7/27 Max +0.75 (100) +1.25 (122) +2 (150) +4(284)

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Last night went like this: Pmps(107) +2(76) +3(67) +4(57) +4.5(71) +5.5(59) +6(60) +7(70) +8(68). This morning at +11.75 he's at 81. Wish I'd been able to get a +11. I left food out for him in case something happened after +8, and he ate it. Don't know when, but there is still a lot left. He's a nibbler. So, even stalling won't be very easy. His shot time is 9 am. It's 9 now. (Please ignore the timing of my post; my computer doesn't have the current time set.) What should I do?

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75780
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 Please help with dosing.

Dale,
Did you shoot? If so, can you get a +2 so you can see where this cycle might be heading?
Carl
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 Please help with dosing.

sorry, Dale. I'm off and on the Board.

It looks like numbers are heading up. If you're comfortable, go ahead and test and if numbers are still heading up, shoot.

Whatever the number it is when you shoot, that's your AMPS. Your PM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot. We can work the time to get you back on schedule.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80)

:razz: Yeah, I thought you might be busy, Sienne. I expected to shoot. I waited until 1/2 hour after PS, and decided that that delay would be enough. No problem with getting back on track with time. He's doing fine. Thanks, Carl, I'll get a +1 and +2, and who knows how many more. Maybe I should do a curve or I'll end up with one anyway.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80)

Ufta! :shock: (that's up north slang for OMG! or Whoa! :lol: ).
You two had quite the night, with a great slide into the a.m.

I will be around on/off for a few hrs. if you need anything.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47)

Ha, ha, Carolyn, yeah, we did. I'm sooo tired. I set my alarm for +9, but I guess I turned it off in my sleep. Scary. I'm sure I wouldn't have even fallen asleep if he was very low. Am I right that a 47 is usually a 77 on a pet meter?
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47)

Feed the 40's Dale...please.
Feed 1-2tsp gravy and retest in 15min.
Please post after that. I will be looking for it.
You are way too early in the cycle to be in the 40's
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47)

Ok, thanks, Carolyn. I gave him a teaspoon of Hills k/d which is 29% carbs, and I'll test him soon.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47)

It's been almost 30 min since your last test. I would test now. If he is below 50, give him 1 more tsp and retest in another 15.

What +hr are you at right now?

Are you taking care of Emma at the moment as well?

You may need to keep doing this for a while, Dale (testing/feeding every 15-20 min). I'm sorry.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47)

Dale? Any tests? We need to make sure Max is out of the 40s or not dropping lower. +2, remember is typically when onset BEGINS with lantus

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47) +3(53)

Thanks for your concern. I'm doing okay with this so far in terms of having the time to spend on him. Emma's corralled, fed, and happy. He's at 53 15 minutes after the k/d. Not much of a rise?

Edit: no need to be sorry; I am prioritizing this right now and this is the drill if I'm going to get him well.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47) +3(53)

Because you are so early in the cycle, and just hovering over 50 (likely due to food) you need to:
feed 1 more tsp of hc food or gravy, then retest in 15-20 min and post the numbers.
See you in 15-20 min, Dale.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47) +3(53) +3.5(

Now we have 69 at almost +3.5. Any ideas on whether to feed him more or check him in 15 or in 30?

The little rat -- he wouldn't touch the Wellness when I brought it to his chair at +2, and I gave him roasted chicken after that. However, when I gave him the Hills k/d he gobbled it up both times very hungrily. He would have eaten more if I had let him, but I think you need to be careful to not give too much, true? Just manage the situation, but don't send the BG soaring?
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47)

See below for what I posted earlier on handling low numbers.
If it were me, I would feed another tsp and test in about 30 min.

Just to be clear, Max has earned a dose reduction by going into the 40's. :thumbup

I will check back in and look for new numbers in 30 minutes. See ya then!!!

carolynandlatte said:
Dale? Any tests? We need to make sure Max is out of the 40s or not dropping lower. +2, remember is typically when onset BEGINS with lantus

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47) +3(53) +3.5(

He earned a dose reduction? Wow. I wonder how much -- back to 2.5 or something in between?

Ok, another teaspoon of k/d and testing at 1:30 p.m.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMPS 81 +0.5(111) +1.25(80) +2(47) +3(53) +3.5(

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

i'm not sure if there is enough information on Max to determine if he can 'hold a reduction' or not. If he were my cat, I would go with the full .25u reduction. Maybe someone else will chime in with a different thought on that.

