more kitties into remission!

I But how exciting for Darwin! :cat:
Thanks!! I'm cautiously optimistic!
 
+2=286, +3=199. Heading to bed now, but I think I'll check him at +6 and see what he looks like since he's coming down already.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top