7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 +6.5 67 - testing advice plz!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aleven

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122383

I managed to get a +7 last night and it was 67 so not too alarming. This morning she's at 83 and I'm gonna give her 0.25. I will be around to monitor - though I don't know if I will be tonight so I may have to skip the PM shot again. Still waiting on work schedule.

Anyway, wish me luck shooting green. Will post back.
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 - shooting green today

Best of luck to you both! I hope to be doing the same soon.
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 - shooting green today

Great job shooting that 83. Come on Mottyl, surf nice and safe for your mommabean. When are you planning on taking the next test? +1, +2?
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 - shooting green today

Make sure and get a +1 and +2. It will be valuable info not only for this cycle but for decision making when faced with future green PS numbers
:cool:
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 - shooting green today

Awesome job shooting the greens!

I concur, make sure you get a couple early tests in to tell you what your day is gonna be like :)

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 - shooting green today

WOO-HOO! great job shooting green when you can monitor!

ya can't leave us hanging all day! hopefully you've been able to get a +1 and +2 to see how he responds to this dose when you shoot greens.

please update when you can - editing the subject line of the first post in this thread will make the numbers show up on the main page.
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 - shooting green today

I missed a +1 but I got a +2.5, it was 70. Seems like a safe number so far, not an intense dive from her AMPS.

What do people think are the other key readings to get? +5 and +7?
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 +2.5 70

because it's your first time shooting this low, i'd get a +4 and decide from there when to test next.

you want to be looking to catch anything under 50, both so that you can bring the BGs up and so that you know to reduce the dose if she does go under 50.
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 +2.5 70 +4.5 70

It's 4.5 and we're surfing at 70. So far so good.
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 +2.5 70 +4.5 70 +6.5 67

Her +6.5 is 67. Nice cycle! Seems like 0.25 is a good dose for now.

My question now is this: At what point can I feel "data ready" enough to leave her alone for a cycle? Either while I'm at work or when I want to give her a break from the ear pricks? I.e. tonight I have to be at work again so I will probably skip her dose because I still feel it's early in the game to leave her - even though her cycle today is going really well. And ideally I would like to able to go to work without skipping a dose - better for her and me. Opinions?

ALSO: I work out tonight but work at home for the next four days so I can really stay on top of monitoring.
 
Re: 7/27 Mottyl AMPS 84 +2.5 70 +4.5 70 +6.5 67

What a lovely cycle for Mottyl. I don't have a response to your question. For me, it took awhile to get comfortable with backing off on the testing - but mostly that was due to my personality as I'm a bit of a worrier. If you're looking for a quick response, I'd suggest you update the subject line with something like "Testing advice plz" but I'd leave Mottyl's PS & at least the latest BGs info (for those following today's cycle). Good luck tonight.
 
Hi there :cool:

That there is one purdy cycle :mrgreen:
Aleven said:
My question now is this: At what point can I feel "data ready" enough to leave her alone for a cycle?
Get as much data as you can. You'll know.
One cycle at a time. . . ;-)

For today -
Mottls liver may perceive this lovely green surf as dangerous and swing into action, releasing counter-regulatory hormones to bring the BG up to a familiar level. That's what folks around here call a 'bounce'. In that case you can spare her ears a bit.

Then again, she may not bounce.

Either way will be very telling - one more important piece of the puzzle.

Is she a good eater?
We ended up getting a 5 compartment programmable feeder , which was a lifesaver. I feed BK around the clock every 4 hours.
BK lives in a separate building (my office) out back. I spent many nights sleeping there on a futon. The timed feeder gave me peace of mind enough to be able to sleep in my own bed.
 
Mottyls good appetite is a plus. :cool:
Has she always been a 'full figured' girl?

So, do you have some sort of schedule for feeding?
What amount does she eat at which times?
Is she a 'grazer' or a 'hoover' ?
 
i'm not sure there's a perfect answer to your question. i agree with Sandy in that food is your friend in caring for a diabetic cat when you work. i had the same feeder as Sandy, the PetSafe 5 Compartment Feeder. The complaints you'll see online about it are that it doesn't open. My experience was that as long as you have the feeding tray fully seated in the base unit, it always rotated appropriated and always opened all the way.

Here's a discussion with some opinions about timed feeders.

If a cat's BGs go below 50, you give them food. So when you go off to work, you're going to predict what Mottyl might do in the next few hours. Set the timed feeder to open based upon your predictions. if she's a cat that you can count on eating, that's a good thing.

Some people adjust their shot time so they can get a +2 before they go out the door. That gives you the little heads-up about what the cycle might bring. Punkin's nadir was regularly about +5.5, so we always fed him a second breakfast at +3. If his preshot was low and we thought he might need help, we set the timed feeder to go off at +3, +3.5, +4 and +4.5. Then either my husband or I would jet home from work, test him and reset it with more food if needed. I have thought people could get a second feeder and just set it to go every half hour if they couldn't come home to test. just a thought.

the timed feeders make a lot of noise when they rotate or open, so it's worth getting Mottyl used to it when you're home so you can count on her accepting it and eating from it when you need her to.
 
Mottyl was approx. 3 years old and 13 pounds when I got her from a rescue - she was big then and she's stayed big, in spite of my efforts, including leash walks (THAT was a sight to behold). So I assume she's always been a fatcat and probably always will be, though I'm doing my best to help her slowly lose a couple pounds to help with the FD. I feed her a can of Purina DM a day. Half of it with her AM and PM shots, and the rest in little meals throughout the day if I'm home. If I'm going to be at work I leave a big blob out for her. She self-regulates pretty well - usually eats a bit, leaves some, comes back to finish it later. Though when I get home she's always meowing like a maniac so I assume she eats most of it early in the day.

Thanks for the info on timed feeders - will look into one. Mottyl's generally very uncatlike in her lack of skittishness, so I doubt a loud noise would discourage her from eating.

(Also, Julie, the name the rescue gave her was Pumpkin. I renamed her but she'll always be a little Pumpkin.)

Edited: Ugh sorry I just noticed I'm posting in yesterday's thread and bumping it needlessly to the top. Sorry! If anyone has responses please put them in the thread for 7/28.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top