7/27 Mickey AMPS 92, NO SHOT (vet rec), 389 +3, 467 +6

wjamyers

Member Since 2022
I should have done more reading here:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

We hadn't seen a number as low as 92 since this started, it freaked me out and I was afraid to give him the 2.0 we'd been doing.

My vet was not in, so, on the phone, relayed info back and forth a different vet through reception. They recommended no shot and now Mickey's numbers are through the roof.

Previously, when we did 1.5, that didn't get a good AMPS after 3 days, 2.0 got us to 92. Not sure whether to go back to 2 tonight or go with 1.5. My wife is saying 2.0, I'm thinking how about trying for 1.75 even with these 1-IU-increment syringes?

A precise 1.75 will be impossible to do with the syringes we got from Chewy. I relied on their "Frequently Bought Together" to choose when we bought the insulin and fine dosing is nearly impossible:

upload_2022-7-27_14-56-59.png



Any advice for how to proceed tonight?
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-27_14-56-59.png
    upload_2022-7-27_14-56-59.png
    196.2 KB · Views: 63
You are new to lantus so skipping was definitely an option. You can also stall WITHOUT FOOD and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if the bg has come up. You don’t have any night tests which makes to hard to give advice. It’s necessary to test before every shot both cycles. You need to hold a dose for 3 days (6 cycles) before increasing. IF you will test at night and also get a minimum of two tests each cycle I would go back to 1.5 and hold the dose for 6 cycles. See if you can shoot every cycle for 3 days. If under 200, stall, don’t feed and ask for dosing advice. If you can’t get the required tests then you should follow SLGS and reduce if a bg is under 90.

Get syringes with half unit markings. 3/10 cc 3/8” 31 gauge needle.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...tic-shorthair-gray-tabby.266082/#post-2978715
 
Back
Top