RobinHarley
Member Since 2018
(Second paragraph has questions, first is just my situation currently)
So, let me start off by saying I had a reminder I was holding doses too long - so I am working on keeping it no longer than 7 days. Also my "babysitter", after almost a full year still can't get blood no matter how they try (they've only been successful twice) so that is why I am missing a lot of AM ones. I was going to grad school full time in the summer. That just ended and my schedule is going back to normal for this semester so I will be home for AMPS and PMPS which will honestly settle my anxiety a bit.
Anyway, recently when we switched to 3u I haven't really noticed a change (drop) like I am used to in him when we up his dose. Nor did I see it with 2.75u. I was afraid with 2.75 that he was bouncing and I was not catching it because of the lack of testing. I was finally able to get some good spot testing through the day and night though and upped him again. But with the levels he has been at with 3u, I would swear he is dropping and bouncing... But it's not showing. My mom ("babysitter") has been a type 1 diabetic for 43 years and brought up me trying a new pen in case this one is bad. I am going to try that in the AM. But I feel like he is staying high and flat. He isn't getting into any extra food or food that isn't his (he use to eat roommates dog food). He has access to his FF and that is it, he is fed 4x in 24hrs - all 6 hours apart.
ETA: He also wakes me up about an hour before his +6 middle of the night food and his AMPS screaming like he is starving - though it has never shown.
For now, I am just trucking along still...
Example from today: AMPS 348 (3u), +2 345, +4 296, +6 334, PMPS 338 (3u), +3 360
(p.s. side question: I have heard before of people giving pet sitters doses to give if they cannot test. If I run into situations where I cannot test in the AM for extended periods of time again - what is best advised for someone who cannot test. Should I instruct them on a half dose the closer we get to perfect dosing? The LAST thing I want is him given a higher dose when we start tuning into the good range and him not need it (being low) and me not being home.)
So, let me start off by saying I had a reminder I was holding doses too long - so I am working on keeping it no longer than 7 days. Also my "babysitter", after almost a full year still can't get blood no matter how they try (they've only been successful twice) so that is why I am missing a lot of AM ones. I was going to grad school full time in the summer. That just ended and my schedule is going back to normal for this semester so I will be home for AMPS and PMPS which will honestly settle my anxiety a bit.
Anyway, recently when we switched to 3u I haven't really noticed a change (drop) like I am used to in him when we up his dose. Nor did I see it with 2.75u. I was afraid with 2.75 that he was bouncing and I was not catching it because of the lack of testing. I was finally able to get some good spot testing through the day and night though and upped him again. But with the levels he has been at with 3u, I would swear he is dropping and bouncing... But it's not showing. My mom ("babysitter") has been a type 1 diabetic for 43 years and brought up me trying a new pen in case this one is bad. I am going to try that in the AM. But I feel like he is staying high and flat. He isn't getting into any extra food or food that isn't his (he use to eat roommates dog food). He has access to his FF and that is it, he is fed 4x in 24hrs - all 6 hours apart.
ETA: He also wakes me up about an hour before his +6 middle of the night food and his AMPS screaming like he is starving - though it has never shown.
For now, I am just trucking along still...
Example from today: AMPS 348 (3u), +2 345, +4 296, +6 334, PMPS 338 (3u), +3 360
(p.s. side question: I have heard before of people giving pet sitters doses to give if they cannot test. If I run into situations where I cannot test in the AM for extended periods of time again - what is best advised for someone who cannot test. Should I instruct them on a half dose the closer we get to perfect dosing? The LAST thing I want is him given a higher dose when we start tuning into the good range and him not need it (being low) and me not being home.)