7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119, +4=103 +5=106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Happy Caturday LL! I overslept this morning and Bob got his shot 35 minutes late. :o First time I've overslept since Bob got the sugar!

Nothing like going from one extreme to another. I knew his numbers would go up, but this is ridiculous. Isn't there a happy medium? I would have been ok with blues and yellows! Can 1 unit really make this much of a difference? I can tell he's not feeling that great. He didn't want to eat this am so I played with him for 10 minutes and then he ate a little and he's eating now.

Should his insulin go up yet? I take it he's going to need to be increased gradually by .25 units again? :sad:

Prayers for Jupiter and Jamie and all who need them. Happy OTJ to Willie! Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387, +3.5=269 Advise please?

He's just bouncing from the low numbers he's not used to and from his depot being depleted from the skipped shots.

You have some empty units boxes on your ss. Can you please fill them in for this morning and for last night?

I don't get the full picture when I can't see the doses. Sorry :-|
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387, +3.5=269 Advise please?

Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear and you never know when it will happen. FD is tough. It helps to be a little bit crazy. :lol: :lol: It also helps to put on those patience pants and wait it out. Looks like Bob might be coming down a bit already - paws crossed!

OT: I can't really say that I "run", even when it's a gait faster than walking. :lol: :lol: It's a slow jog. And yesterday was almost as much walking as jogging. Oh well. I remain optimistic but this 7000' altitude is tough. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387, +3.5=269 Advise please?

Dyana said:
He's just bouncing from the low numbers he's not used to and from his depot being depleted from the skipped shots.

You have some empty units boxes on your ss. Can you please fill them in for this morning and for last night?

I don't get the full picture when I can't see the doses. Sorry :-|

Done! Half asleep as usual I guess! How long does it usually take to fill up the depot again?

Anne & Zener said:
Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear and you never know when it will happen. FD is tough. It helps to be a little bit crazy. It also helps to put on those patience pants and wait it out. Looks like Bob might be coming down a bit already - paws crossed!

OT: I can't really say that I "run", even when it's a gait faster than walking. It's a slow jog. And yesterday was almost as much walking as jogging. Oh well. I remain optimistic but this 7000' altitude is tough.
Liz

Hey! It's great you get out there and do something! I hurt my hip when I roll over in bed. :lol: I wouldn't know about the altitude. I've never been off the east coast. However, I do know all about the humidity!!!!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387, +3.5=269 Advise please?

Like Dyana and Liz said, Bob is bouncing. You've got greens plus 2 skipped shots that are contributing to the high numbers. (Also, could you fill in the doses on your SS for last night and this morning's shots?)

The goal was to drain Bob's depot. We need to see what this dose is doing. Plus, you don't base the dose adjustments on the pre-shot numbers. Dosing is based on the nadir. Let's see what this dose does once things stabilize.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387, +3.5=269 Advise please?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Like Dyana and Liz said, Bob is bouncing. You've got greens plus 2 skipped shots that are contributing to the high numbers. (Also, could you fill in the doses on your SS for last night and this morning's shots?)

The goal was to drain Bob's depot. We need to see what this dose is doing. Plus, you don't base the dose adjustments on the pre-shot numbers. Dosing is based on the nadir. Let's see what this dose does once things stabilize.

Awww geez...I need the patience pants again. It's either patience pants or hysteria with really low numbers. :-D Good times!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387, +3.5=269 Advise please?

Awww geez...I need the patience pants again. It's either patience pants or hysteria with really low numbers. Good times!

Ah the life of an FD mom! But just think of all the extra love you get in return.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 269+3.5 213+5 97+7 54 +10 what to do?

Coming up on shot time and looks like Bob is going down, down, down. Not eat a lot, but probably has eat 3 or 4 ounces today and that's pretty normal for him. So, could someone walk me through what I should do? I guess if he starts going up I won't have a problem giving his shot. Not sure what to do if he keeps going down...
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5 help???

ok - didn't wait for answer. gave him about a tbs of ff appetizer. maybe I should have waited.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5 help???

If he eats now, will he eat again in 2 hours when it's shot time?

We must have cross posted. Why must Bob and Nikki always drop right before shot time?? :roll:
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5 help???

yeah - he's hungry - he just doesn't want the pricey fromm duck & chicken from this am. He tried to cover it up. butthead! I just want to keep him from getting too low....I'm proud of myself I didn't break out the syrup
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5 help???