And yes, regarding your question with food...you do not want to overfeed. Imagine if you have to give him a tsp of food every 15 minutes for 3-4hrs (or longer). You need him to be able to eat the food AND keep it down. If numbers are steady or continue to rise slightly, you may want to choose a food with a little less carbs than the 20%. Do you have any fancy feast gravy lovers?

I am glad Emma is happy! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMP 81 +0.5(111)+1.25(80)+2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4

Ok, thanks. I wouldn't have considered Max to be a newly diagnosed diabetic, but I guess he is. He's at 79 right now at +4.

It's time for her nap, so she's a little less happy now, but :-|

It's good that you told me to use the new diabetic procedure. What should I do with the spreadsheet? Move the 81 back to the +11 slot, and the 111 into the Amps slot, etc? Or just make a notation? That's probably better.

I should keep feeding him now after he had 53, 69 and then 79? but use a lower carb food. I don't have FF unfortunately. Just k/d and Wellness. I do have Wellness Beef and Chicken.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMP 81 +0.5(111)+1.25(80)+2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4

Super! Maybe hold off on the food and test again in 30 min....OR....give a tsp of low carb. You still have a couple hours until "nadir", which I can't seem to see on Max :lol: . SOmeone else may see it though. Just don't get complacent. Keep testing because he may wobble up and down for a bit.

I have to leave in about 40 minutes. I will check in one more time for your next test. Hopefully someone else will be around to help you out at that point. If not, review the handling low numbers, which I posted in your condo and are also listed as a sticky on top of the page.

Have a good nap Emma!
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMP 81 +0.5(111)+1.25(80)+2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4

Thanks, Carolyn. A question for later: What should I do with the spreadsheet? Move the 81 back to the +11 slot, and the 111 into the Amps slot, etc? Or just make a notation? That's probably better, right?
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMP 81 +0.5(111)+1.25(80)+2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4

Couple of things....

First, what meter are you using? You don't have a Profile set up for Max and there's nothing in your signature line. You asked if a 47 is like a 77 on a "pet" meter. The AlphaTrack or other meters that are calibrated for animals is roughly 30 points higher than the results you'd get on a human meter. So if numbers below 50 get a reduction on a human glucometer, non-human glucometers need to read 80 or below.

If the number you actually got prior to shooting was the 111, you can move the 81 to the +11 column from last night and mark it at 81 at +12. (Look at Gabby's SS for an example.) You will need to manually change the color coding. Or, you can make a note in the remarks section. I tend to like to see the numbers in the hour columns because I can forget and not look at the comments and then I get confused!

Max is considered newly diagnosed. Any cat that's within a year of diagnosis is "newly" diagnosed.

So, based on today's numbers, Max's dose gets reduced to 2.5u. If he bounces sky high, you can shoot your old dose (2.75u) tonight and reduce tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/27 Max AMP 81 +0.5(111)+1.25(80)+2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4

max&emmasmommie said:
Thanks, Carolyn. A question for later: What should I do with the spreadsheet? Move the 81 back to the +11 slot, and the 111 into the Amps slot, etc? Or just make a notation? That's probably better, right?

Your AMPS is whatever # you got right before shooting insulin.

I have to scoot until later tonight. There are others around. If you need anything ask...(make sure your need for help is reflected in your original subject title).

Hopefully he will surf away! Really great numbers the last few cycles. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/27 Max +1.25(80)+2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4(79)+4.75(91)

Thank you, Sienne and Carolyn! I use a Relion. I was asking about the 77 because the number reminds me that we were not near hypo numbers for a cat. I understand that you are Preventing a hypo by using the procedures, but it just made me feel better to think of the pet meter numbers while I was dealing with this.

That's odd. I put info in the signature line regarding the meter, food, etc. I can see it. I wonder why you can't?

This is what it says: DLH, 16 yoa; Dx 2-3-12; Wellness Chicken: Lantus: ReliOn Meter; CRF out of remission 6/20/12: BUN: 58; Creat.: 2.64

How many of the rest of you can't see that?

Ok, I'm going to hold off on food this time and test again at +5.25. If anyone thinks I should give another tsp of Wellness, let me know. Thanks.
 
Re: 7/27 Max +2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4(79)+4.75(91)+5.25(106)

There! 106 I'm giving him a plate of Wellness, and I'm going to try to nap for a 1/2 hr.
 
