7/27 Skooter PMPS 147 +2 171 +4 155 +9 182 +11 233

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

All of yesterday was a very looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong day/night for this mommabean....

It is a BTB morning for me. Skooter is getting to more and more like his old self. He is snuggling with me more at night when I sleep and just in general....he is starting to try and wake me up for food, which is nice.

I shall write more later, but just so exhausted right now. Setting several alarms for a +2.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71

I had a feeling with the AMPS and +2 he had that we would see green....just not this early. Then again, he does tend to nadir early, I am almost thinking I should be doing a +5 to see if he is still diving down or not.

Went to my first Weight Watchers meeting since Skooter got diagnosed and the scale was NOT pretty. :shock: :roll: Guess it is time I find something other than chocolate to get me through this stuff. But if you think about it, using chocolate to get through having a diabetic cat IS rather ironic :lol:

So today on the agenda, if Skooter allows it, will be grocery shopping for the bean so I can get back on track and start taking care of me again. Some awesome deep cleaning and HOPEFULLY no naps. I think they are really starting to mess with my schedule. So I shall take hopefully my last nap of the day, get up for a +5 and see if I have been given permission to go grocery shopping or not :)

Hoping everyone in LL is having a great Sunday.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71

WOOT! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: So nice to see those greenios in the daytime!

I hear you on the bean food choices. I've been a lot more sensitive to the carbs/grains I eat than before Neko was Dx.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71

Skootersmom said:
I had a feeling with the AMPS and +2 he had that we would see green....just not this early. Then again, he does tend to nadir early, I am almost thinking I should be doing a +5 to see if he is still diving down or not.
Follow your instincts.
Keep in mind that time of nadir is not fixed - it can and will vary.
sprinkling your tests among different 'plus' times is always a good thing.
That way you have a fuller picture, which can be very valuable for future dosing/shooting decisions

Ice cream - for me it was ice cream. Could not have survived our journey without it :cool:
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71 +5 58

Looks like someone has his eye on a reduction! I am gonna get a +5.5 and see where he is at......could we be going to a 1.75u shot?!?!?!?

And, yes, I know this pretty much guarantees me a stinky pinky number either with his PM cycle tonight or his AM cycle tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71 +5 58

i'd feed him and see if you can prevent a reduction today. he's still got a lot of higher numbers and a little more insulin (ie, not having a reduction) will help bring them down. I'm not talking about always, just for today.

The goal isn't to get dose reductions, it's to get all the numbers into normal range.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71 +5 58

Actually looking at the time, it is time for his second meal.

So I gave him his 1/4 can of 5.5 oz NV chicken and 1 teaspoon of NV chicken frozen raw.

I will go for a +5.75 and see where he is at.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71 +5 58

So he got his normal meal at +5.5 and his +5.75 is 54.....

Thinking a +6.25 is in order next?
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71 +5 58 +5.75 54

i don't know about skooter, but it took 30 minutes for carbs to show up in punkin's bloodstream. i wouldn't feed more at this point. 15 minutes is the very soonest i'd think you'd have any chance of seeing carbs increasing his BGs.

my point is that i wouldn't test again for a half hr.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 152 +4 71 +5 58 +5.75 54 +6.25

He tends to be pretty card sensitive and normally doesn't take much to get him going.

It looks like he is moving in the correct direction.

Am I safe at this point to go out for a few hours to run some errands?

Should I start taking bets now on how badly he bounces from this one? lol
 
Re: 7/27 SkooterAM204+2 152+4 71+5 58+5.75 54 +6.25 65+7 65+

I am not really sure what to make of all this, in looking at his spreadsheet, this is the longest he has ever surfed the greens before!

I have several things to do, the first being at 3:30, which is +8.75 and I need to leave now (+8.5). I should be done with first appointment and home by +10. I shall test him then and then go out and do my grocery shopping. Because he is trending up, he should be ok, yes?

Should I leave out a little bit of food just in case?
 
Re: 7/27 SkooterAM204+2 152+4 71+5 58+5.75 54 +6.25 65+7 65+

Hi Molly:

I hope you got your errands done and Skooter continued to surf safely for you. For future reference, if you have to go out and aren't sure what he's going to do, it's always a good idea to leave some food available. Most kitties will look for food if they go low. Have you invested in that auto feeder yet? I'd say it's time, with his recent cycles. :mrgreen:

It truly was a lovely green surf. Good job avoiding a reduction. I think Skooter is getting tired of shots and ear pokes and has his eyes on a trip to the falls (anti-jinx)!
 
