7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154 +6 144 +11 204

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Knocked Me of My Feet Surprised Condo

Yup, I admit it, I am a chicken. My brain TOTALLY understood doing a dose increase, until I saw the 132, which is the lowest I have shot. I chickened out and gave him 2u. I am sure I will pay for this later, but alas, my BOK BOK chicken side won out this morning. I just need to get more confidence, not in the protocol or the process, because you all have helped me get Skooter to an all wet diet and down to 2u of Lantus and I totally trust that, but I guess more confidence in MY ability to shoot the low numbers, handle the lower numbers and not be a freak about it.

I am feeling a wee bit refreshed after getting more than 4 hours of sleep for the first time in a few weeks. And woke up to Skooter licking a can of food clean that I forgot to pick up last night when giving him his last meal of the night. While he is still not playing and is still laying around a bit (wondering if this is more to due with his age {17} vs his diabetes), he certainly has become more social with me again. He is choosing to be around me more and just jumping up when I am in the middle of something and walking all over me.

I do need to leave the house at some point to get more "Skooterfood" and run a few errands, let's hope that Skooter understands that and gives me permission to do so.....

Sending lots of healing vines to all my LL family who needs them for their kitties and their beans.....I am hoping that the tide turns and great news for everyone is on the horizon....

Happy Caturday to one and all!!!
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132

Dont feel bad! It took me a very long time to shoot below 150, although in the first few months, I really didnt have too many below 150 pre shot #s. In hindsight, I know it was safe to, but you have to do what you feel comfortable with, especially on the days you wont be home to monitor. My lowest ps # I have shot was 75, and that was only a short time ago(we are 6 months in now) and Id give anything to see a 75 ps # again :smile: Hope Skooter slides down slow and surfs safe for you.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115

This is a nice slow steady dive I was hoping for.

I may just be able to have breakfast with my sister after all! I also need to run to the bank, and get some more Skooterfood as I apparently didn't get a ton last time I went shopping.

I did go to the Nature's Variety web site and they have a thing where you can figure out how much food your cat needs, it said a total of 8.5 ounces per day (which would be a can of the small and a can of the big each day). This would be about 343 calories per day, which seems like a lot. He is about 12 1/2 pounds or so (I think --- I know it is in the 12 range). I thought there was an equation that was used to determine how much food to give based on weight.....I want to keep him in the 12 pound range.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77

Heading out at 10:30 for about an hour and half....

Will leave his mid day meal out before I leave.... Yay for the return of the green!!!!!!!
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77

i think there is a calculator on calories on the http://www.catinfo.org site. not positive, but she's got a lot about food and i think it's there. Most cats need closer to the 200's per day.

Did i give you this post yet? It was a few days ago on Charlie's condo - we were talking about shooting low and there are some spreadsheets in there as examples. A good way to start is to lower your number gradually that you're ok shooting. well, a good way is just to do it, but this is a good alternative way. :lol:

i wouldn't shoot low for the first time and increase the dose at the same time. if you get an opportunity to shoot low, grab it - but wait on a dose increase to see what shooting low does.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77

Molly

You did GREAT not increasing!! Way to go! Sometimes the best way for a kitty to get into green is for us to threaten to increase the dose. It's a LL tradition. :lol: :lol: FWIW, I wouldn't have increased on that number either. Sometimes they fool us and head back up after a nice AMPS but sometimes they don't so it's best to be safe. An increase can wait one more cycle just to be sure.

When you get a number that is lower than you feel comfortable shooting, then post and we will walk you through it. We have a tradition here in LL that if someone helps you shoot your first green number, they stay with you (or we partner) as long as is necessary to be sure you are comfortable through the cycle.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77

Thanks :)

I wasn't so much worried about shooting it (which in and of itself worries me a little lol), it was the increase that worried me. Even if I had to go to work, I think I would have shot the 132. I am trying to read as much as I can and I think the theory of shooting low to stay low is starting to settle in more.

I am wondering then if I should stay with the 2u tonight? He seems to be doing well on this (knock on wood)....his +6 is about 15 minutes away. Now that I am just finishing up writing this, its about 5 mins away :) Will post his +6 as soon as I get it.


