? 7/27 Luna - AMPS=239; +3=85 pmps=356 dosing advice please

K8&Luna

Member Since 2019
Hi,
This is the end of our first full week bg testing and i did a curve today. I'm not really sure which dosing method to use, but as i work full time I'm thinking slgs? Also, because the curve went below 90, should I decrease dose? I have 3/10 syringe with only 1 unit markings (Canada) and am not sure how accurate a 0.25 reduction would be?
Luna's curve also hit nadir at +3. That's early right? What does that mean? Sorry for all of the questions. ..
 
Sorry no one answered your questions. Yes if you are following SLGS you would reduce the dose. Are you able to get syringes with half unit markings? That makes measuring the in between doses easier.

Are you able to get any night time tests in? If you don't have any night time tests you are only getting half the picture. Most of us try to at least get a before going to sleep test.
 
Hi,

I am sorry no one responded to you yesterday. Looks like you took that reduction, which made sense. I was wondering why you had started on such a high dose and went and looked at history and saw the vet had you starting high and increasing at a rate that did not seem safe as was mentioned in the beginning.

At this point, I want to try to find some people to assist with dosing. Also some people from Canada may have advice on syringes with 1/2 unit markings available there.

@Wendy&Neko , @Marje and Gracie @Bobbie And Bubba
 
Hello from BC. Here is the link to your previous post, which we include so people can easily go back and see the history. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/luna-7-26-low-amps-preshot-103.217337/

Many people follow TR and work full time, so you don’t have to follow SLGS, but of course you can if you would prefer. You can also start with one method and switch later. In the dosing methods sticky note there is a link to doing TR with a full time job. There are tips in there that will help, no matter which dosing method you decide on. Putting either SLGS or TR in your signature can help us help you.

If you are following SLGS, you would lower the dose by 0.25 units to 2.25 units. Head out to your nearest pharmacy and get some BD Ultrafine II syringes, the purple and yellow box. They have half unit markings,
 
To answer the question about nadirs, some cats nadir early, some late. My girl nadired between +7 and +9 on Lantus, except when she didn’t. Once you get more data with lower numbers, you will see the pattern emerge.
 
I’m also very sorry you got no responses yesterday; that isn’t typical. It can get busy and we have a few really sick kitties that I believe everyone was focused on. You did everything right but we just missed it :eek:

It does look to me like the vet started the dose way too high. The starting dose of Lantus is 0.25u/kg of kitty’s ideal weight unless kitty is underweight and then we use current weight. You were very smart to lower the dose when you got a number under 90.

I see Wendy has posted and discussed getting the correct syringes so you can better draw the dose. Many members here use calipers for dosing as syringes are very inaccurate. That can come down the road for you but be aware there is a more accurate way to dose once you get your feet on the ground. Also, to add further to Wendy’s post, nadirs can also move; they aren’t always the same so just be aware once you have more data. And always feel free to ask; hopefully we will do a better job next time.

Thank you @Julie and Honey and @carfurby for catching the missed questions.
 
You did the right thing on bumping the post. I had seen it and was in the middle of composing a reply when I was tagged.

What part of Canada are you in? I found. I found big differences in syringe prices in BC, with Safeway being the cheapest.
 
Sorry no one answered your questions. Yes if you are following SLGS you would reduce the dose. Are you able to get syringes with half unit markings? That makes measuring the in between doses easier.

Are you able to get any night time tests in? If you don't have any night time tests you are only getting half the picture. Most of us try to at least get a before going to sleep test.
Ok, I can try to get some night doses in. I go to bed fairly early though, so a +2 would be all. Thank you!
 
Hello from BC. Here is the link to your previous post, which we include so people can easily go back and see the history. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/luna-7-26-low-amps-preshot-103.217337/

Many people follow TR and work full time, so you don’t have to follow SLGS, but of course you can if you would prefer. You can also start with one method and switch later. In the dosing methods sticky note there is a link to doing TR with a full time job. There are tips in there that will help, no matter which dosing method you decide on. Putting either SLGS or TR in your signature can help us help you.

If you are following SLGS, you would lower the dose by 0.25 units to 2.25 units. Head out to your nearest pharmacy and get some BD Ultrafine II syringes, the purple and yellow box. They have half unit markings,
Hi,
Thanks for your comment. I will look at the note for TR with a job and reassess. I got some of the purple and yellow ultrafine, but they are too short i think... 5/16. Do they make them in 1/2in? I'm trying to do 2.25 with the syringes i have (from the vet), so hopefully it is accurate enough. Thanks
 
I’m also very sorry you got no responses yesterday; that isn’t typical. It can get busy and we have a few really sick kitties that I believe everyone was focused on. You did everything right but we just missed it :eek:

It does look to me like the vet started the dose way too high. The starting dose of Lantus is 0.25u/kg of kitty’s ideal weight unless kitty is underweight and then we use current weight. You were very smart to lower the dose when you got a number under 90.

I see Wendy has posted and discussed getting the correct syringes so you can better draw the dose. Many members here use calipers for dosing as syringes are very inaccurate. That can come down the road for you but be aware there is a more accurate way to dose once you get your feet on the ground. Also, to add further to Wendy’s post, nadirs can also move; they aren’t always the same so just be aware once you have more data. And always feel free to ask; hopefully we will do a better job next time.

Thank you @Julie and Honey and @carfurby for catching the missed questions.
Thanks for the advice and info about calipers. I'll take a look.
 
You did the right thing on bumping the post. I had seen it and was in the middle of composing a reply when I was tagged.

What part of Canada are you in? I found. I found big differences in syringe prices in BC, with Safeway being the cheapest.
I'm in Ontario. I've looked at Walmart, but haven't looked elsewhere yet.
 
Hi,
Thanks for your comment. I will look at the note for TR with a job and reassess. I got some of the purple and yellow ultrafine, but they are too short i think... 5/16. Do they make them in 1/2in? I'm trying to do 2.25 with the syringes i have (from the vet), so hopefully it is accurate enough. Thanks
A lot of people use 5/16 without an issue, I have used them for months myself, that is also the length my vet uses. Maybe it depends on the cat, but worth a shot if you can’t find longer.
 
I got some of the purple and yellow ultrafine, but they are too short i think... 5/16.
I used those syringes for 5 years on my long haired girl, they work fine. They also make 6mm vs 8mm ones, I preferred the longer ones. You can also get Sure Comfort syringes from some Canadian diabetic supply places. All their syringes are also 8 mm (5/16 in). Online prices tend to be higher for the BDs.
 
Back
Top