? 7/27 - Macka - AMPS 575, +3 399, +5 335, PMPS 380, +5 293 New dose tomorrow?

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
Macka seems to be bouncing from yesterday (PMPS was 736).
I was wondering if I should increase to 1.75 tomorrow. It's going to be 7 days on the 1.5 units.
During the week he went into the blues a few times, and I bet more times than I could test (for example yesterday, I am pretty sure he went in the lower 100s). He went under 150 once (141), which is why I am not sure if I should increase the dose or not according to SLGS protocol. He also bounced a lot as usual, and I understand these bouncing are not relevant for a new dose assessment.

I can monitor him tomorrow but I might not be home all day. Same with Monday.
On Tuesday, I have to perfom a curve for the new vet (1 week after starting the steroids for his IBD), so I am a little hesitant.

What should I do? What do you think? Thanks!
 
Last edited:
I think you need to try to get him out of those reds and blacks. Only an increase will do that. Plus as you pointed out, tomorrow you can monitor. And any new dose Wonkiness should be out of his system on Tuesday if you increase tomorrow. The curve will be more indicative of what he can do, if you increase tomorrow.

I only see one 141 on there, his nadirs (plural) are otherwise all higher than that. We don’t make dosing decisions by what might have happened. And you test more than most on SLGS, so we have a good idea what his current dose is doing.
 
I wonder if the reds and blacks are due to an infection maybe? The other spreadsheets that I could see on this forum with similar very high numbers were almosst always belonging to kitties with underlying conditions, am I correct? But of course, I want to get him out of them ASAP. I'll try.
 
I will monitor him more closely tonight, starting with a +2.

A few things happened today that caught my attention:
- I saw him play in the garden with bugs and branches. He can't stay on his legs to much, but he was hyper and very playful despite laying on his side.
- I opened a window and he stood on his hind legs to look through it. Did it three times. I so hope he's getting some strength in his legs back!
- He ate a little more than usual at PM time (2/3 can vs 1/2)
And now this curious PMPS?
 
Looks like the bounce continues tonight and you can sleep.

We dose based primarily on how low the dose takes the cat, not the preshots. I would still increase. It is nice to see a lower preshot, but it still well above renal threshold.
 
Looks like the bounce continues tonight and you can sleep.
Actually, I used a ketones-diastix strip, and the glucose reading was negative! My understanding is that it means Macka was under the renal threshold during the afternoon before his last pee? Ohhh I don't know....
 
Back
Top