Re: 7/27 Hershey PMPS(236) +4(368) REDUCIE
Hi Jill,
I will try to explain from the point of view of an "outsider". I've never used Lantus or Levemir, and I didn't really understand it or how they worked a few months back. I used to think like you are thinking right now.... "why would you shoot numbers that low?" "Aren't you running the risk of making your cat go hypo?" "why would anybody ever shoot insulin into a number that was within the range of normal BGs?" It was because I really didn't understand how the insulin itself works. I used PZI on Bob, and it was a "if you shoot this, then that will happen in the next 6 hours" type of insulin. We think of PZI or Prozinc much the same way that a person would think about a prescription drug like a pain killer in human terms. If you take one pill, X will happen. If you take two pills, then 2X or more will happen. It will last a certain amount of time, then it will taper off, and then you have to take another pill. That's "easy" to understand, right?
Well, Lantus and Lev don't work the same way. They have a more constant effect. The depot pretty much guarantees that some insulin is in the cat's system all the time. You keep adding more, because some days the cat needs more (or less) than on other days. It's still hard for me to explain exactly how that all works, but I have come to think of it as the same concept as a water tower. Don't know if you have those in Amsterdam, but I'm assuming you must?
The way a water tower works, and what they are for, is to maintain a certain amount of water pressure in the supply lines. You have this big pipe that carries water to a community, pumped from some reservoir someplace. But all day long, people are using more or less water than at other times of the day, so the water pressure changes every time somebody turns on a faucet, or flushes a toilet, or washes a load of clothes. In the summertime, lots of people use a lot of water to wash their cars or to water their lawns. So, the more people are using water, the lower the pressure in the supply line goes, and the pumps can't keep up with the demand. So they put these huge tanks of water on top of a tower. When the water demand is the highest, and the pressure starts to drop in the supply line, water flows out of the towers to take up the slack, and the pressure in the whole line stays more or less constant. When the demand goes down, then the water coming from the reservoir and the pumps goes back into the tower tanks and refills them. It sits there until the next time it is needed. If nobody is using water for any length of time, then the pressure builds up, and the pumps shut off. OK, now to translate that to "Lantus/Lev"....
You have this depot of insulin (water tank) sitting in kitty's system ready to be used when needed. And you add more to the total every time you give a shot. As the BG goes up during the day, the insulin is "used up" as much as required. If the total insulin in the body ends up being insufficient, the BG goes up, and you end up needing to increase the dose to compensate. When the supply of insulin exceeds what is required, the BG goes down to low numbers (like Hershey today), and you end up dropping the dose for a few cycles to get things back in balance. You never know exactly when something like this will happen, so you have to be ready to test and when you see the 30's or 40's, you add carbs on purpose to bring the numbers back up quickly, then you cut back on the insulin. In a perfect world, this would happen every few days, and you'd keep reducing the dose, and eventually kitty will go off the juice in a logical and gradual progression.
Unfortunately, there is nothing "perfect" about the world of feline diabetes. There are too many other things that influence the BG numbers that have little to do with the insulin you are shooting every day. There's food, there's things like infections and dental issues and stress, there's how well the pancreas is healing and how much of its own insulin it is producing each day. So, sometimes you see a reaction like this today, and you drop the dose, and a few days later, it looks like the new dose isn't working well enough, so you have to increase a bit.
But the thing you hope to see is that the cat becomes better regulated, and the BG level stays pretty flat over the course of 12 hours (especially when you are seeing nice blue and green numbers most of the time). A "perfect curve" would be the curve of a diet controlled diabetic cat. All the numbers all day long would be in the normal range, with little fluctuation. So, with Lantus, because the dose is dependent upon the nadir numbers and not the preshot numbers, you routinely see people who have been doing this for a decent amount of time giving "regular" doses on preshot numbers that would be considered "normal" BG numbers. Because they have collected enough data to know that even though they are shooting 1u into a 90, the nadir is still going to be in the safe and normal range. A cat like Hershey might get to a point soon where he is in the "good numbers" all day long on .5u twice a day. When that happens, Libby might be able to reduce to .25u twice a day, and after a few days, she would see Hershey still in good numbers all day long, and she might reduce a little more. That continues long enough, and at some point, she'll be able to try "no insulin" and see if he stays in normal numbers. Along the way, she might have to tweak the dose by tiny amounts up or down, and she'll probably see more days like today.
Libby, and anyone else who deals with lows like today does appear to be "calm", but I'll bet when she saw a 30 something on the meter, her heart beat a little fast for a time. :smile: And the people who are here walking people through these episodes might also appear to be calm. It's easy for me to be calm when I'm following the condo or dropping a line in it once in a while. That's because I'm not the one seeing the 30 on the meter. I'm hundreds of miles away, and although I've never used this insulin, I have watched "this" many times, and I've stayed up a few nights "hand holding" and reminding people when the next test time is, and to feed another spoonful of gravy.
I know that Sienne and many others have pointed out this many times - there's a big difference between low numbers like 30 and 40, and "clinical hypoglycemia" where symptoms like seizures take place. I have read along in threads where someone has actually had to deal with seizures and rushing kitty to the ER. But I have not seen one time where something like Libby went through with Hershey today ended up with a trip to the ER. The emergency situations have usually come about due to "mistakes". Like maybe shooting too much by mistake, or not testing regularly at preshots. Very few and very far in between has that happened. Managing low numbers happens all the time, and there are standard procedures to follow that keep kitty safe. Like testing early on in the cycle so that you'll expect the low numbers later on and be ready to deal with them. Like posting a 911 or adding the low numbers to your subject line so that people see them and jump in to help. Like always making sure you have plenty of test strips and high carb and gravy food on hand.
I'm completely green here so forgive my potentially stupid questions.
None of your questions are stupid. You should always ask, and if you don't understand the answers, say that. Maybe one person can't make you understand the way they said it, and another person will say it differently and it will click for you.
so I wonder. Would you ever do that again?
Why did you make this call?
What risks are worth taking? And what's the rationale for it?
Since you asked Libby those questions directly, I don't want to speak for her, but I'm thinking the answer to the first question is "yes" and that she can help you out by answering the rest of them too.
Sorry, I tend to be very "wordy", but that's what happens at 4am.... I ramble!
Carl