7/27 Nikki PMBG 53; +16 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Argh I'm gonna kill this cat! What am I supposed to do with a 61? It's already a half hour later than last night's shot time. Should I stall a bit? I'm supposed to be out of the house from +5 or so...

ETA: Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 61 - Shoot?

I haven't looked at your ss yet. Hold on.
How long ago did you test and get the 61?
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 61 - Shoot?

About 15 minutes ago.

Thanks for stopping in! :-D

btw, I was joking about killing her, but I will be bummed if I'm stuck in the house all day again. :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 61 - Shoot?

Oh, if only we could get Nikki on a consistant dose, I could make more sense of your ss.

Yes, test again 30 minutes after the last one. It looks like she is fairly slowly coming down from a bounce.
Do you have plenty of strips and higher carb food? I know you have to leave, but if she is surfing along nicely, you can leave extra food out or mix up some medium carb (if you don't already have some) to leave out for her when you leave.

I'm leaving in like 10 minutes for a vet appointment, so I won't be around for you. You'll have to make the decision and do what you feel comfortable with.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 61 - Shoot?

I was really hoping this wouldn't happen so that I could get Nikki back on something consistent! I'll test again in about 10 minutes and see where she's at. I would love to shoot the full dose and I can stay home if I absolutely have to....
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 61 - Shoot?

Then if she's rising and you have supplies, I would shoot the full dose and take advantage of the weekend to see how she does. It will help you to refer back to all the data you collect in the future. I have to go. I'll check back in on you, when I get home. Remember, the insulin doesn't have onset until about 2 hours and you will have fed her between shot time and onset.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 61 - Shoot?

She was at 69, so not dropping. I did it. Yikes! :lol:

Should I get a +1 just to be on the safe side? I have plenty of strips and MC and HC.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes

Yes....+1 and +2. I'm just up checking Gracie. If I'm up again in an hour I will check in. Please read Handling Low Numbers link in my signature block.

Great shooting !
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes

Thanks! I think we're ok. She was 61 at +1 so I gave a little LC and will test again in an hour. If she starts dropping I'll probably break out some MC. I'd like to keep her in the 60-70 range all day if I can... *crosses fingers*
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61

I'm highly tempted to send my Blackie to your house to get her regulated. :lol: You seem to know some secrets. Care to share...? :lol: :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61

I wish I knew the secret! I have no idea what the heck she'll be up to next! I thought I finally had a bit of a handle on things and all of a sudden it's random greens every morning. If I'd been more awake yesterday I would have messed my pants! :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61

Good job!
_BOS%20award5-1.gif

Surf nicely, Nikki.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61

Wow! I'm impressed that you shot! Braver than me! Fingers crossed that you get to leave the house and Nikki cooperates today! Cats!

Bern
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61

Thanks Bern! I don't feel brave yet, I'm just hoping we survive! :lol:

I was new and lurking Tashie's condo not long ago, it's great to see you back! :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61

I'll be lurking YOUR SS today and watching what Nikki does for you .... never a dull moment huh? I've given up on making any "plans" and all nail / hair/ dentist appts. etc I make for either early or late in the day - otherwise, I'd just be cancelling them at the last minute! We put our lives on hold while they snooze all day .......... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68

Ugh, it's horrible! I haven't seen my friends in weeks. I'm supposed to have lunch in Brooklyn today but considering it's a 2 hour round trip on public transit I may have to cancel. :evil: I really need to see what she does on this dose though. If I can get her OTJ then I can have my life back! :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68

Still surfing along. Gave a teaspoon Primal freeze-dried turkey (rehydrated) to keep her up just a bit before the insulin really kicks in. Yesterday she had a bit of 12% and it kicked her up about 20 points. The carb calculator says the Primal is about 15% so we'll see how it does.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68

We are not JUST fighting for their lives but ours too! Hang in there .... at least you are not alone! Grab some ~O) ~O) ~O) lunch is a ways off and things might look a whole lot different in a few hours!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68

I'm hoping for a whole lot more of the same! :lol: Surf those 60's! I am drinking lots of ~O) ~O) ~O) though! :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68

Nice shooting this morning!!

I thought I finally had a bit of a handle on things and all of a sudden it's random greens every morning.
Ummm..... I don't think it's quite so random. Not surprisingly, when you skip or shoot a reduced dose, Nikki's numbers are high at the next PS. When you shoot, you're getting greens and the high numbers clear out quickly. I'm betting that Nikki's pancreas is kicking in.

If you thought seeing high numbers was hard, taking a deep breath and shooting can be harder. But, you're absolutely right. The sacrifice of time, energy, less sleep, and nail biting now, will pay off if Nikki ends up going OTJ.