If you can, I would test in an hour and a half and then 30 min after that. If he's going up, and he eats his dinner, and you have supplies, I would give his shot. He may be angling for another reduction....

ETA: I feel like I don't know enough to give advice but that's what I would do if it was Nikki... And good for you for not breaking out the syrup! It's late in the cycle, he isn't likely to get down into the 30's.

Now Bob, don't make me a liar! :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5 help???

well, look at you, you little advice giver! I'll keep checking! You still going out at 8?
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5 help???

I'm going to head out a little after 7, right after I give Nikki's shot. I'm going to leave her a bunch of MC and think safe surfing thoughts! :lol: Shooting to be home by 11:30 or so. If no one posts, maybe PM Sienne or Marje and see if you can have them take a look.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5, 69=+11

Holy cow! That one tablespoon sent him up to 69 in 30 minutes!! what the heck! Do you think I should have held out for the 49?
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5, 69=+11

I have a feeling he might get there tonight! :lol: Unless he bounces off the 50's. Also, with meter variance, that 51 was basically a 49 anyway. @-) I know Carl and Marje were JUST having a discussion in someone's condo about earning reductions (maybe last night?). It's all a big blur. :lol:

At this point, I would wait out the food and see where he is without it on board before shooting. Just IMO of course. :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5, 69=+11

Hi Dara,

Bob is sure keeping you busy!! If you are not comfortable shooting at his pre shot number, you can always stall. Do not feed. Test again in 30 minutes, and see if he is starting to rise. You can do that again, if your schedule permits it.

Bob is a man on a mission!!

Jane
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5, 69=+11

Dara sent a PM and asked about how to deal with Bob's numbers this evening since she's going out.

First, there aren't "rules" about when to feed what kind of carbs. There are a couple of things to consider.
  • When are you leaving? Will you be able to get any tests or are you leaving right after Bob's shot? If the PMPS is the only number you have, you'll need to base what you do on that number. It's always safest to feed HC if you're not sure where things are heading.
  • If you'll be able to get a test or two, you can decide what to feed. Like I said, there really aren't any fixed answers.
  • How do you feed? If you typically give Bob several small meals, often giving him most or all of his food at one time may help to buffer any drop.
  • If you are going to be gone for a while, if you have a timed feeder that will help to insure there's food available.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5, 69=+11

So Bobby....want to be back at the PJ Party?

I'm responding to Dara's PM that Bob's PMPS was 76. Dara...I'd be sure you gave him two nice tsp of LC and get a +1 and +2. Please post when you get the +1. I'll subscribe to your condo and will be around to help.

In general, when they are in green and not bombing down, you want to feed 2 tsp of low carb and test; if they are still dropping slowly but are above 50, lather rinse repeat with the LC. How often you test depends on how fast they are coming down and how effective the food is on the BG.

If he falls below 50, EARLY in the cycle, give him two tsp of HC gravy, test in 30 and lather rinse repeat until he's up above 50. If he falls below 50 later in the cycle, try a couple tsp LC.

It's going to be experiment until you know what works for him.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob AMPS=387 97+7 54 +10 51+10.5, 69=+11

Sienne...I don't think Dara is going out; that's Alexis. I think Dara just wasn't sure if we'd be around to help her if he came down.

Dara....the other thing (see my post above) is you probably will see this type of cycle frequently if Bob clears his bounces during the day. When Gracie was on lantus, she did this exact thing to me ALOT so I was always shooting dropping numbers. I got to where I'd feed her a little snack at about +9.5 on days she was really clearing bounces fast. That way she'd glide into PMPS and I wasn't always shooting dropping 50s/60s and then trying to get her up.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93

Thanks Ladies! No, I'm not going out. I'm still trying to clean (this has been a two-month process!). It's hard when you live on your own. I feel like my entire apartment is one big bedroom and I feel ok about throwing my clothes around and stuff like that. :roll:

Bob's preshot number was 93, but I did reduce his shot to 2.25. Don't yell at me. My nervousness has to come out in some way. :? My thinking was he went down to 51 on 2.5 and may have continued going down if I hadn't fed him some LC. Made me a bit nervous so I felt the reduction was justified (although I have no clue what I'm talking about). I will try very hard to follow the protocol in the future. :-D

