7/27 Miss Kitty AMPS 394

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday

Now I'm not sure what to do. Last night she hit an all time low of 36 and I was planning on increasing her dose this weekend, but now maybe I should decrease. I left her dose the same this morning anticipating a big bounce and sure enough, she was up there.
 
Re: 7/27 Miss Kitty AMPS 394 increasing dose help please

A drop below 40 always means a dose reduction even in a longer term diabetic cat. However, you're AMPS looks like a bounce. You can "shoot through the bounce" -- in other words, shoot your old dose (the 2.25u) to help Miss Kitty clear the bounce. If you're able to grab any spot checks, I'd try to do so. It's helpful to know how quickly the bounce is clearing. You can reduce the dose to 2.0u tonight.

I do have a couple of thoughts on your SS. There are 5 cycles with no dose (7/17 - 7/19). Could you put a notation in the "Remarks" section that you didn't shoot or something that reflects what was going on? If Miss Kitty didn't get insulin, her insulin depot has probably refilled.

I want to encourage you to get spot checks whenever you can -- especially if you've shot a green number. I'm really wondering if Miss Kitty has been in dose reduction territory before last night. For example, if it were me, I would have gotten an additional test after seeing the 52 on the the night of 7/21. Your SS really looks like Miss Kitty has been working up to a dose reduction.
 
Re: 7/27 Miss Kitty AMPS 394 increasing dose help please

Ok. Those blank spots are because my computer's hard drive died and I was without a computer for a few days, and by the time I got the new one, I lost the paper I had written down her info on. I should note that on the ss I guess, but she got all her insulin those days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top