7/27 Morgaine,+6 127,PMPS 145 High lipids article

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Another 203 this AMPS. Morgaine sure does like to go up in the AM. I stayed up and tested her through +6 last night as I was concerned she might drop but she is certainly consistent. Hoping for some good numbers today although I know a new dose may mean that won't happen. I won't be able to test her until +6. We have been struggling again with those ear pricks. They do not seem to want to give blood and it takes several attempts. She gets frustrated and I feel horrible continuing to poke those little ears but we persist.
 
Re: 7/27 Morgaine AMPS 203

skybar22 said:
She gets frustrated and I feel horrible continuing to poke those little ears but we persist.

Persistence ! Right up there with Patience, and we can't forget Perseverance! ;-)
(my father referred to them as "the 3 Ps".)

Morgaine, the cool colors are much more flattering on you than the warm ones. . .

Sending blue/green vines your way. . .
(Is she blue yet??)
 
Re: 7/27 Morgaine AMPS 203

(Is she blue yet??)

yes, 127 at +6. She does usually come down pretty fast.

I put ointment on her ears and gave her a break for a few hours. We both needed that. She is doing fine right now. Had herself a nice kitty bath, self groomed of course and washed her pretty face with those lovely paws. She then sat up pretty, paws crossed in front of her and waited for her ear poke and +6 snack. Content kitty now!
 
Re: 7/27 Morgaine AMPS 203,+6 127

Not such bad numbers indeed! It is typical for AMPS to be the last to come down. I think that everyone here has found that to be true. Sorry to hear that it is difficult to get the blood drop, but you have handled it in just the right way and Morgaine knows it, too. Smart kitty!
Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/27 Morgaine AMPS 203,+6 127

It is typical for AMPS to be the last to come down.

I have been thinking back on this to when I was on Lantus and I also had what we called the "dawn effect", a rise in BGs in the AM. In fact, my BG does go up all by itself in the AM no matter what it is when I get up. I always just give myself a small 1 unit bolus to cover this. It seems to be a very common phenomenon even among humans.

What concerned me was that she was 120 one AMPS and I thought she might dive with her usual dose but she didn't. BG testing is so important as we never really do know what to expect. I do get this because of my own experiences with it all. I test myself 8-10 times per day. You all should see my finger tips. They are black and blue and I now use the palms of my hands. I was telling Morgaine how we shared something very personal now and that I totally understand how she feels. Why yes, she does understand me. :lol:

I was also reading some of the Queensland research. There are some articles in addition to the protocol. I came across some info about high triglycerides creating insulin resistance and I think this may be part of why Morgaine seems to need just a little more as we move up the dosing scale. I am sure, at some point, we will reach the correct dose for her to stay in the normal range and hopefully heal. As I have said, I am just grateful she is not going higher with BGs. We can live with this for a while.

I will try to find the link to the study I was reading about triglycerides and will post it here.
 
Re: 7/27 Morgaine AMPS 203,+6 127

that sounds interesting! when you find the article would you mention it in the subject line so i remember to come and read it? do blood tests check triglycerides in cats when you have a full panel done?
 
Re: 7/27 Morgaine AMPS 203,+6 127

julie1220 said:
that sounds interesting! when you find the article would you mention it in the subject line so i remember to come and read it? do blood tests check triglycerides in cats when you have a full panel done?
My vets have both gotten the triglycerides along with the cholesterol but they may have done a more complete panel than the basic one. I think they did one for senior cats but i am not sure. The most recent blood work was specifically done to check her fasting triglycerides along with pancreas and other issues.

I do know that both vets and Dr. Lisa wondered what came first with Morgaine, the high triglycerides or the diabetes. Right now we are working on both.

I do know that high lipids effect type 2 diabetes in humans and do make some people insulin resistant so I am sure the same holds true for cats. Since I know Morgaine's triglycerides are really high, I just think it must have some impact on her diabetes. When her triglycerides doubled her diabetes flared up. Last year, when first diagnosed, she was controlled by diet alone. Her triglycerides were still very high but not as high as they were this past June.

I have to go back and search all of the articles I saved to find the link but I will post it in the subject of whatever condo I am on when I find it.
 
Re: 7/27 Morgaine AMPS 203,+6 127

Here is the article about the insulin resistance and high lipids. I was mistaken. It wasn't from the Queensland study group. I had googled insulin resistance and came upon this:

High levels of circulating triglycerides (fats) interferes with the binding of insulin to the cells it needs to act upon. While most dogs with excess circulating lipids are not diabetic, when a diabetic patient is insulin resistant it may be helpful to attempt to reduce the circulating fats. Excess lipids in the blood usually occurs because of some other hormone imbalance (Cushing’s disease, hypothyroidism in dogs etc.) but can simply happen spontaneously in the miniature schnauzer. Circulating fats are reduced by treating the hormone imbalance that caused them if there is one. If there is no underlying disease, circulating lipids can be reduced with diet and omega 3 fatty acid supplementation.

http://www.marvistavet.com/html/body_th ... e_pet.html
 
Interesting article, thanks for posting those.

When you poke, do you use the inside of the ear? I've found that to be much easier to work with.
 
Nina and KB said:
Interesting article, thanks for posting those.

When you poke, do you use the inside of the ear? I've found that to be much easier to work with.
yes I always do as her ears are black.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top