I did pick up some of the Nature's Variety Raw frozen food and I would like to start introducing that to his diet, so I can eventually go from the wet to the raw. I would like to do the same thing as I did with the dry to wet and do it slowly. Would the change from wet to raw effect the amount of insulin I give him, if so, how do I determine what to decrease his insulin to? Also, can there be as dramatic a shift in BG readings when going from wet to raw as there is going from dry to wet? Do I HAVE to be as gradual with this change as I was with his dry to wet?

P.S. Marje - I still cannot get that over that adorable baby picture of Gracie!! I purposely adopted an older cat as I knew they were harder to adopt, but I do miss that I don't have adorable pictures of Skooter from when he was a baby.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77 +6 115

Your instincts were right on Molly! Looks like yesterday was just the "high before the break"....and Marje is right..a lot of times just threatening to increase the dose works...LOL

The Natures Variety canned chicken is 3% carbs....the raw is 1% carbs, so not a big difference so shouldn't be a big problem on the insulin..especially since you will be transitioning slowly.

When you went from dry to canned you went from probably 30'something percent carbs to 3%....that's a big drop!

Hopefully Skooter will like the new raw and not have any problems from the IBD, but I know you'll go slowly and watch him like a hawk!

Congrats on the visit from Mr. Greenie!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77 +6 115

My, what a stressful day you had yesterday, Molly. Good job on making it through, and good call this morning on not doing the dosecrease. Skooter is keeping you on your toes! :mrgreen:

The most recent season of NCIS comes out in two weeks, and we can't wait! We binge-watched the whole series a couple of months ago, and were caught up too late to start last season on On Demand, so we just have to wait for it to come out on DVD. We're recording the new season and will get to that once we're caught up. It's an addictive show, isn't it?

Keep up the good work and have a great Caturday!
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77 +6 115

Looks to me like every cat named Skooter or Scooter should not eat kibble!

I am so glad to hear your Skooter is doing so well and you trust the folks around here like I do. :-D
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77 +6 115 +9 201

Lovely cycle today. :mrgreen: You made a good call to hold off on the dosecrease. We try not to be too wrapped up in Zener's BG either. Sometimes that works better than others. :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter AMPS 132 +2 115 +3.5 77 +6 115 +9 201 +10.5

Just for reference:

AMPS = 132
+2 = 115
+3.5 = 77
+6 = 115
+9 = 201
+10.5 = 235

A feel horrible, a friend called me out of the blue and wanted to have dinner, so I went. I ended up getting home later than anticipated and he got his shot 35 minutes late :( I did go out to a place called The Olive Grove (they sell Olive Oils and Balsamics), which I haven't been able to go to since Skooter was diagnosed. So of course I feel guilty for doing TWO things today which in the end caused his insulin to be late.... :roll:

He ate most of the wet and now I shall see if I can coax him to eat some of the frozen raw I put out for him.

I am curious as to what tonight will bring. Of course, I am hoping for a lovely surf into the blues and if it is safe, a splash in the greens would be welcome, too.

I wasn't sure if I should increase his insulin with what happened with today's numbers and adding the raw into his diet, so, I stuck with the 2u to be safe. We shall see how this goes!
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291

Since he made it into the green again today, best to stick with the same dose

Of course he's going to bounce a bit now....darn it

Don't worry about going out! You need to take care of YOU so you can take care of Skooter!

You can give his morning shot 30 minutes early (or his evening shot) or work back 15 minutes in the morning and 15 minutes tomorrow night to get back on schedule.

As long as you can test, either will work (an early shot can act like an increase)
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291

I am not planning to leave my house really at all tomorrow. I have waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much to do to get this place back in shape!

I am about to set 5 alarms (not lie) and get up at his +2 to get a test and then start getting going....of course I have to take after my DM and be a night cleaner :roll:

He ate all his wet and then left. I brought him back to his plate after the frozen thawed a bit and he pretty much ate all of that. So here we go again with another transition!
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291

Don't move too fast with the raw

He's doing so well with his IBD, you don't want to throw him off by transitioning too quickly

When you get done cleaning your house, you can come here!

dust-bunnies.jpg
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291

Oh trust me, I plan to have the raw be a VERY slow process with lots of monitoring and watching him.....I am not sure how slow is too slow, but I am thinking AT LEAST of week of 25% raw and 75% wet and then see where he is at after that. But if he needs longer on the 25/75 split, I am cool with that. Then it will be a 50/50, then monitor and so on.

