7/27 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.
+4 304
+6 319
I am still on 10/14 schedule.
Yesterday I opened new vial, not that much difference, so today I went back to old vial just to check again, since we got a +109 at +4 on old vial then he shot up to 330 by +6 on Sunday I thought the insulin must be ok. I just hate to waste it when theres a 1/4 bottle still. But I am going back to new vial tomorrow AM or tonight at PMPS and the old vial can go back in fridge with 3 other 1/4 full vials. :-D
I don't get these numbers if its not the insulin, hes got clean teeth, done with antibiotic, no infection, no ketones.
Hes seems to feel well, doing all the ususal normal things, he really seems like he feels better after the dental.
I took up the water with the Xylitol dental additive yesterday in early afternoon, he had that for 3 days.
After the +4 109 on Sunday, I had raised him to 2.6 the night before but gave S2.6 for a day and a half. Gave 2.6 this morning.
Going back to new vial tomorrow AM, go ahead and raise to 2.8?
 
A lot of times we see they kind of get stuck in the higher numbers, and need more insulin to break through to good numbers. Once in good numbers a lot of time then their dose will come down, but with diabetes, higher numbers seem to kind of perpetuate themselves. It's not that there's anything necessarily causing them, they just can't come down from there on their own, and the longer they sit up there, the harder it is to get down. I would go ahead and increase if it were me.
 
Just in the broken record category :mrgreen:

- When you can, try to get at least the occasional spot test during the night cycle. I know it is hard for you, but particularly since his shot timing is not 12/12, you do want some checks now and then so you know what is going on.

- I still think you need to change your SS so that anyone looking at it realizes you don't shoot 12/12. What I would do is insert 2 columns before the PMPS column, and at the top label them +12 and +13. And then I'd delete the +10 and +11 columns in the night cycle. (at least after the point where you made the timing switch - you can copy and paste the header rows in the middle of the SS if you want to, just add a couple rows above where the timing changed, and then copy in the headers there, and then adapt them to the 10/14 plan - if you need SS help I can try to help!)

- Make sure you are testing for ketones! :-D
 
I'll try to do the SS but yes I may need help, I don't want to mess it up.
I will try to get in more spot checks overnight, its hard when I shoot at 11:00, and take meds at night, maybe over the weekend I can get at least one in.
His PMPS was 321. Shot S2.8
 
I would target the nighttime checks for when he has a lower PSs if you can. That way you are getting the most bang for your buck (hopefully) so to speak from getting in the test. If you can see U-curves but the nadirs are blue or higher, then you know there is room to increase the dose safely. Still interesting to get a spot check off a higher PS now and then, but if it were me I would want to know what is going on when you have a low yellow PS at night. If there is room to increase the dose more at night, that could help you get lower PSs in the morning, and in theory could really help the overall picture.
 
ok I just went in and tried adjusting SS. I think I figured out how to add a column but am confused somewhat. +13 and +14 would go in front of PMPS? I will look at again tomorrow when I'm not so tired and can think more clearly but I might need help.
I just undid the changes I made for now.
 
Right, since the PMPS is at +14 right? So it should have 14 hours leading up to it, and only 10 leading up to the AM (if I got it right!) It's really just formatting even, you could just move all the data over 2 cols rather than actually inserting new ones...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top