7/27 - Tip - AMPS(402);

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
7/26 condo

AMPS - 402
+8 - 380
PMPS - 398
+6 - 325

I haven't been able to test Tip for ketones today, I have plans on kind of stalking her until I can. The trace ketones I got last night are worrying me a bit. But she's acting almost completely like herself today, a huge improvement compared to last night. I was told to increase to 2U by the vet soon, but I'm wondering when it would be safe to do that? Other than that, no questions here yet. :)
 
Cindy

Oh gosh...I'm so sorry your post got buried under all those other ones! If you have a question, please be bold about it ;-) Just open the first post of the day in your daily condo, click "edit", and then click on the "?" button above the subject line and/or you can add something in your subject line like "dose ?" or something like that. Then click on "submit". That will then catch our attention so we can answer your question.

Also, you can bump your condo up at anytime by opening it, clicking on "post reply" and just typing "bump" in the text box and then clicking submit.

You did a great job on Tip's profile and she is really an adorable kitty!!

Here's my take on her dose FWIW: she was at a much higher dose of Humulin (3.5u) and still not making much progress so we might need to get the lantus dose up closer to that. I agree that she needs to go up to 2u and I would do it tomorrow morning if she does not come down tonight. The protocol allows for a .5u increase if nadirs are above 300:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

And also:
Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours).
and under "Increasing the Dose"
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

So I agree with the vet and I think, unless she comes down a good bit tonight into blue numbers, I'd increase to 2u tomorrow morning. IF she comes down tonight into yellow numbers, I'd increase tomorrow to 1.75u.
 
I agree with Marje on all counts -- you can up Tip's dose tomorrow.

Please -- let us know if you have a question. Like Marje suggested, putting a couple of ??? in your subject line will help everyone know if you have a question, need help, etc.

it's perfectly fine to open a new post in your thread, type "bump" and submit it. Any new post will push your condo to the top of the queue.
 
Ah, yeah, I got busy today, else I would have edited it...I'll be testing her in about half an hour to see where she's at to see if I should up it to 1.75 or 2.

And thanks. :) I had actually taken that the day I got her profile set up. Heh, her face looks pudgier than it really is, and she had just woke up. She's such a hard cat to get happy pics from! Definitely doesn't like the camera. But so loving. :)

And I am having the hardest time getting a ketone test on her. ): I'm going to have to try harder, especially since I got busy today.
 
Cindy....don't raise the dose tonight; give her four cycles at the current dose and then raise tomorrow, k?

Also....you can get a blood ketone meter free if she is hard to catch in the LB. You use it like the BG meter. But strips are expensive even from ADW. Here is the info on a free blood ketone meter:

Nova Max Plus has a free blood/ketone meter offer here: http://www.novacares.com/cwd.php. Answer the questions as follows: parent of a child with diabetes, 18+, take insulin via injection, 14, and no coverage.
 
Right, she's already had her evening dose. I've forgot to update the SS though. ): She was given 1.5U.

That meter seems like it would be a lot easier. She won't even go in a litterbox that's uncovered. ): I see the instant savings card for the strips, do you know anything about that?
 
Cindy,
I got a Nova Max Plus last year to use on Bob, because there's no way to catch him in the box, and I was very satisfied with it. The only bad thing is the cost of the strips (usually about $2 each) but I've seen people who've said they were able to find them on Ebay or Craigslist occasionally for much less. The meter only came with 2 strips (and no blood glucose strips), but I used a Relion Micro for BG tests anyway.

Carl
 
Hm....that's my biggest concern, is money. I only have a job during the spring and fall because I have a job at my college. I start it back up August 27th or so. i might be able to ask my grandpa, but I already owe him a lot for Tips care that I've been unable to pay for. The free meter is awesome though. I'll discuss it with my grandpa.
 
And....I lost access to my SS as I have google 2-step verification and my phone was shut off. ): I'll put the numbers at the top soon as I try to get a hold of some way to fix it.
 
No problem. So what I think is her nadir was above 300(I've still yet to figure out where exactly it tends to land), I should increase to 2U tomorrow morning, right?
 
Alright, got it. Just wanted to double-check before I go to sleep for the night. Will also write it down as I'll forget it by the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top