7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56 +7.5=68 +8=78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

We're back, and I'm thinking it's going to be another late night party for the weekend warrior, Nadia. She had high numbers all day today from the bounce from last night's lows. But tonight she's progressively dropping again. I was in a panic last night due to the storm and the newness of it all, but tonight I feel much more calm.

Can someone tell me if this sounds right...

I should only give her HC food if her test comes back BELOW 50? If above 50 I keep testing every 30 min? Or do I give LC food at 50?

I'm just waiting to test her at +3.5 (she was 75 at +3) to see how much below 75 she has dropped. I like seeing the greens, but I'm nervous as to how low she wants to take us.

I hope everyone is having a nice caturday night.

edit: Here is the earlier condo
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 PJ party #2?

Good evening Liz. Let's hold off on the HC until under 50. A little LC now would be a good idea to help Nadia surf here. A test in 30 sounds good.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 PJ party #2?

What you feed depends on when in the cycle the 50 happens. If you saw it at +3, you could feed MC food to try to stop the drop. If you see it at +4 or +5 you can try LC food, test in 30, and see how she reacts. Ideally, LC is the food of choice, but you'll just have to experiment to see how carb-sensitive she is. If you can use only LC food, the numbers don't shoot up fast, and you can be in green numbers for a long time, which is what you want if possible.

The best thing to do is keep good notes. What you fed on what kind of numbers and when in the cycle. That way, you know more what to expect if it happens again. Especially on a night like last night when you weren't sure if you were going to be able to get online with the storm going on.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 PJ party #2?

Thanks everyone. I gave her some LC food at +2, a little more at +3 and I just tested her again and shes at 58. I'm giving her a little more LC food. She's starting to turn her nose up to it though, I think she's full. Uh oh!

I'll test again in 30? Or sooner?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 PJ party #2?

I normally say "30" because I feel it takes that long to show up on the meter.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 PJ party #2?

Okay makes sense. I'll test again in 21 minutes then. :)

Have I said lately how much I appreciate you guys? I'm praying I can help Nadia get into remission. Glad she's doing this on the weekend, although I'm sure she's planning weeknight parties too.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 PJ party #2?

You want to just give 1-2 tsp at a time so you don't get her too full.

Test in 30 :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 PJ party #2?

Glad she's doing this on the weekend, although I'm sure she's planning weeknight parties too.
I don't think cats use the same calendar humans use. Cool thing about my schedule is that I get different days off every week. So my "weekend" is the two days I'm off. I work six days on, two days off. Once every 6 weeks, I get a 4 day weekend. I guess that's why I can visit PJ parties just about every day of the week. :smile: This week, I actually have the real weekend off.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 PJ party

Glad you guys are around to help!

Well, at +4 she's at 46. Made it into the 40s. Do we get out the HC gravy now? MC? I have both.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 In the 40

Time for an experiment. The first time into the 40's, try a tsp or 2 of the gravy. It's early yet in the cycle. Then test in 30. Another time you might try MC, but at this point I'm not sure we know how carb sensitive Nadia is.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 In the 40

Okay done. :) She had about 2 tsp of HC Chicken Hearts and Liver feast gravy. She practically ate the spoon.

IMG_20130728_241046_397.jpg
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 PJ Party!

Okay just tested her. At a little past 4.5 she's now at 51. More HC gravy? MC? LC?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

I think "repeat" the gravy, Liz. It didn't really bump her up. Yet.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

I agree with Carl. A little more HC as it's still the first half of the cycle. Let's get a little higher in the 50's or the 60's before moving to MC or LC.

As for loving the HC, it's amazing how much they love that stuff. My civie totally goes nuts for his share (a bit of the solids) when I break out the HC.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

Okay gave her some more. Quick question - DH is going to give her AM shot. Did this earn her a decrease to .75u? He is going to bed soon and I wanted to let him know before he hit the sack so I can sleep in. :)
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

Okay just tested again at a little past +5 (about +5.25 now) and she is at 67. More HC gravy? Did this earn her a dose decrease for her AM shot?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

Yes on the dose decrease, with one caveat. If Nadia zooms over 300 by morning, you can do something called "shooting through the bounce". That means doing a one time only shot of her old dose to help with the bounce. You'd then shoot the new lower dose in the evening. If she's lower than 300 in the morning, go with the new dose.

How about trying a little LC this time, just a couple tsp.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

Sorry Liz, the board crashed and I couldn't get back on.


First off, yes, this gets her a reduction in the AM to .75u

Instead of HC, lets see how she does with a spoon or two of LC?
Test in 30?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

No worries. It went down for me too.

Just tested again, she was at 59. I tested a second time since it was lower than the one before, and it was at 60. More LC food?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

This was +6?
Yes on the LC. :smile:
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

Yes, it was the +6. Just gave her more LC food and will be testing in 30. Fingers and paws crossed. :)
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

Okay, what have we learned tonight?

