7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7..367/pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20815

Late getting started here today. I went out and bought the pens. I think the vial was no longer viable. Checkers has been giving me higher than normal numbers for no apparent (to me) reason.
The SolarStart website has a $25 coupon. That helped quite a bit.

Not sure if I should start the fresh insulin tonight or wait 'til morning, when I'll be home all day. Thoughts???

Literature from Lantus SolarStar says to keep UNopened cartridges/pens refrigerated, but keep OPEN ones at room temp. Makes me nervous to leave it out. For 28 days!!!
Does everyone do that??
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7

Hi Barb!

Long time no see! I've been away and saying my hello's to the newbies and returning beans like yourself!

I don't know much about the pens, I'd be nervous too leaving it out un-refridgerated - not too sure about that, hopefully others who use the pen can help.
As for when to start a new one? Might depend on what PMPS is tonight - and you're comfort level, I do know fresh juice can pack a punch, maybe see how it goes til PMPS?

Hope you're doing well, really nice to see you and Checkers posting again. :razz:
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7 ..309/+10

Hi again, Roni. Checkers' preshots are usually pretty high lately. I don't feel comfortable starting the new one tonight, 'cause I'm not to great at getting up all nite for spot checks.
I'm counting on the new one to do something tomorrow.

If someone more experienced, tells me that it's imperative to start the new one right away, I will. I've been at this insulin thing for only 4 months, I stll have much to learn, apparently.
I give shot at 7:30 DST...
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7 ..309/+10

Hi Barb....glad you got a new cartridge anyway....you have to feel comfortable yourself cause sometimes it really does give a lot of action as Ronnie said...looking forward to seeing his numbers after you start using it.... :thumbup
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7 ..309/+10

Hey Barb and Checkers!

Nice to meet ya and good luck with the pens. Why do you think you would only refrigerate unopened? I have the vile still and will be buying the pens next round,
I'm probably going to keep in the fridge :smile: I've been known to post the most smiley faces and I have the most pokes going I'm told :lol:

I hope Doodles gets into the blues tonight ~ she's been a little to much in the yellow lately.
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7 ..309/+10

I see that you fattened the dose today, I'm glad you did, let's see if Checkers can get back to green.

I've always refrigerated my cartridges.
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7 ..309/+10

Hi Barb!
I'm new to Lantus, but I use the pens, and I store ALL of them in the fridge, open or unopened. If you store it out of the fridge, it will not last as long as it will in the fridge.

From the sticky:

PROPER HANDLING OF LANTUS and LEVEMIR

•In-use and unopened Lantus and Levemir should be stored in the refrigerator between 36 to 46 degrees F (2 to 8 degrees C).
Be careful your refrigerator is not so cold that the insulin freezes. Do NOT use Lantus or Levemir if it has been frozen.

Good luck with the new pen!
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7 ..309/+10

Barb, I use the solostar pens and they Must be refrigerated--I had one last recently for 40 days @-) @-) @-) Amazing--I love them.
Looks like you raised the dose today, so that should level out the highs-A new pen allways does good things--
You are doing great!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/28 Checkers amps350...165+3...162+7 ..309/+10

The instructions from the manufacturer do say that the opened pens don't need to be refrigerated. I suspect that this is for a couple of reasons. The marketing advantage of Lantus is that it doesn't require refrigeration which makes it easier for human diabetics to travel. However, humans get a larger dose of insulin and probably do not have pens that last the entire 28 days. I tend to think we keep the pens refrigerated so we get the maximum use from them.
 
Right now I'm looking at the pamphlet that came in the SoloStar box.
It says.....*Open (In-Use) SoloStar; Once SoloStar is opened (in-use), SoloStar should NOT be refrigeratd but should be kept at room temperature, away from direct heat and light......it must be discarded after 28 days.
Store the new unopened ones in the fridge.


That's why I wanted to know what real people do with their pens. I am absolutely sure I've read on here that the pens are used for longer than 28 days.

My DD called the manufacturer and was given a lengthy explanation about testing being done for only 28 days, and it could be guaranteed fresh for only 28 days.

Well, I am anxious to start the fresh stuff tomorrow. I wish now I had given it tonite and just set my alarm for every two hours. His nadirs have not been good lately. I raised his dose 7 days ago,from 1u, to 1.25, so he has had plenty of time to adjust, if he was going to.
Woulda Shoulda, no sense beating myself up...sigh
Thanks for all the help, Ladies. :smile:
 
Hi Barb, Good luck with the new pen. I think you're smart to start using it tomorrow, when you will be better able to monitor Checkers. Everyone here keeps their opened pens and cartridges in the fridge. They keep fresher and will last longer. Human users typically shoot large doses and don't like the cold feeling when they inject. Our small doses don't have that problem. I'm starting a new cartridge tomorrow, too, after 33 days on the present one. I don't like to push it when I get past 28 days.
See you tomorrow,

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top