7/27 Onyx - AMPS 462 (.25 bump), +3 412, +6 349

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hope everyone is having a good Saturday!

Just a quick question: In the early stages of dosing, before our kitties are lucky enough to be regulated, is there a "safe range" we hope their numbers will go down each day? Or does such a thing not really exist because eveyones kitty is so different?
 
Good question. Normal numbers are roughly 50-120. The 40s are safe for most cats but when they get to the 40s, we like to get them up right away because you don't have much cushion until numbers are no longer in the safe range. A newly dx cat earns a reduction in dose when he/she goes below 50 if you are following the TR protocol.

Although we have some champion divers in LL, the fast drops cause the liver to want to release those counterregulatory hormones and glucagon so they bounce right back up again. That's why getting a +2 is a good idea because if the +2 is about the same or less than the preshot, you should test a little more and try to catch the drops because it will likely be an active cycle. If you see him start to drop fast, you can try and slow it down with food. It might mean the overall curve stays higher that day but it also might prevent a hard bounce back up.

The goal is to get the curve to flatten out and then slowly increase the dose so the entire curve comes down. It's part art and part science. And it takes time so we just increase per the protocol and take the reductions when they come.

Yes...every cat is different and while we all hope they will come down slowly, your goal is to try and slow the drop so he doesn't bounce back up.
 
Hi Marje.
Thanks for taking the time to to break it down for this newbie. So slow, is definitely better. That's a relief. 11 days ago when Onyx was diagnosed, they put her on too high a dose at 2U. Once I found FDMB 4 days later, they immediately dropped her to 1U, but she was still dropping from the 400's to the low 100's. I'm so glad we then moved her to .5U. Onyx has been all over the place this past week with the dose changes, and accidental fur shot, but now that her bounce is done, her numbers aren't fluxuating much. I wasn't sure if that was good or bad, but your explanation makes sense. We bumped her up to .75 today, so I'll be anxious to see how her numbers look tomorrow.

You also mentioned testing at +2. On the one chart it says the +1 and +2 are usually about the same as the preshot, so I've been waiting until +3 for her first test, where I thought I would see a change. But if I'm getting what you're saying, I actually should be testing at +2, because I can catch a drastic drop more quickly. I didn't realize that. So I will start testing at +2 tomorrow.

Thank you so much, Marje! You rock!

And I just love your Avatar. So adorable!

:-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top