I want to make sure it is the right thing for him. If the raw doesn't work out, I won't be too upset because the wet (knock on wood) is working out great! So worst case, he is a wet food cat, which isn't a bad thing at all.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291

Nice cycle today Skooter! Nice job shooting that AMPS Molly. I probably would have held the dose, too. Sometimes all it takes is the threat of a dosecrease written in a kitty's condo, and wouldn't you know it...they slide right down and avoid an increase just to keep us guessing. :lol: Hope Skooter brings it down for you again tonight (slowly), and starts to flatten out a bit.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291

Molly, I just looked at Skooter's spreadsheet. If you gave him 3 tsp of raw and 4.5 tsp of wet, that's 40% raw - not 25%. That might be a little much as a starting point.

I'm so glad his numbers have come down again! Great job!

Linda
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291

Well crap..I went of the Nature's Variety web site and thought I did the math correctly....Ugh....

So far everything is ok, so we shall see. I will need to figure out how to do the percentages then, I never was good at math :)
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271

Just take the total number of tsp. you want to feed him and multiply by .25, If you want to feed him a total of 8 tsp, 2 of the 8 would be 25%. If you feed 7 tsp, 1.75 of the 7 would be 25%. I hope that makes sense.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271

I thought that is what I did.

I went to the web site and used their feeding guide. I put in that I wanted him to have 25% raw and 75% wet. So it said he should have 1/4 cup (12 teaspoons) raw and 6 oz (36 teaspoons) of wet per day and I feed him 4 times a day. Oh wait, I see my problem.....I think I got the teaspoon calculation wrong on the wet.

I should have given 3 teaspoons of raw and 9 teaspoons of wet? So not only did I get the ratio wrong, I didn't give him enough food ohmygod_smile

So now I have no idea what I should give him for his last meal of the night, which is in about an hour.


So starting tomorrow, if I give him 3 teaspoons raw and 9 teaspoons wet I should be good, yes? I wonder how this will effect his BG this cycle.... ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271

Better double check on the NV raw. I just read they have dropped the taurine in it. It might be ok if they have other ingredients but I'd double check.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271

Just to throw another monkey wrench into the raw/wet food calculations, raw food is usually more calories per the same volume. In other words, one tsp of raw is not equivalent to a tsp of the wet. Neko was getting 5.5 ounces of wet food per day but now only gets 4 ounces of raw food. There is less filler in raw food so you serve less by volume.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168

Marje - I think someone posted something about this on the Facebook page. There are a couple of people who have already sent e-mails trying to confirm this. Of course I am stupid and dumb and have no idea what the significance of taurine, but assuming I should be worried as you mentioned it as well as on the Facebook page. I was planning to follow up with the Facebook page Monday once people got responses.

As for how I determined the amount of food and ratio of raw to wet to give Skooter. I went to: http://www.instinctpetfood.com/feedguide to figure that out. Skooter hovers around the 12 pound mark, which the vet is pleased with, so I selected a 12 pound cat who needs to maintain weight with a 25% raw and 75% wet diet and the result it gave me was to give him 1/4 cup raw and 6 ounces of wet per day. So I figured out what each of those were in teaspoons. 1/4 cup is 12 teaspoons (thank goodness an easy number divisable by 4, since he gets four meals a day) and came up with 3 teaspoons of raw and did the same for the 6 ounces, which was 36 teaspoons (again yay for an easy number divisable by 4) and came up with 9.....I am not sure how I messed it up with his dinner, but I did supplement with additional wet after Linda pointed out my math error. Was this the wrong way to figure out how much of each I should give?

If I go back and use the calculator for doing 100% raw, it says he should get 1 1/8 cups (or 9 oz) a day....so once again, SHOCKER I am doing something wrong for my cat....Ugh I should just give him to someone who understands all this crap already.....

