7/27 Catcat AMPS 277,+3=241,+6=229,+9.5=227,PMPS=214,+3=225

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...236-4-175-7-154-10-139-pmps-173-3-253.217358/

that 3 am snack may have helped keep the AMPS in a better range -- Catcat was less frantic for food this morning too -- he polished the partial can I left down, until it was shiny

with luck a quiet day today, food bank in the afternoon -- supposedly the septic guys will come to dig up the yard tomorrow afternoon-ish (we're the second job on their schedule) -- we have the site plans from the health dept, and I took time to mark the approximate location of the drainfield with four solar lights -- good thing I didn't use paint or such, since it rained overnight

Catcat's lying sprawled across his fleece blankie/quilt, with his paws crossed -- hope he he thinking about heading near the lagoon later
 
must be sand on the slide or something, we'll see -- could be he is going lower later in the cycle now
 
Last edited:
another test, another result in the yellows -- hard to tell if it's really a flat cycle, or if he was coming back up from nadir -- guess I get to test at another time in the cycle tomorrow -- will see also what happens later today when I get back
 
Is today curve day? I wonder if you can randomly wake up some time during the night and get a test in at +6?

But looks like Catcat is asking for a small increase :)
 
actually I think you could call yesterday a 3-hour curve day -- if I'm reading it right, on SLGS I need to hold the dose

what I'm seeing is more or less 2 cycles of yellow followed by a cycle-plus of blue -- even with calipers I'm not sure I could consistently shoot a dose between .5 and .75, I've thought about going to a "fat" .5 to get into the lower range of blues with maybe a green now and then -- but Catcat is great for bouncing, I've stuck to a consistent dose on purpose to slow down the amplitude of bounces

I'm usually only able to wake up enough at night to make it to the bathroom without dribbling enroute -- have found that I can yank a prepared helping out of cabinet and lay it down for Catcat -- but test? no way -- my eyes don't work that well when I'm half asleep, nor does my brain -- if I woke up fully, I'd not be able to get back to sleep at all, and I'm short of sleep as it is, constant dragging fatigue
 
I'm not sure I could consistently shoot a dose between .5 and .75
I've thought about going to a "fat" .5 to get into the lower range of blues with maybe a green now and then -- but Catcat is great for bouncing
We use calipers and I am not sure about the consistency at all.
There are others , too, in the same boat.:blackeye:

I totally understand why you 'd said "fattening" the dose - it might well work for the goal you have mentioned.

But usually it is advised to do 1/4U cuts/ ups at the beginning, not skimming or fattening which are hard to measure.
I cannot remember why did they say do 1/4U @ a time but I feel it was to do with consistency and .25 increment leaves fewer doubts (either way) than a drop or 1/2 drop would do. I do drop adjustments, what a pain and not reliable at all due to tech. troubles with syringes.

I was nicely surprised to read the Fr AM cycle, lovely.:):cool:
TBH, I thought he'd up - Yellowed. :) glad he did not!
 
take a look at the cycles when we were at .75 -- some midcycle greens, some bounces into pink, twice I had to completely skip a dose :arghh::eek:

IMHO too much fluctuation -- seemed he clearly needed that decrease :smuggrin:

I'd rather stick with this somewhat more consistent set of levels -- thinking that as his system gets used to staying in the lower yellows to high blues, that he has more chance to stabilize his BG and maybe let his pancreas have a chance to catch up

then again, you may be absolutely right .. ;)
 
Last edited:
when we were at .75 -- some midcycle greens, some bounces into pink, twice I had to completely skip a dose :arghh::eek:

IMHO too much fluctuation -- seemed he clearly needed that decrease
:cool::)
it wasn't clear to me at all.
You see, I thought another dose upping was due and if I suggested it I would be wrong.
I am glad you did by your guts!

My mindset, probably, has been fixed in the "avoid reductions" mode for too long for me to remain objective for the newly Dxed cats. :oops::rolleyes: You seems to have good feeling about the dose!
:)
 
it's been 3 months, I don't feel so "newbie" any more, thanks to a lot of terrific advice from "those who have gone before" (bows in worship)

yet, quite a lot of cats who were diagnosed after we were, have gone on to remission or close to it

part of it might be that we don't know when Catcat began to slide into diabetes, we were gone for four months and didn't really notice symptoms for about another month
DS was here taking care of everything but he works (or is gone) 14 hours a day, 6 days a week, so he wouldn't have been as observant (when Catcat peed on his bed, he complained, we got Catcat to the vet ... )

well, tomorrow is another day, Catcat will get a break from most of the testing since we'll probably need to help the contractor work on the septic drainfield -- will be nice to get it fixed, we've been on water restriction, no showers, no clothes nor dish washing, no toilet flushing ... PHEW !!!
 
Last edited:
I forgot to mention that I think the separator line in the SS - between the Vetsulin read the Lantus - is too pale to notice, currently pastel yellow.
Would you/ can you switch to something brighter, like red or pink, maybe, to make sure it is not missed?

As I said before -it's hard to remember you were a newby just recently!
The SS looks as if longer Lantus use. Some dosing opinions might change if the switch time was made more obvious in the SS.
 
much more obvious now, thank you, nice Azur shade, too!


it is odd, but Ducia and Catcat are having the same PMPS number!
Let's hope it'll be nice, event-less surf night for the two of them.:)
 
which means you can see one reason I didn't want to increase -- not much of a problem with a low AMPS, but worrisome if it's PMPS since I really sleep when I sleep, and I really need about 2 more hours of sleep than I've been getting

not ALL seniors need or want less sleep -- my body still prefers 10 solid hours
 
You know Alice was dx’ed last year, October. I’ve seen some other cats come in and then go OTJ since too. You and I both started treatment though with non-depot insulins that didn’t really cover the stretch of time they needed. It’s not our faults that we were limited, because we have gotten them this far, but I think it can delay OTJ when we don’t start with one of the more ideal treatments. Just a thought maybe....... anyway, ECID, of course, and Catcat will do whatever he wants. :p Hopefully maybe a little more of what you want with new treats coming your way soon. :D
 
Back
Top