Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good morning,
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122425&p=1272808#p1272808
Yesterday's SS:
AMBG +12 60 +14 62 +16 59 +19 60 +21 61
PMPS 67 + 1 77 +2 60 + 4.5 71 +5.5 78 +7 64 + 7.5 69 +11 55 + 11.5 56
Well, I gave Rocky his AM shot this morning, although in the recent past if he would have been this low, I would have skipped the shot. The reason he got his AM shot today with his BG in the 50s is because it looks to me like he is requiring lower carbs to surf this reduced insulin dose. I don't want to lose the momentum of the reductions, although this may be the lowest insulin dose that he can maintain his good numbers.
At the same time I am a bit worried about having given him this shot. His BG was 55 at PMPS +11, and then 56 at both PMPS +11.5 and at his AMPS. I was GUESSING if his BG was going up or down at that AM 56, and I didn't want to stall the shot. In hindsight, it would have been better of me to stall that shot to see which direction he was headed, but no looking back now.
I offered him the 4% Artemis for his first morning meal, but he wouldn't touch it. Then I quickly switched gears and got him the 4% Fancy Feast Classic Chicken. While he ate most of it, he did not finish it. Could he be telling me, "Mom, I NEED that higher carb if you are going to give me that shot this morning!"
I just don't know, but I'm going to check him in just a few minutes to see if his BG is going up or down. If his BG is going down, I'll feed him a 1/4 of the Fancy Feast Beef Classic, which is a 5% carb. (I hope that he'll eat it.) I still think that the 8% carb is too much for him right now. Last night he went up 18 points after I fed him the 8%, and it took his BG five hours before it came back down. I also simply need to get calories into Rocky, so I can't feed him the 8% carbs and then not feed him again for 5 hours while waiting for his BG to come back down. That's why I need to start feeding him the lower carbs, more frequently, and he needs to start eating them.
UPDATE:
i should not have given Rocky his AM shot this morning. I also changed my mind about feeding him the 5% carb, now that his BG has gone lower. I offered him the 18% rather than the 5%, or even the 8% carbs, because I really want to get his BG up there. He got 1/2 can of the 18% FF-Grilled T and G, (that's about 2 and 1/2 TBS). He quickly gobbled it down.
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122425&p=1272808#p1272808
Yesterday's SS:
AMBG +12 60 +14 62 +16 59 +19 60 +21 61
PMPS 67 + 1 77 +2 60 + 4.5 71 +5.5 78 +7 64 + 7.5 69 +11 55 + 11.5 56
Well, I gave Rocky his AM shot this morning, although in the recent past if he would have been this low, I would have skipped the shot. The reason he got his AM shot today with his BG in the 50s is because it looks to me like he is requiring lower carbs to surf this reduced insulin dose. I don't want to lose the momentum of the reductions, although this may be the lowest insulin dose that he can maintain his good numbers.
At the same time I am a bit worried about having given him this shot. His BG was 55 at PMPS +11, and then 56 at both PMPS +11.5 and at his AMPS. I was GUESSING if his BG was going up or down at that AM 56, and I didn't want to stall the shot. In hindsight, it would have been better of me to stall that shot to see which direction he was headed, but no looking back now.
I offered him the 4% Artemis for his first morning meal, but he wouldn't touch it. Then I quickly switched gears and got him the 4% Fancy Feast Classic Chicken. While he ate most of it, he did not finish it. Could he be telling me, "Mom, I NEED that higher carb if you are going to give me that shot this morning!"
I just don't know, but I'm going to check him in just a few minutes to see if his BG is going up or down. If his BG is going down, I'll feed him a 1/4 of the Fancy Feast Beef Classic, which is a 5% carb. (I hope that he'll eat it.) I still think that the 8% carb is too much for him right now. Last night he went up 18 points after I fed him the 8%, and it took his BG five hours before it came back down. I also simply need to get calories into Rocky, so I can't feed him the 8% carbs and then not feed him again for 5 hours while waiting for his BG to come back down. That's why I need to start feeding him the lower carbs, more frequently, and he needs to start eating them.
UPDATE:
i should not have given Rocky his AM shot this morning. I also changed my mind about feeding him the 5% carb, now that his BG has gone lower. I offered him the 18% rather than the 5%, or even the 8% carbs, because I really want to get his BG up there. He got 1/2 can of the 18% FF-Grilled T and G, (that's about 2 and 1/2 TBS). He quickly gobbled it down.