Re: 7/27 Max +2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4(79)+4.75(91)+5.25(106)

Hi Dale

Great job last night and today. Max's SS is looking much better. His dose for tonight will be 2.5u. Congrats on the reduction!

max&emmasmommie said:
I'll hope to get some answers tomorrow about how to find nadir. I get the idea that I need to know when it is before I can really expect data on +1s, +2s and +10s and +11s to be useful in keeping him regulated. How I'm going to find it when he's rarely having a real curve is the mystery. For instance, on 6/25 his Amps and Pmps were nearly the same and his +6 was the lowest number. However, the numbers are all so close together, they probably don't mean anything at all. In addition, the night before the Pmps was in the Black, and the next day Amps was in the Red. On 7/15, his lowest number was at +7, but he started in the Red and ended in the Yellow. That's two examples. I don't do curves very often because Max seems to be bouncing or clearing a bounce nearly all the time. Is there any way I can get data regardless? Will doing a curve randomly once a week without regard to the bouncing be of any use?

On 6/25, he was flat flat flat. I don't see a nadir there and my guess is he was bouncing from a low number that wasn't detected on one of the previous cycles. It looks to me like he cleared the bounce on the evening of 6/26 and gave you a low PS on 6/27.

On 7/15, again, fairly flat. I think part of the reason his numbers look so odd was because you were being inconsistent with shooting and the dose. That causes numbers to get really wonky. I know we discussed it before and you've been doing a fabulous job since!! And look what the consistency has done :-D :-D :-D :-D He looks like a different cat!

It can be difficult to spot a nadir on a bouncy cat because, you are right, they are either clearing a bounce or starting one. When they clear bounces, often they zoom down and just keep going down unless you manage it with food so it's hard to spot the nadir. Let's see how it might appear in the next several cycles if he doesn't bounce. Paws crossed!!!
 
Re: 7/27 Max +2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4(79)+4.75(91)+5.25(106)

Dale, what a wonderful job you did through all this with Max! Congratulations on the dose reduction! Hope you can get some sleep tonight!

Suze
 
Re: 7/27 Max +2(47)+3(53)+3.5(69)+4(79)+4.75(91)+5.25(106)

Thanks Marjorie and Suze! Well, I took a nap, and right after I lay down my husband tested Max and got 98. We thought he was stable. I woke up 2 1/2 hours later and Max was at 44. Oh, I'm definitely going to give 2.5 tonight.

So here we go again. He's up to 54 now after eating. I'm giving him another teaspoon. We left food out, but it wasn't surrounded by a moat this time and the ants found it.

It is really confusing to have shot time on the 1/2 hour. It is so hard to keep it all straight when you are testing every 15 minutes and you have the 1/2 hour being the top of the hour. I've been really frustrated.

I suppose it's a part of the healing process, but it's strange that only a couple of weeks ago he was getting Blacks and Reds on 2.5, and now he has to have a reduced dose to that same dose. "Breakthrough dose" was 2.75! You called it, Marjorie!
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8 (44) +8.5 (54) +9 (63) Question?

Hey, everyone. What number should I see by +10 in order to withhold food until Pmps or is that just not a good idea after a day like this? I'll be giving 2.5. Also, what number at Pmps is too low to shoot? If I stall, what number do I need to see before I shoot?

EDITED: It's 7:30 now which is 2 hours before shot time at 9:30 tonight. Max at just a little while ago - Wellness with little bits of Hills m/d smeared on top to make it tasty and more likely he would eat before 7:30. I'll get a +10 and a +11.

EDITED: At +10.2 he's at 100.
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8 (44) +8.5 (54) +9 (63) +9.5 (84) Question?

Hi Dale,
Sorry you have not had your question answered yet. I am not sure I can answer it perfectly, but I will try to help.

First and foremost, you do NOT want to shoot a dropping number.
It seems as of right now the only thing keeping max out of the 40's is feeding him. When you stopped feeding/testing you caught him back down there. Are you feeding at each of the current tests (+9/+9.5?).

If this were my cat, I would want to see 2-3 consecutive rises NOT food induced before I shoot any insulin.
If numbers are dropping, I would keep doing the test/feed/test every 15-30 minutes.

Regarding what number to shoot (or not shoot)?
How tired are you? Can you stay up all night?
What kind of supplies do you have (strips, karo, HC/MC food)
Can you do this without support, as there may not be as many people online?

I can't believe this little guy has not bounced to the sky yet!
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8(44) +8.5(54) +9(63) +9.5(84) +10(100) uestio

I can't believe he hasn't bounced yet either. Well I fed him at +9.75. So what time would the first number be "not influenced by food?" Is it 2 hours after eating? No, after I got the 100 I decided to let him go until PMPS without food as long as I don't see another drop. If I have to wait until 2 hours after eating to start counting the increasing BGs then I can't shoot at 9:30 pm. If I get a 3 consecutive rises, it will be around +13 before I can shoot. I guess that's just the way it goes.

