7/28/22 Kaia +4 221

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBat75

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...etty-low-pre-shot-is-101.265331/#post-2971324

I was really hoping the ProZinc was starting to work as Kaia numbers seemed to be getting a bit lower. I am so scared to change Insulin again because if she drops too low, I don't sleep at all and I panic! Should I give her more insulin or try changing it up? I also wonder if because some days she is REALLY hungry, some days she isn't. @FrostD any advice? I should also mention she seems to have more energy when she is a little higher than too low.

Very much appreciate you!

Jen
 
I would try a glargine insulin since you can maybe get a flatrter curve. With proZinc you seem to to have a steep decrease and then a good low but then the next preshot is high.
Would talk to your pharmacist and discuss what glargine insulin is available at the lowest proce using GoodRx and Single care discounts. Lantus is the original glargine insulin but now there are biosimilar/generic glargines available for less then real Lantus.
 
Agree with Larry. Depot insulin should help her flatten out (may take awhile). She's not giving you much room to adjust the dose with those drops.

(Don't mean to be short but have limited time as kids are sick)
 
Question before I change her insulin. She was doing really well. Now her preshot are around 350-380... then her +4 is still 277-280. Why isn't she dropping? Just drops around 100, nothing more. Do you think she might have an infection?
@FrostD
@Larry and Kitties
 
I think she's just bouncing a bit, combined with the inconsistent dosing.

Is she showing any signs of infection?

When will you be switching?
 
I'm having the vet call in her prescription. I just got her ProZinc on July 21st so it's pretty new. I'd like to start her in the next week or so. Just worried about her staying around 300 constant.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top