7/27/19 - Harley - Understanding whats going on...?

RobinHarley

Member Since 2018
(Second paragraph has questions, first is just my situation currently)

So, let me start off by saying I had a reminder I was holding doses too long - so I am working on keeping it no longer than 7 days. Also my "babysitter", after almost a full year still can't get blood no matter how they try (they've only been successful twice) so that is why I am missing a lot of AM ones. I was going to grad school full time in the summer. That just ended and my schedule is going back to normal for this semester so I will be home for AMPS and PMPS which will honestly settle my anxiety a bit.

Anyway, recently when we switched to 3u I haven't really noticed a change (drop) like I am used to in him when we up his dose. Nor did I see it with 2.75u. I was afraid with 2.75 that he was bouncing and I was not catching it because of the lack of testing. I was finally able to get some good spot testing through the day and night though and upped him again. But with the levels he has been at with 3u, I would swear he is dropping and bouncing... But it's not showing. My mom ("babysitter") has been a type 1 diabetic for 43 years and brought up me trying a new pen in case this one is bad. I am going to try that in the AM. But I feel like he is staying high and flat. He isn't getting into any extra food or food that isn't his (he use to eat roommates dog food). He has access to his FF and that is it, he is fed 4x in 24hrs - all 6 hours apart.

ETA: He also wakes me up about an hour before his +6 middle of the night food and his AMPS screaming like he is starving - though it has never shown.

For now, I am just trucking along still...

Example from today: AMPS 348 (3u), +2 345, +4 296, +6 334, PMPS 338 (3u), +3 360

(p.s. side question: I have heard before of people giving pet sitters doses to give if they cannot test. If I run into situations where I cannot test in the AM for extended periods of time again - what is best advised for someone who cannot test. Should I instruct them on a half dose the closer we get to perfect dosing? The LAST thing I want is him given a higher dose when we start tuning into the good range and him not need it (being low) and me not being home.)
 
I'm not experienced enough to help you with dosing issues and would hate to point you in the wrong direction. The struggle is real, hang in there. I'm answering you so that you get bumped up, weekends are hard as not a lot of folks are online.
 
I had a cat who wouldn't let anyone except me test. If I was traveling, the dose was reduced for my petsitter. The difference, though, is she was shooting a reduced dose the entire time she was caring for Gabby. If I'm understanding correctly, what you're suggesting is the person shooting in the AM would be giving a different dose than the evening dose. Lantus does best if you are shooting the same amount of insulin in the AM and PM.

One thought may be whether you can adjust your shot time to deal with a change in your schedule. When I moved to Columbus, I had to change from a 7:00 shot time to a 5:00 shot time (and I am not a morning person). Alternatively, is it possible to work with your sitter to get him/her better at testing or you're figuring out what s/he is doing wrong?

And yes, at least based on what Harley's SS looks like today, the dose needs to be increased.
 
Back
Top