No, I can't stay up again tonight unless I absolutely have to. I have a terrible headache, and it's been a hard day. I was up until 3 last night and then got up again at 4 and 5. I woke up at about 8:45 a.m. and only had a 2 hour nap. Yes, I have all the supplies.
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8(44) +8.5(54) +9(63) +9.5(84) +10(100) uestio

I think it is really important to distinguish between a dropping number and a second dip.

A dropping number often occurs when kitty is clearing a bounce and numbers continue to decrease all day from AMPS into PMPS. There is no clear nadir. Actually, for experienced members with good data on their cat and who know their cat's onset, nadir, and duration and whether their cat gets a food spike, shooting a dropping number is not an issue and can give some really nice overlap.

A second dip often occurs with lantus. You will see a nadir and then numbers rise, and then drop again close to the next PS but not as low as the nadir. There is no problem shooting a second dip but you, of course, need to get a +1 and a +2.

I'd definitely reduce his dose tonight to 2.5u; let's see what PS he gives you. I'd say if he's surfing or still going up, just shoot the 2.5u on time; if he's gone WAY up....into the 250+ range, you might want to think about shooting through the bounce with the 2.75u. That's your call and your comfort level, Dale. If he's less than 100, don't feed, post, and let's figure out what's going on.

Sound like a plan?

Love it when my crystal ball works ;-) ;-) ;-)

Oh...btw....on your SS, the squares that have two numbers and aren't colored in....does that mean you tested and retested or are those numbers the hour and half hour tests? If it is the latter, then you can list them like this (looking at your +3 column from this morning): "53; 69 @ 3.5". You might have to manually color in the block. You can look at Gracie's SS to see how I've done these. Also, it would help to have the numbers in the blue boxes in white because you can barely see the black ones :-D

You two are doing fabulous!!
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8(44) +8.5(54) +9(63) +9.5(84) +10(100) uestio

I would stop feeding, but test every 30-60 min before shot time. UNLESS he drops below 50. Then you have to feed/retert/feed/etc.etc

If shot time is a rising number than its your descretion. If no one is around to help, remember it is better to be conservative for safety reasons.
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8(44) +8.5(54) +9(63) +9.5(84) +10(100) uestio

There's no reason for you to stay up tonight. Max got a reduction based on this morning's numbers. You can't reduce him twice!! If his numbers start to drop tonight, it's fine to abort the cycle by feeding him HC.
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8(44)+8.5(54)+9.5(84)+10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136

Okay, let me see if I understand. If his Pmps is higher than 136, and I shoot 2.5 tonight on time, I'll be shooting a rising number. I should get a +1 and a +2 as Marjorie said. Is it true that it's very unlikely that I'll be up dealing with a low number problem until midnight or 3 am? If I get a number higher than even 100 it's safe to shoot because this is a second dip. I could skip the dose and guarantee that I won't have to be up, but I'll be losing momentum. It seems that with a 140 or so at Pmps, I should, in theory, be okay to get some sleep because its so much higher than the 107 I shot last night. (I wouldn't be surprised if that's not right because of this or that which I don't know about.)

I did stop feeding before +10. He had a little chicken as a treat when he tested at 100. He wanted to eat at +11, but we are waiting.

Btw, You all are just great, and I hope you know how much everyone on this board loves you!
 
Re: 7/27 Max +8(44)+8.5(54)+9.5(84)+10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136

Dale

Thank you :-D

A second dip would be if he came back down from where he is now but not as low as his nadir and, yes, it would be safe to shoot. I don't think that you are going to see that but never say never.

Here's where my crystal ball gets fuzzy.....just because you shoot a rising number doesn't mean he won't come back down when he onsets. It just means this mornings shot has worn off. When he onsets, he could come back down.

You could skip if you are exhausted. You have to take care of you, too. Or you could shoot, and if he comes back down by bedtime, do what Sienne suggested....feed HC and abort the cycle. Because we don't at PMPS if he will go up or down, you can shoot and get insulin in him in case he goes up. If he comes down, feed HC.

Does that help?
 
Re: 7/27 +10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136) Pmps (113) Dropped! Shoo

Yes, Marjorie. That makes sense. He's above 100 so I can give 2.5u and then test at +1 and +2. If he drops very much, I'll give him HC. Thanks!!!!! Carolyn, do you think that will be okay, too?
 
Re: 7/27 +10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136) Pmps (113) Dropped! Shoo

So he did get a second dip..... :lol:

I'd shoot, get a +1 and +2 and I f he's coming back down, feed HC. I'll be up and will check on you in one hour, ok?
 