Re: 7/27 SkooterAM204+2 152+4 71+5 58+5.75 54 +6.25 65+7 65+

I never thought a trip to the falls was possible for him, BUUUUTTTTTTTTT, lately I have been thinking.... :mrgreen:


I did end up leaving out some food for him before I left and that is gone and his +10 is 110, so still doing really really nicely!
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter +4 71+5 58+5.75 54 +6.25 65+7 65+8 75 +10 1

Now I get to do my grocery shopping trip! I have 80 minutes to get there, do the shopping and get home lol

This should be fun.....

Must remember a scale and back up meter for Skoots-ma-goots....
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter +4 71+5 58+5.75 54 +6.25 65+7 65+8 75 +10 1

A beautiful cycle today! The thing I noticed with Oliver was, the more green cycles he had, the better his pancreas seemed to do on it's own. I am assuming when you get his numbers down into a normal range, his pancreas begins to heal.

Have you shown Skooter's speadsheet to your vet? I'll bet he's going to be delighted when he sees it.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147

Recap of today's AWESOME AM cycle:


AMPS = 204

+2 = 152

+4 = 71
+5 = 58
+5.75 = 54
+6.25 = 65
+7 = 65
+8 = 74

+10 = 110

I sent an e-mail to her office this weekend with a link to his spreadsheet. It was getting tough to fax in the numbers every week, this way she can see what Skooter is eating, when he is eating and what his numbers are. I will probably call tomorrow and confirm that they got them, plus I need to give her the fax number to Walmart to get my 1/2 marking needles and the fax number to the Canadian pharmacy so I can order Skooter's pens. However, at the rate he is going, I think it might be worth seeing if I can order a single pen from anywhere around here.....

I could not be more pleased with his cycle today and loving the PMPS tonight. I will not be surprised if he bounces tomorrow, but only time will tell. I have to say I am a weeeeee bit worried about shooting tomorrow depending on how low he is, as I cannot remember my schedule and if I will be able to come home during the day or not.

But I am not going to borrow trouble. I am going to enjoy this most excellent cycle he had today and look forward to an excellent cycle tonight!
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147

Ooops, forgot to answer one thing....

I am waiting on my new debit card to get here so I can order his timed feeder as the frozen fuds just don't seem to be cutting it for him...

Hopefully this week it will be here :)
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147

Molly, when you finish NCIS, I highly recommend Breaking Bad if you haven't seen it. It is the best TV series I have ever seen.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147

when you shoot a low number, it almost always results in a nice green cycle. unless, of course, the low number was because the kitty got low in the previous cycle and is on their way up in a bounce. but that isn't what happened today.

looking great!
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147

Hi there :cool:

Look at Skooter - getting his green on today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Way to go !

Skootersmom said:
I am going to enjoy this most excellent cycle he had today and look forward to an excellent cycle tonight!
That's the spirit!
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147 +2 171

Yay for Skooter!!!

So I do not think I have ever had this before, where his +2 is greater than his pre-shot number. And though it is an increase, it isn't too bad of an increase...should I be anticipating a bounce tomorrow?

Does this mean I can give his ear a break tonight or do I keep testing? I am trying to remember under what post it it talks about this.


I wanna say it is under the TR one so I shall check there, but any advice is always welcome :)
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147 +2 171

GREAT cycle today, Skooter!

His +2 isn't way higher than his PMPS, so hopefully he'll turn it back around and come down tonight (slowly and smoothly).
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147 +2 171

could be the start of a bounce when the +2 is higher than the preshot. but i'm not sure with skooter, at this phase, that you can assume that's happening. i'd get a +4 and go from there.

the post on New Dose Wonkiness, Bouncing and Failed Reductions is on the New to the Group sticky, down at the bottom. There are a lot of single topic posts there that are good to look through when you have time.
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147 +2 171

With Skooter, that +2 could still be a little of the food spike

it's not that much higher than the pre-shot..the +4 will tell you a lot more about if he's bouncing or not

If it's higher, take the rest of the night off and get some sleep!!
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147 +2 171 +4 155

So he just got his last meal o the night and was down a weeeee bit....I am guessing a +6 will be needed before considering it "good" for the night.

I am really starting to feel like crap, so I will be setting 5 alarms to get me up at 1240 (+6) to test him again.....

I am assuming this is needed that while he is coming down just a wee bit, he is still coming down?
 
Re: 7/27 Skooter PMPS 147 +2 171 +4 155 +9 182

Five hours of sleep in a row.....that is a new record....will be heading back to bed for a couple more hours, but since I woke up, I figured I would take a test....still in the loverly blues :)

Looking at his AM and PM cycle starting on 7/27 makes me smile....soooooooooooooo much healing time makes my heart smile as well.

I am thinking that his AMPS for 7/28 will be a titch on the high side, but hoping he starts somewhere in the low 200 range......

Time for some 7up and hopefully a few more hours of sleep...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top