7/27 Musette pmps 305, +2 =271 started on new pen

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well I scaled her back last night to the .25 again since we will be getting her new insulin at 10:30-ish today, and just looking at her ss after switching her over to Maxwell's leftovers and raising it she looked to me like she was bouncing again. I figure at worse she will run a little high today but should also help her clear the rebound before starting her tonight on fresh insulin...and surprise...she started out pretty darn good this morning. At least we are back into the yellows instead of the pinks.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 7/27 Musette amps 254, +3=171 dropped dose last night

Looks like I was right to drop her down last night and again this morning...much better numbers earlier in the cycle....See I'm learning how to figure out what the numbers I'm seeing mean, and how to adjust around them <happy dance>

I'm kind of glad she is being a challenge, because what she teaches me will help with the next fd kitty. Because I already know that Maxwell and Musette are just the first two in a long line of FDs to come. When we lost Muse and I started back to school to become a vet tech, Jon and I have talked about how needless and almost criminal that Diabetes is such a death sentence for cats in shelters, yet FIVs are considered adoptable. So now our goal is to get me through school and then purchase land where we can set up a safe haven for diabetics and other special needs cats until they can be rehomed. As he is an only child and stands to inherit quite a few rental properties that we intend to either sell or rent out to pay the mortage on our "SugarLand Ranch" :-D

Funny thing is he started out as a "dog' guy but has now completely fallen in love with the cats, especially the sugarcats. He loves the fact that most of them are older and already past the climbing the curtains stage, most are already fixed, and pretty much have their personalities set. He likes the kittens okay, but he really digs our two senior sugarcats.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/27 Musette amps 254, +3=171 dropped dose last night

Good that you are learning to "read" the patterns. If I learned anything having two FDs it's that they are different! There are basics that seem to work for all, but the details are different and that makes the end decisions on dosing different. But maybe there are only a few variations and I have not "maxed out" on them yet :lol:

I agree about the adoptability of FDs and that it should not be a death sentence. I believe that is "old thinking" from the days where shooting insulin was a crap shoot (pun intended) based on little data, very fast-acting insulins, and vet obtained curves. I remember my vet saying to me, "We have a saying: there are cats with diabetes that have hypoed and those that will", meaning hypos were to be expected. And I mean Serious hypos. Well, yeah, when your best educated decisions have dosing up to 7u of vetsulin sid and no diet change from weight-management dry food!

Ugh, I can't believe what I put Beau through those first 6 months. I had my head in the sand because it was one more serious thing for him to have. But after he hypoed at the vet for a curve (on 7u) and they lowered his dose, kept lowering it based on one BG test/week there, then started raising it, I so clearly remember standing in the kitchen one morning, syringe in one hand, vial in the other, getting ready to draw the new higher dose and saying to myself, "he needs LESS not MORE". Purely instinctual because I knew next to nothing about diabetes at that point. And I started educating myself and stopped listening to my vets, who I basically like and trust - on other things.

There is a huge educational curve to overcome - both for owners AND vets. If vets didn't promote PTS to owners, if they said, "this is doable and your cat can live a normal life" or "this is doable and your cat can achieve remission with a diet change and insulin support" people would not give up on these sweet kitties so easily.

Well, more power to you! I can only save one at a time given my finances and the fact that I live in a 2-bdrm condo. You might also consider some program to manage people's cats while teaching them the basics and return the cat to them either regulated or in remission, but with clear instructions on diet change - kinda like sending the cat to rehab, lol. I sometimes see newbies here who are totally lost and stuck between what their vets says and their cat is clearly rebounding, but they won't drop the dose and I think, if I could just take their cat for a month, I could get it regulated and return it to them with a best dose so the poor cat can avoid all the crap while their person learns how to do this.... ah well, not practical.
 
Re: 7/27 Musette amps 254, +3=171 dropped dose last night

That is actually another line of thinking that Jon and I hae thought about as well as B&B for special needs while their humans vacation, also one of the reasons why I want to be a liscensed Vet Tech. so I can assure them that there is someone trained in giving meds to care for their animal while they are away. The one piece of property that we know without a doubt that we will inherit and want to keep in the family is his family home, which is directly across the street from my vet's clinic, next door to a new rescue in town and comes with a 9-car air conditioned and heated garage with an office already in it...I keep looking at that place and see holding cages, a play area and an office, for isolation for new animals. The house itself isn't all that big, but would make an excellent B & B with 24/7 vet care just right across the street...ahhh if I'm going to dream might as well dream big...lol..

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/27 Musette amps 254, +3=171 dropped dose last night

Wow Mel, SugarLand Ranch, what a great goal.

Sheila, I love the Sugar Rehab idea too. I bet there would be alot of people who would sign up for it.
 
Re: 7/27 Musette amps 254, +3=171, +6=206

Not too bad of a bounce considering her nadir is about +5 and she got into the civies food today about +4 because she decided she was starving, normally she leaves their wet food alone since she perfers to dine alone, although yesterday I caught her sharing her bowl with Lady Jane, so maybe she is also getting more social. I'm going to start her on her new pen tonight on her pm shot, so we will see what her numbers do over the next few days.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top