So I fed Bob some evanger's chickin lickin with the rest of the ff appetizer mixed in. He ate a little bit. The evanger's is a pretty decent company and the price is much better than the fromm. Although the third ingredient is chicken liver. Is it ok for them to eat liver every day if it's not the primary ingredient?
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93

Don't yell at me

Well, we will! ;-) :lol: :lol: how'd we get a bad rap? :razz: :razz:

You hold the syringe. I don't give reductions based on what I think she might have done because they don't read the book. But that's me and if you felt you needed to reduce, that's your decision. You can take him back up if he doesn't hold the reduction. No biggie! :-D you didn't stall though, right?

BUT...because of the depot, I would assume his cycle tonight will possibly be the same as if you hadn't reduced. Ok?
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93

Marje and Gracie said:
Well, we will! how'd we get a bad rap?

It's not you! It's Sienne! (she yelled at me before!!) :-D I'm just kidding Sienne! I love you all and I know you care about our babies.

I plan on keeping an eye on Bob tonight regardless so have no fear! I'm getting a little better - at least I didn't pull out all the stops with that 51!! I really don't feel as nervous because I see now that I can control it. I know I can't rush things, I just want him to be safe when I'm not here. I have to work tomorrow to make up for Wednesday :sad: , but I may come home to check on him.

Thanks so much guys - my poor boo would be just living with numbers in the 300's (as per vet's advice) if I hadn't of found you. I'll keep you posted!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93

It's not you! It's Sienne!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: well...we like playing good cop bad cop ;-) I guess we need to switch roles occasionally.

Ok..I will be around if you need help. Just post.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121

I only yell if the stupid CAPS LOCK key gets stuck.
Looks like Bob is kinda fond of his PJ's.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121

I know Carl and Marje were JUST having a discussion in someone's condo about earning reductions (maybe last night?).
It is sort of all blurred together the past couple of nights, but I think that was in Kelly and Tom's condo both yesterday and the day before. Both make for fun reading though!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121

Hey Carl! Do you mean Bob is fond of keeping me up? I have a feeling it will be one of those nights. He should start dropping in about an hour! I'm scared (but not as much as usual)! I better start carb loading!

How are your young'uns? I don't see your posts very often - I guess you don't post every day because Bob is OTJ?
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121

Yeah, I don't post much on Bob or Mullet since they are sugar free. They're both doing well. I think Mullet gets a Vetty trip this because his appetite has been off the past couple of days. He's starting to look his age (16) and I want to have him tested for hyperthyroid too. But all in all, my brats are good.

I'm off work until Monday afternoon, so I can be around in the wee hours if needed.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121

I yelled? Really? I must have been in a crabby mood 'cause I don't remember yelling. (Usually it's way too obvious and I remember being annoyed with someone.) Maybe my attempt at humor was lame!

I misread your PM. (I just woke up from a nap.) Sorry.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121

Carl & Bob said:
Yeah, I don't post much on Bob or Mullet since they are sugar free. They're both doing well. I think Mullet gets a Vetty trip this because his appetite has been off the past couple of days. He's starting to look his age (16) and I want to have him tested for hyperthyroid too. But all in all, my brats are good.

I'm off work until Monday afternoon, so I can be around in the wee hours if needed.

Awwww....aren't they sweet when they are little old men cats? so cute. I hope Mullet's vet visit goes ok.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I yelled? Really? I must have been in a crabby mood 'cause I don't remember yelling. (Usually it's way too obvious and I remember being annoyed with someone.) Maybe my attempt at humor was lame!

I misread your PM. (I just woke up from a nap.) Sorry.

I yelled? Really? I must have been in a crabby mood 'cause I don't remember yelling. (Usually it's way too obvious and I remember being annoyed with someone.) Maybe my attempt at humor was lame!

I misread your PM. (I just woke up from a nap.) Sorry.

No - you didn't yell (it wasn't all in caps anyway!) :-D No problem, wish I was going out. My friends think i'm antisocial and insane these days. But they don't understand treating a sugar kitty. It's a lot of work!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121

I'm still trying to clean (this has been a two-month process!). It's hard when you live on your own. I feel like my entire apartment is one big bedroom and I feel ok about throwing my clothes around and stuff like that. :roll:
I bet this is why you can't find those patience pants. They're buried under a mound somewhere or being used by a kitty as a very nice bed. ;-) :o :shock: :o
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119

Deb & Wink said:
I bet this is why you can't find those patience pants. They're buried under a mound somewhere or being used by a kitty as a very nice bed.

