7/27 Taishi AMPS 362, +3 365, +6 365, PMPS 387, +2 329 (Day 7 - new dose)

Taishi_Ci

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-356-6-335-9-5-329-pmps-390-day-6.250418/

After several days of consistent numbers, we increased Taishi's dose to 1.5U this morning. I plan to check him at +3 and +6 to see how things are going and will stay up late to get at least one nighttime poke. I've been slacking on the nighttime pokes the past couple days because he's been so consistent and also I've been beyond exhausted. Here's hoping we see some progress with the 1.5U!
 
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-356-6-335-9-5-329-pmps-390-day-6.250418/

After several days of consistent numbers, we increased Taishi's dose to 1.5U this morning. I plan to check him at +3 and +6 to see how things are going and will stay up late to get at least one nighttime poke. I've been slacking on the nighttime pokes the past couple days because he's been so consistent and also I've been beyond exhausted. Here's hoping we see some progress with the 1.5U!
Hi Jessie. Good luck with the increase, hope Taishi’s numbers start to drop. I wish I could tell you when the exhaustion will improve :rolleyes: but it will!! Hope you all have a good day. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Update at +3: I know +3 is pretty early to do another test, but I wanted to out of curiosity (and paranoia about the increase). His number was almost identical to AMPS! What the heck! I need to keep in mind that Lantus can take 3-5 days to build up the "depot" and show whether or not a certain dose is working (at least, I think I'm right about that). Just disappointing to see no change. We'll test again at +6. Would love to see a yellow at some point.
 
I'm going to tell myself that his tendency to be so "flat" right now means that, if we eventually get him regulated, he'll stay that consistent with GOOD numbers ;-)
 
Hi Jessie, Taishi has been on insulin for 12 days. You might want to take a look at the spreadsheets of other cats when they started off, like Ruby's in 2020. It took her over 2 months to get regulated, but once it happened she started coming down in doses quickly. Cats are usually diabetic for a long time before they are diagnosed, so a certain amount of glucose toxicity might have set in, and this means that Taishi might need higher doses of insulin until we break through that toxicity. Time to put on those patience pants! :bighug:
 
Thank you all for the never ending support and encouragement! His PMPS number was 387 :banghead: How important is it for me to keep myself up until 1 am to get another test? I'm assuming the number will be astonishingly similar to what we've seen so far...
 
What time do you shoot? Do you have any flexiblity to move it earlier? At some point you are going to need to stay up getting tests at night. On a regular basis.
 
Back
Top