7/28 Bruno pspm: 103 +1: 118 +2:187

Status
Not open for further replies.

aochoa

Member Since 2014
As some know, Bruno was sick yesterday night with diarrhea, today morning he was 311. Left food for him, he ate low carb usual food. So far, haven't poop the whole day, so maybe the diarrhea is going away. I think it was caused because I mixed some hc with his lc at lunch since he was 85 and I was not going to be home. So feeding him hc now doesn't seem like an option.

As for previous experiences, when I skip he get very high numbers afterwards. Right now is 30 minutes after his shooting time, but is night so I am home for testing. my guess will be to shot a mini dose, 0.5u or 0.25u?
 
Re: 7/28 Bruno psam: 311 pspm: 103 To shot ot not to shot?

If you can continue to stall, don't feed and test again in about 20 minutes it will tell us if he's still dropping or if he's starting to go up

Any time you get a low pre-shot, don't feed and retest so you can see where he might be going (without the influence of food)
 
Re: 7/28 Bruno psam: 311 pspm: 103 To shot ot not to shot?

Stalling over half an hour will effect bruno like a decrease, the shed is getting used a little. If you stall, don't do a decreased dose. It will have double effect., just one or the other.
 
Re: 7/28 Bruno psam: 311 pspm: 103 To shot ot not to shot?

Chris, I came home and fed him :( he was so hungry after diarrhea and I left frozen food but he is usually very hungry when I came home. I gave 2 tbs of lc food, and now is 6.6.
 
Re: 7/28 Bruno psam: 311 pspm: 103 To shot ot not to shot?

That is probably a result of the food. Try to get 2 more tests half an hour apart w/ no more food. If the BG is still rising on the second one the it is probably from the insulin wearing off and it will be safe to shoot the full dose. This will probably put you way off schedule though.

We all give in when our babies want food, especially if they have been sick. Next time try to hold out against those pleading eyes and you won't need to stall as long.
 
Re: 7/28 Bruno psam: 311 pspm: 103 To shot ot not to shot?

I see, Ann thank you! I think we missed our shot already tonight since I have to work tomorrow and cannot change our shot schedule. Will see how he goes during the night.
 
hi ana!

if you were going to be home and able to monitor, 103 is a very safe number to shoot. you want to be cautious if he's going to be left alone when you go to work, but this would've been a great opportunity to shoot low.

Here's a recent discussion on it. I'm not sure if i've already given you this, but if not:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121668

gravy does give some cats diarrhea. you're going to want an alternative - you can give karo syrup (corn syrup), honey, maple syrup, and even ice cream if you don't have another choice.

Looks like Bruno was really headed up tonight. You can shoot early in the morning (if you want) since you skipped tonight's shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top