Deb - this is a very real possibility! I also have a problem with buying clothes and gaining weight so half my clothes don't fit!!! They are stacked all over the place because my giant closets are full. I'm sure there are a pair of patience pants in there somewhere. :roll:

So.....just checked Bob and he's chillin' at 119. I imagine he will start going down or maybe he will bounce because of the low number earlier? Anyway, at what point to I whip out the low carb? At this moment, he still has dinner left (it takes my cats freakin' forever to eat!). But I know I can bring out the good stuff he will def eat if I need to.

Also, anyone familiar with Avoderm food? I bought a few cans because Dr. Lisa's list has them listed as high carb, but I called the company and they told me 3% carbs???? I may have asked this already, but I don't remember if anyone answered me.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119

When he dips into green, I'd give him a little low carb.

Yes...I use Avoderm for Gus who has CKD. The company probably gave you the guaranteed value and not the as fed or DMB. OR they give you the as fed but it has to go in the calculator with the fat and protein. I'd trust Dr. Lisa.
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119

Marje and Gracie said:
Yes...I use Avoderm for Gus who has CKD. The company probably gave you the guaranteed value and not the as fed or DMB. OR they give you the as fed but it has to go in the calculator with the fat and protein. I'd trust Dr. Lisa.

Why? Is it low in something that is bad for kidneys?
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119

Dara, Bern here - I REALLY< REALLY thought I was headed to a PJ party tonight - was all prepared and got like a 588! Although with Tashie, you still never know! Hang in there - coming off that darn dry food is "H" but SO worth it! Good luck! Find lots to do in between the testing - it helps just a bit :-D as long as you set alarms! Thinking of you! Hope he levels and you can get SOME rest!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119

Hey Bern! Well, so far, so good, but I know enough not to get too comfy. Well, Tashie's bounce is a way of giving you a good nights sleep! I got two of those in a row and was feeling kind of spoiled actually!!! :lol: Thanks for stopping by! HOpe you have a great night!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119

Hey Bern! Well, so far, so good, but I know enough not to get too comfy. Well, Tashie's bounce is a way of giving you a good nights sleep! I got two of those in a row and was feeling kind of spoiled actually!!! :lol: Thanks for stopping by! HOpe you have a great night!
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119, +4=103

Bob better be behaving himself! I'm back and have nothing better to do then stalk his condo! :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119, +4=103

Bob surprised me! He's doing pretty well, although he's being a little bad and not eating much. I went to throw away the YA food tonight and he found a couple of kibbles and ate them!!!! I wonder if he's holding out for the dry. Sorry Bobby! Ain't gonna happen. Eat yer chickin lickin. He doesn't like the chickin lickin because it doesn't cost $3.00 a can. It's still expensive, but it's not the MOST expensive. Bratty Bob.

I hope you had fun tonight and got a nice break!

I need to work tomorrow and I'm wondering what crazy stuff Bob will try to pull. I hope he's a good boy! Are you home tomorrow?
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119, +4=103

I'll be around tomorrow. Need to run out and pick up syringes, lancets, some MC, and litter. The life of a crazy cat lady! :lol:

Dinner was fab, I hadn't seen my friend in two months because she's busy being an in-demand film editor, so it was great to catch up! Plus I got to splurge on 2 delicious glasses of wine and a yummy dinner! :-D

And the b-o-u-n-c-e hasn't started yet! :mrgreen:

Bob, eat your fuds! :evil:
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119, +4=103

He doesn't like the chickin lickin because it doesn't cost $3.00 a can

oh...you and bob.....YOU 2 ALWAYS GIVE ME MY LAUGH FOR THE DAY


thanks!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119, +4=103 +5=10

Everyone good luck and have a nice night! I'm going to bed. Stupid Justin Beiber is on SNL again. blah. :-x
 
Re: 7/27 Bob +11=67, PMPS=93, +1=121, +2.5=119, +4=103 +5=10

Blah is right. I'm catching up on the Bachelorette. :-D

Night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top