To me, it doesn't look like Nadia is hypersensitive to carbs. You fed her HC twice, and she didn't go sky high quickly.
And the LC appears to keep her surfing and flat.
That's good info to file away for future reference, I think.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +2=123 +3=75 +3.5=58 +4=46 +4.5=51

The second thing you learned was that HC lasts a little less than 2 hours. You first gave her HC at +4 and the effects had disappeared by the +6 test.

Liz - could you update the subject line of your first post with your latest results? You can remove the +2 and +3 test if you need more room. It's good to show the latest status on there. Thanks.

BTW - you are doing great tonight. :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=60

Wonderful observations, indeed! I am much more precise about my timing and food tonight than I was last night. I wanted to get some good data, and I really feel like I have (thanks to you guys!)

I just tested her again and she's surfing still at 61. More LC food?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61

Yes:-)
These are beautiful numbers, Liz, and you're handling it perfectly :smile:
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61

Thank you for the kind words. They mean a lot because I feel like I am so lost in this whole sugardance most of the time. I just want her to feel good and ideally go into remission. Praying like crazy that she will. I'm learning so much over these last two nights! at what point do I know she's okay and can go to bed with LC food down? I'm willing to stay up as long as needed, but wondering what warrants that?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61

At some point, you will want to hold off on feeding and see if the number goes up on it's own 30 minutes later.
If that happens, you can leave food out and catch some zzzzzs.

The other way is to just "abort the cycle". If it gets to a point where staying up is no longer an option, you can feed mc or hc to push the numbers up "on purpose". That boost will get you well past nadir and into the time frame where she's apt to rise until AMPS on her own.

People will sometimes do that if they have to go to bed, or have to leave the house, for instance.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61

After your next test, if she's about the same or above, don't feed her and then test again later. You want two non food influenced rising numbers before calling it a night. Alternatively, if she suddenly decides to really zoom up (over a 100) and she's only had the LC this time, she's probably going to be safe. I noticed last night at +6 she started climbing fast.

An alternate solution is to go to bed earlier, but leave some MC or HC out. She has earned her deduction tonight and you can do what's called aborting the cycle. The problem with too much high carb late in the cycle is that it can put the brakes on the insulin in the last half of the cycle and affect her morning number. However, if you need to sleep, it's an option. I often abort a night cycle with Neko if I know she's not going any lower and I want to sleep, but I try not to give it any later than +6.5. Neko often has a later nadir.

You OK for a while? I'm going to try to catch a nap for an hour before getting another test myself.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61

As much as I would love to go to sleep, I don't need to since I don't work tomorrow. I really appreciate you outlining the options for me in the event I did have to go to bed, and I will likely remember this on a weeknight when this inevitably will happen again. :) Go ahead and take a nap. If i understand what you said correctly, I'll be testing her again and if her number hasn't changed much I won't give her food this time and test again. If it goes up on it's own for two tests, I'll be going to bed myself. Unless it has already gone up over 100, then I can go to bed now, right?

I always leave her LC food out at night so I'll be doing that either way, unless I'm not supposed to. Thanks :)
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61

. If i understand what you said correctly, I'll be testing her again and if her number hasn't changed much I won't give her food this time and test again. If it goes up on it's own for two tests, I'll be going to bed myself. Unless it has already gone up over 100, then I can go to bed now, right?

Exactly. :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +4.5=51 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61

You got it! You are fine to leave LC food out to snack on, just make sure you pick it up 2 hours before shot time if possible. You don't want PS time to be influenced by food. If you or DH do get up at +10 to lift the food, a test then would be good. Then you'll have an idea where she's headed for morning PS. A test at +10 or +11 will tell you whether or not PS is a dropping number.

Night for now.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56

Okay makes sense. I just tested her again - she dropped to 56, so it's around the same, but lower. Should I proceed with no food and test in 30 min? Or LC food now?
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56

I would give the LC myself. I was hoping she make this easy on you. ;-)
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56

She's being a little stinker tonight! Okay, gave her the LC food and set the timer for 30. :)
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +4=46 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56

Just tested again - shes at 68. I'm guessing I should not feed and test again in 30. :) i sure hope so, I'm starting to pass out! ;-D
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56 +7.5=68

Don't feed and test in 30. If up any more, it's bedtime.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56 +7.5=68

Got all paws crossed on this one. Up Nadia, up please! But not too much.
 
Re: 7/27 Nadia PMPS=234 +5=67 +6=60 +6.5=61 +7=56 +7.5=68 +8

THANK YOU SO MUCH for all of the help and guidance tonight! She just tested at 78 after no food. :) sounds like I can head to bed now. Thank goodness DH is on AM duty...I need some sleep.

I am also very grateful for a cooperative kitty who may have complained a lot during the process, but ultimately let me poke her over and over and ate every time she was supposed to.

have a wonderful night/morning!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top