So now I have no idea what to feed him tomorrow.....I thought I was doing a good thing by going to the product's web site to ensure I was doing everything right, and once again, #momfail.....

I was gonna try and get some decent shut eye in my bed tonight (I have pretty much been sleeping on the couch since home testing, so I could get up easier to check on him and test him), but now with the 123 mg/dL drop in 4 hours, no clue if I should be testing again. He does tend to nadir early, but.....
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168

I hate to encourage you to get up and test but it's only +4 and he's still dropping so I'd probably set 40 alarms and test in a couple hours.

I think you are doing great and not a failure at anything!!! You'll get it figured out. :-D
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168

I was thinking an additional test would be in order.....

Am I safe to wait til +6 or should I get a +5 and see?

I still have to finish season 6 of NCIS and then have seasons 7 and 8 that have not been opened....so I can turn those on and set the alarms in case I fall asleep :)
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154

I did a +5 and still coming down, but not as badly....

Thinking of doing a +7 and calling it a night as long as that number looks good? Or should I do a +6?
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154

At the rate he's coming down, I think you are safe with a +7. Of course it's a gamble at this point. If you get a +6 and he's going up, then you can go to sleep for the night. I often make testing decisions based on what might give me the most amount of consecutive sleep. :lol: The down side is Skooter will be down and you'll still have to get a +7. :roll:

BTW, I think you are a great mom with Skooter. I've learned not to trust manufacturers entirely on amount of food to serve. According to Wellness, Neko should have been getting almost 2 5.5 oz cans a day instead of the one she was getting. Just keep weighing Skooter regularly and that will tell you if you have the amount of food right for him.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154

Thanks for the encouragement...

I think I am still in information overload... between that, lack of sleep, worrying all the time about making mistakes, etc.....I guess I just haven't found a good balance yet....and it seems like every time I THINK I figured something out....nope it was all wrong lol

I think I will go with the +6 as that is about 30 minutes away and he normally nadirs around 4 or 5.....I will gamble it tonight and I guess go back to bed and set the alarm for a +2 after T/F/S his AMPS lol :roll:
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154

I'm the same as Wendy. Mi hate to poke every hour for high blue but if she's slowing down and I figure one more test will do it, I'll do it sooner so I can get more sleep.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154

That is what I am hoping for with his +6....but very rarely does this lil bugger do what I would LIKE him to do, so lol

If still coming down at +6 am I good to wait til +8 to do the next test or should I be doing a +7? I don't want to be poking him all the time either, so hard to find a good balance.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154 +6 144

Looks like Skooter is coming down very nice and slowly. You can probably take a pokie break for a while. :smile:
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154 +6 144

Phew...he is starting to get a bit antsy with me when I test him....I think he has had enough.....

Should I be setting the alarm to get any more tests before his AMPS ?
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154 +6 144

If it's been a while since you last fed, you're probably OK till morning. One thing that you might consider is occasionally getting a +11. For me, it's torture to get out of bed at 4:15 AM, but I have found the data useful, when I can force myself to get up for 2 minutes to test. For example, this morning, a +11 would have given you a warning that Skooter might have a low AMPS, so you can plan/prepare for what you want to do to shoot a low AMPS. For me, that +11 will warn me if Eddie's still dropping on his way to pre-shot, which means I will need to be vigilant early in the cycle, or if he's rising fast from +11 to pre-shot, then he's probably going to continue up until the insulin onsets a few hours later.
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154 +6 144

Yeah he hasn't had anything to eat for a few hours....

I have done the +11, but will admit, sure is easier to get that in before his PMPS vs AMPS....

He did get his does a weeeeee bit late tonight, so I am thinking I can set the alarm to get a +11 around 6 am....I will be shooting at 0645 this morning (how sad, this morning) to try and get him back to the 630 am/pm rotation.

Hopefully Eddie let's you get some sleep soon!
 
Re: 7/26 Skooter PMPS 291 +2 271 +4 168 +5 154 +6 144

I think he's ok for tonight Molly

He's slowed the dropped considerably and as you've noticed, he usually nadirs early
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top