Re: 7/27 +10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136) Pmps (113) +12.25(138)

Ok. I waited 15 minutes just because that 113 bothered me. I didn't feed him. Now I get 138, and I'm giving 2.5u. I'll get a +1 in a hour. Thanks, all.

EDITED: Partial fur shot. Oh, well!
 
Re: 7/27 +10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136) Pmps (113) Dropped! Shoo

max&emmasmommie said:
Yes, Marjorie. That makes sense. He's above 100 so I can give 2.5u and then test at +1 and +2. If he drops very much, I'll give him HC. Thanks!!!!! Carolyn, do you think that will be okay, too?

Hi Dale,
From the looks of the ss BG numbers and the comments on all the frequent foods fed, you definitely need to reduce the dose.

High carb food may bring up the BG, but it wears off fast so 30-45min down the road, if the BG has not continued to rise but rather starts to drop down again like you were seeing, you need to keep feeding to fight the dropping numbers. And that's no 2nd dip.... it's the high carb food wearing off and the BG falling again.

With all the feedings, your ps numbers are pretty much useless as they are just food influenced. ..... food wears off, down go the numbers. Also keep in mind that after such an extended period of low BG numbers, all that high carb could make max's stomach awfully upset, and some cats are more sensitive to their insulin after such low numbers.

FEED the 40's ..... very important, and don't just assume that the BG will come up and stay up.
He's dropping because the food is wearing off.... so it's up to you if you want to shoot tonite or not, but skipping may have you up in the nosebleed section, so you can always go with a token dose of just 2u and then see where you are in the morning. You definitely want to get a +2 and also a before bed test tonite.

One suggestion for on your ss.... you can add the food info in the field with the BG and then people will know what amount of food was given at what time. That way, it will be clear that the wearing off of the spoons of food are causing the zig zag numbers, and not a string of dips.
 
Re: 7/27 +10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136) Pmps (113) +12.25(138)

Thank you for chiming in Gayle, and good idea on the food notations on the spreadsheet. Yes, I guess eating the high carb food would be like us having a hamburger and french fries after weeks of salad. Ugh!
 
Re: 7/27 +10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136) Pmps (113) +12.25(138)

max&emmasmommie said:
Thank you for chiming in Gayle, and good idea on the food notations on the spreadsheet. Yes, I guess eating the high carb food would be like us having a hamburger and french fries after weeks of salad. Ugh!

I think 24hrs on the gravies would be like a whole day in a candy shop for a kid and saying eat all that you want!
Don't be surprised if he hurls or seems off food and just says nope, no more.... that's why you have to be careful you don't fill him up.... numbers drop again and you try to get him to eat and he refuses. then you are forced to feed karo or somethiing that starts working in 15min but is gone in 25min.

Pats for Max; I hope he settles in nicely with his new lower dose.
 
Re: 7/27 +10(100)+11(131)+11.5(136) Pmps (113) +12.25(138)

He hadn't been fed in more than two hours so the 113 was not due to food wearing off. He went UP without food, and then back down. AND if you factor in meter variance, the 136 and 113 are just about the same number.

Also...feeding the 40s depends on where you are in the cycle. From "How to Deal with Low Preshots":
When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
Yes...during a cycle, you want to feed the 40s. You may not need HC to bring them up from the 40s.
 
Re: 7/27 +0.75 (100)

You're right, Gayle. He didn't eat like he usually does at PS, and he's not very interested now. He ate some roast chicken about 15 minutes ago, but didn't want to finish. There is still a piece sitting in front of him.

I think he was rising from the insulin wearing off there in the last hour of the cycle, but he does seem to have an upset stomach. Oh, boy. I hope I don't wish I'd skipped this dose, but we have to take some risks sometimes.
 
Re: 7/27 +0.75 (100)

Dale

It's ok....just breathe. His PMPS and +.75 are the same number. I'll be up for your next test. One at a time, ok?
 
Re: 7/27 +0.75 (100) +1.25 (122)

Ok, Marje. I'm just tired. I know I can handle this, but I wish I could go to sleep for more than 45 minutes. Oh, well. This is being a mommie. I'll encourage him to eat again EDITED: . . . and he ate low carb food at +1.5. Good! Relaxing now.
 
Re: 7/27 +0.75 (100) +1.25 (122)

(((Dale))) believe me....I totally understand. You are doing a great job. I know it's only 45 minutes till +2 but can you lie down just for that time?

I'll check in for your +2, ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top