Just a note on your SS: It looks like you're planning on shooting almost an hour early tonight. I would be cautious if that's your plan. You might want to shoot 30 min. early tonight and 30 min. early tomorrow night (or 15 min. at each shot time -- in other words, twice a day) to get back on schedule. If Nikki stays in low numbers, shooting an hour early may not be such a great idea since an early shot acts like a dose increase.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki +12 61 AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68

Whoops, I just noticed that and changed it when you were posting! :-D I had pre-populated it so I'd know when I needed to be home this weekend and then this morning changed my plans! :lol:

The greens just seem random to me because she's gotten so fast at clearing bounces! I've seen other people with cats that have gone OTJ and it's like a switch flips on and the numbers are suddenly better. It's just weird when it happens to your own cat! :lol:

At any rate, I figure this weekend will be good data collection opportunity. Unfortunately I have to be away for 6 cycles later on in the week so we'll lose some steam :-|
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68; +3 79

Didn't feed after this test. Looks like the MC brought her up a bit. Will grab a +4 next then decide if I can leave....
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68; +3 79

Good plan re. not feeding and testing at +4.

Once you hit that "good" dose, it is sort of like magic. I hope that's what's doing on with Nikki. Time and testing will tell!!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68; +3 79

I hope so too, especially since I have to go to work Monday and Tuesday! :lol:

Thanks for keeping an eye on us today!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69 Yikes; +1 61; +2 68; +3 79; +4 100

Hmm. Still the MC or a bounce? Didn't feed.

And now the Million Dollar question....is it safe for me to leave for 4-5 hours or am I too early in cycle still?
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100 - safe to leave?

bump :-D

Oops, nevermind, changed plans to dinner instead. Hopefully I can get out right after her shot and feed her a bunch while I'm out....
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100

Glad you could change your plans and still get out. Hopefully Nikki will agree.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100

I hope so too! I feel like it's better to be out from shot time to +4 than from +4 to +8 though!

I have no idea what I'm going to do about work though... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100

Great job this morning, Alexis. Look how far you and Nikki have come :mrgreen:

Sorry to desert you this morning. I got up from a badly needed 2 hours of sleep to test Gracie and my phone had buzzed with a LL PM so I saw your post. But ...could not manage to keep my eyed open :oops:

Lovely surf and such a good job managing it!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100; +5 99

Thanks Marje! I only wanted to kill her until I had my first cup of coffee! :lol:

I wasn't even expecting to see you so early! I felt pretty good about shooting, I had all my tools ready to go. I'm glad she's showing she can safely surf so that I'll feel ok going to work. :-D

Glad you got some btb time, I'm definitely grabbing a nap this afternoon. :lol:

Since she's just cruising along, can I go to test every hour and a half? Or wait until after the +6 to go longer between tests? And when should I feed again? She hasn't had anything since +2...
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100; +5 99

Good job Alexis! I need to get a handle on calmly handling the low numbers. It just seems the last two low numbers were a 26 and a 30! UGH. Then I'm getting out the funnel and the syrup! I need to practice the feeding LC and MC. Bob doesn't always cooperate with that though. Well, I guess Bob and Nikki are no longer cosmically connected. :cry:

I'm glad you were able to change your plans and still see your friends! When you go out in NY, is it like a scene from Sex in the City???? That's what I picture when you talk about having drinks with your friends... :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100; +5 99

Dara! You are too funny! As far as going out in NYC, I think Nikki's mum will agree with me that it DEPENDS where you go - if you go to the $35 a martini bars - you might find some of that :lol: Places go in and out of style in NY like crazy - I used to have to go in 4 or 5 times a year on business and my favorite restaurant from my last visit would be replaced with something else - I'd spend ages "looking for it" and it just wasn't there!

And, I too, need to get a better handle on the LOW numbers - it's hard to not pour the syrup when you get the low low numbers - it's like being a paramedic and saving a life - but it seems like it takes a lot to bring my girl up when she goes that low .... wish we could micro chip them so there could be a "warning" sign at, say 70 or so and an alarm at 49! Now, wouldn't that help us out!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100; +5 99

:lol: :lol: You are too funny! It is true that you can go out to places like they do on S&tC but most of us can't afford them! I hit a fancy place maybe once a year...The rest of the time we go to local bars, grab cheap beers, and hang out. Well, that's what I did before FD. :lol: :roll:

Sadly my plan to go to Brooklyn today, have brunch, and then hit this store that was having a free show with a musician I like (in their garden apparently, so random) was destroyed thanks to greenie girl. :mrgreen: :roll: :sad: So I'm still gonna try and get to Brooklyn, but I'll do it right after her shot tonight and give her some MC so I can get out of the house....

I think I've just been half asleep in the mornings so it hasn't freaked me out. :lol: Plus I know there is help and support here. I was a bit worried she'd drop but she did well today!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100; +5 99; +6 86

Still surfing! :mrgreen:

I'm going to give her some LC and then leave her until +8 unless something thinks I should test at +7.

