7/27 Oscar AMPS 25.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

oscarthecat

Member Since 2011
So I think I'm dosing my cat too high @ 2U q12h.

Oscar was dx about four weeks ago and I started at 2U then after 2 weeks, got impatient and upped the dose which of course did nothing for his numbers. I now understand the shed thing so I won't be doing that again.

I have done spot checks on a few occasions and it looks like his nadir is around +8 but won't know for sure until I can do a proper curve. I was going to do one today but I did a fur shot this morning so his sugar didn't change at the next two checks. I've decided to do it tomorrow instead.

I have tried Innova Evo dry food overnight a couple of nights because my non-diabetic cat wakes me up at 3 am looking for food it there is nothing out but when Oscar gets into it, his sugar is really high so I've cut that out now. I'm going to start freezing some wet so I can put it out before I go to bed and hope that it will be thawed by the time the other one gets hungry. This other cat had hepatic lipidosis about 6 months ago and if she stops eating again I feel her already fragile health is going to lead to her being too sick to save this time. I have no rooms to keep them separate other than the bathroom and regardless, either cat would just wake me up if I tried locking one in the bathroom while the non-diabetic eats. Except Oscar would pee on the floor just for fun.

I know this means Oscar will be eating past his nadir time during the night but man, I'm getting tired of being woken up!

Sooooo, my question is...

should I lower the dose down to 1U, and feed only wet food in the hopes that he just rebounding and that his "shed" will fill up? So basically starting all over?

So confused.

I just did the spreadsheet today and did not start it right from the beginning showing my dosing increases since they weren't really making any difference anyway with the exception of a couple of ones in the 12-15mmol/L region. I'm Canadian and am more comfortable with the mmol/L measurement but since the spreadsheet is color coded I hope it will be okay.

Thanks so much for any advice.
 
Hi, guys!

the lantus forum is so busy that it might help get more experienced eyes if you add the word "question" to your subject line...

i'll bump your post up for better eyes as well...

celi & binks
 
Thanks Celi, I think I'll wait a couple of days and repost. We had a great day with sugars today so I'm going to see how the 2U works out over the next couple of days. Maybe I filled his "shed" and it's finally working!!!!!
 
hi - one thing that's important to know is that unless a cat's BG drops too low (under 50) you don't want to adjust the dose randomly. there is a ton to learn quickly about how lantus works, but once you've learned it you'll feel really empowered!

so, read the sticky at the top of the lantus forum here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139 and that should help you get started. you're doing a good job with getting the testing in! well-done!

the best thing you can do is get lots of tests in like you did today - as you fill in your spreadsheet patterns will emerge. the nadir moves around in a cat sometimes - it's not always at one fixed point, sadly! but as you test you'll learn lots.

i don't know mmol numbers -everyone here uses the other - i don't even know what it's called. hopefully someone will come by and tell you how to set it up so it converts on your spreadsheet. i can see that your 5.2 number is today is barely in the green zone, so i would assume that must be 90ish. hold your dose unless oscar goes below 50, which must be somewhere around 2-3ish. i guess i don't want to say much because i don't want to say it wrong and i don't know these measurements.

i'd encourage you to post every day and update your numbers as the day goes on. that lets people get to "know" oscar and will make it easier to give good advice quickly if you need it. most of us post every day, especially when we're learning and needing regular advice.
 
If you use the World spreadsheet template, you will be able to enter the data in mmol/L and on a second tab, it will convert the numbers to the US format.

I would strongly encourage you to get at least one spot check per night in the PM cycle. Cats are notorious for dropping into lower numbers at night. Given that you've already seen Oscar drop to 94 (5.2), some of the higher numbers you have seen could easily reflect a bounce from lower numbers overnight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top