7/27 Rocky PMBG +12 58 +15 56 +17 57 + 18.5 46 + 21 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122425&p=1272808#p1272808

Yesterday's SS:
AMBG +12 60 +14 62 +16 59 +19 60 +21 61
PMPS 67 + 1 77 +2 60 + 4.5 71 +5.5 78 +7 64 + 7.5 69 +11 55 + 11.5 56

Well, I gave Rocky his AM shot this morning, although in the recent past if he would have been this low, I would have skipped the shot. The reason he got his AM shot today with his BG in the 50s is because it looks to me like he is requiring lower carbs to surf this reduced insulin dose. I don't want to lose the momentum of the reductions, although this may be the lowest insulin dose that he can maintain his good numbers.

At the same time I am a bit worried about having given him this shot. His BG was 55 at PMPS +11, and then 56 at both PMPS +11.5 and at his AMPS. I was GUESSING if his BG was going up or down at that AM 56, and I didn't want to stall the shot. In hindsight, it would have been better of me to stall that shot to see which direction he was headed, but no looking back now.

I offered him the 4% Artemis for his first morning meal, but he wouldn't touch it. Then I quickly switched gears and got him the 4% Fancy Feast Classic Chicken. While he ate most of it, he did not finish it. Could he be telling me, "Mom, I NEED that higher carb if you are going to give me that shot this morning!"

I just don't know, but I'm going to check him in just a few minutes to see if his BG is going up or down. If his BG is going down, I'll feed him a 1/4 of the Fancy Feast Beef Classic, which is a 5% carb. (I hope that he'll eat it.) I still think that the 8% carb is too much for him right now. Last night he went up 18 points after I fed him the 8%, and it took his BG five hours before it came back down. I also simply need to get calories into Rocky, so I can't feed him the 8% carbs and then not feed him again for 5 hours while waiting for his BG to come back down. That's why I need to start feeding him the lower carbs, more frequently, and he needs to start eating them.

UPDATE:
i should not have given Rocky his AM shot this morning. I also changed my mind about feeding him the 5% carb, now that his BG has gone lower. I offered him the 18% rather than the 5%, or even the 8% carbs, because I really want to get his BG up there. He got 1/2 can of the 18% FF-Grilled T and G, (that's about 2 and 1/2 TBS). He quickly gobbled it down.
 
Re: 7/27 Rocky AMPS 56 +.75 52

How's Rocky doing now? I know those lower numbers are scary, but remember that the overlap was wearing off and numbers could be coming up anyway. The 52 was really the same number, but giving the HC gave you peace of mind. You may see a big bounce from this though.
 
Re: 7/27 Rocky AMPS 56 +.75 52 +1.5 63 +3.5 50 +6 84 +7 69 +

Hi Ann,

Rocky seems to be doing pretty good, considering that I *think* I accidentally gave him 1.25u of insulin this morning too. I've had a headache and bad sinusitis for the past couple of days, and then add lack of sleep to that equation, plus drugs, and you get a messed up mind.

in my panic that i might have overdosed him, (what happened to that peace of mind that I had just yesterday?), I fed him 1/2 can of the 18% FF-T and G at the +.75, and then at +1.5 I fed him 1/8 of a can of the 33% Science Diet Light Liver and Chicken. Considering that I was so heave-handed with those loaded carbs, and his BG did not jump to the moon, maybe I actually DID give him too much insulin. Scary.. nailbite_smile

The higher carbs started to wear off at +7, so I then fed him 1/4 can of the 0% carb NVIV, which brought his BG right back up to 80. However, I believe that his BG will come back down before his PM shot time, but I don't have any idea how far it might come down.

If he is in the 50s again by his PM shot time, I may not give the shot tonight.
 
Re: 7/27 Rocky AMPS 56 +.75 52 +1.5 63 +3.5 50 +6 84 +7 69 +

FYI- the time setting for my posts is one hour behind. For instance, this post will read as being posted at 2:41 although it is now 3:41pm in Elk Grove. I can't find where to change that on the board. Can someone please tell me how to get there to fix it? Thank you!
 
Re: 7/27 Rocky AMPS 56 +1.5 63 +3.5 50 +6 84 +7 69 +8 80 +9

Hi Tina and Rocky! Great numbers for Rocky today. I have also given an accidental increase before, and it was because I was distracted. I make sure now that I check and recheck before I shoot. Btw..you mentioned Citrus Heights yesterday..that's where my brother lives! I think he goes to the same vet that you mentioned too. He has 3 kitties :-D Have a great evening!
 
Re: 7/27 Rocky AMPS 56 +1.5 63 +3.5 50 +6 84 +7 69 +8 80 +9

it could also mean that his pancreas is functioning and it dealt with the extra carbs you gave him as it should've.

you can change your time setting by going to the User Control Panel. Poke around on there - one of them has the clock setting.
 
Re: 7/27 Rocky(no PM shot): PMBG +12 58 +13 58 +14.5 58

Thanks for the clock time Julie, I'll try to get that set to the correct time tonight. I'm not sure how I got that wrong. That would be awesome if Rocky's pancreas had really healed and is now doing it's job like it is suppose to do. I'm not sure what I'm going to do because he doesn't seem to want to eat when he is in those lower numbers.

Laura, that's so funny that your brother lives in Citrus Heights! Mercy Vet doesn't take appointments so you sit and wait, but that's Ok for me. It's about a 20 minute drive for me in no traffic, but it's helps me to cut down on my costs since I am tending to 30 cats in my home, as well as two new 8 week old kittens that require that expensive replacement milk, and then taking care of 4 colonies as well.

WELL, Rocky's BG is back down to 58 for his PM shot time. I thought that this was going to happen, but it's not a bad thing. I decided to skip his shot tonight for fear that I really did give him 1.25u instead of 1.0u. I just can't be sure. Also, he wasn't really interested in eating anything all day. It was a real effort to get him to eat, and I have definitely not overfed him. I'm not sure if it's just the weather and the fact that the A/C has been running 24/7 since about 5 days ago. The Weather Channel says it was 102°F here today. All of the cats are messed up on their eating habits.

I'll do my best to feed Rocy the 0% carb food and the 2% carb food for the rest of tonight, if he'll eat it, to see if that will help keep his BG surfing the 50s and 60s. I'm not sure what to think if his BG drops below 50, considering he's had such high carbs today, and enough to eat.

I'm off to feed the ferals, already fed two colonies before 7pm. Need to get to the ones with KITTENS before dark. Unfortunately, we have skunks at these two colonies.

About that string of 58s... I retested and they stayed 58. Not sure what's going on with that. I guess his pancreas is trying to figure out what to do. He's not hungry, so I haven't fed him since his PMBG, which was almost 3 hours ago, but I think I'm going to try to feed him again at +15.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top