Thanks for all the visits today! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100; +5 99

BorisV said:
Dara! You are too funny! As far as going out in NYC, I think Nikki's mum will agree with me that it DEPENDS where you go - if you go to the $35 a martini bars - you might find some of that :lol: Places go in and out of style in NY like crazy - I used to have to go in 4 or 5 times a year on business and my favorite restaurant from my last visit would be replaced with something else - I'd spend ages "looking for it" and it just wasn't there!

And, I too, need to get a better handle on the LOW numbers - it's hard to not pour the syrup when you get the low low numbers - it's like being a paramedic and saving a life - but it seems like it takes a lot to bring my girl up when she goes that low .... wish we could micro chip them so there could be a "warning" sign at, say 70 or so and an alarm at 49! Now, wouldn't that help us out!

Hey Tashie's mom - your name is Bern right? I just wanted t make sure because it looks like your user name changed (unless I was dreaming, which is quite possible). You should patent the "feline low blood glucose alarm system". Great idea!

Nikki's Mom said:
I think I've just been half asleep in the mornings so it hasn't freaked me out. Plus I know there is help and support here. I was a bit worried she'd drop but she did well today!

Well, seems you are getting accustomed to what you have to do and approaching it more calmly. I didn't feel as hysterical on Wednesday even though I got a little freaked that his numbers were not rising at all - I knew it was because he wasn't eating, but still. I need to try some baby food or something for times like that! You are doing a great job!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +3 79; +4 100; +5 99; +6 86

Thanks Dara! Guess I figured if she survived the 30's, I could keep her up if I shot at almost 70...so far, so good! It helps so much to have people who understand this dance too. I feel like my friends think I'm nuts. :-|
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69 +4 100; +5 99; +6 86; +7 72

Poor Nikki, I'm turning into a testaholic. ohmygod_smile

She's been awfully good about the pokey pokey...I'm rather impressed. Giving just a bit more LC now.
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +7 72. +9.5 75 - Food Question?

Now that I've made it through the day :lol: I want to make sure I'm understanding what happened after I fed the MC today at AM +2. It looks like it pushed up her BG for about 3 hours (give or take, with meter variance). So if I go out tonight, I should feed a little MC with her dinner and then set her autofeeder with some for about an hour later and I should be good until I get home? Again, assuming she doesn't drop suddenly at PMPS... :roll:
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +7 72. +9.5 75; +11 61 - Food Questi

ALexis

that's probably fine as long as you make sure you tell Nikki's body exactly what her instructions are :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

In theory, yes! In practice, I don't know. There are so many variables.....how full is the depot? Is she going to bounce? Is the moon full? Is it Tuesday on Mars? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm kind of not kidding because a diabetic friend of mine said her BG is affected by barometric pressure. :roll: :roll:

If I wanted to go and she hadn't started coming up alot, I'd either leave out lots of HC or I'd think about stalling and shooting when I got home if that is possible to be off schedule like that. (I would suggest skipping but I know you won't want to do that...I think; but it is an option). I'm really surprised she hasn't bounced by now but maybe Mr. L has decided he's done with LTS.

you have to have a life. Do what makes you feel most comfortable that she will be safe.

I hope you will go and have fun!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +7 72. +9.5 75; +11 61 - Food Questi

Augh, too many options! I know she'll eat, so I think I'm going to shoot, leave out food (she loves to eat, thank goodness). I'll be home by +5 the latest. And I will have to be out at work longer Monday and Tuesday and I can't skip every shot.... :-|

Fingers crossed. Behave Nikki!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +7 72. +9.5 75; +11 61 - Food Questi

I figured you wouldn't want to skip. See where she is at PMPS.

Good luck and have fun fun fun!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki AMPS 69; +7 72. +9.5 75; +11 61 - Food Questi

Well, she just changed my mind! PMPS was 53. Maybe flat against the 61 I got an hour ago but still dropping. I'm gonna feed LC to try and keep the bounce minimal and start again tomorrow.

Question, since I steered today with food and she's pretty close to 50, I've been thinking about reducing her to 1.5u. She hasn't quite earned it but I'm pretty sure she would if I shot tonight. Can I try it starting tomorrow AM? I know she hasn't read the book, but if I could keep her a little higher during the day while I'm at work I'd feel a lot more comfortable...
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki PMBG 53 - giving it up for the day! :)

Oh boy! We are giving the advisors a run for their money!!! :lol:

Hope you have a great time! Check in later!!
 
Re: 7/27 Nikki PMBG 53 - giving it up for the day! :)

I know I feel horrible! I'd already stalled today though and 50 is just too low for me! I'll get there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top