7/26 SHEBA AMPS 317 +8 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-25-sheba-amps-293-5-295-two-questions.141541/

AMPS 317
Sheba had a really good run of green numbers last night after a PMPS 126.
I tried not to let the numbers drop too low as I didn't want to trigger a bounce....but it looks like it has happened anyway....

I woke to hear Sheba vomiting just before the alarm went off. It is the first vomit she has had since starting the SEB and was disappointing. It was the empty tummy vomit she sometimes has just before meals. Just fluid....this time the colour of the SEB she had had 4 hours earlier. Interestingly last night was the first night in ages I didn't give her the auto feeder overnight with chicken stock and tiny bits of chicken to keep her tummy from being empty.....I was up so late with her and she had had food in her tummy late so I thought she would be OK

Thank you to everyone who visited our condo yesterday with advise about chin acne and dosage. The amount of knowledge here is amazing.
 
We're sending the ropes to pull Sheba back down!

cat ropes 2.jpeg
 
I think you are right about having something in the tummy. Worth trying, anyway. Sending tummy vines, too.

Sheba, what are you doing up there? I just got finished explaining to Neko that although pink is for girls, it just isn't the right choice for extra sweet girls like you! How about a nice little electric slide on down to some better colors? Say, blue and green? You can do it!
 
Thanks Carla, Anne, Tricia and Chris for cheering us on.
Chris....I wish she would play a board game...this trampoline has worn out its welcome well and truly!
Anne....thanks for the rope!
Tricia and Carla ........definitely makes a difference to have something in the tummy. I got to bed very late last night after PJ party and thought she would be OK after what I had given her.....wrong!
Not sure about the electric slide Tricia.......Sheba has a way of turning them to fast :joyful::eek:
 
Morning Bron

Not 100% on my theory re the Purrdy manoeuvre as yet. It's a bit more art than science at this point as its a new thing still under development. I guess I was just astounded by what happened when he travelled over so trying to make some sense of that and see if it can be developed into a useable theory for some kitties. The things that are floating around in my head are as follows:
  • Some people recommend reducing the dose when you have a bouncing kitty. We have seen that very rarely works but the theory won't die so perhaps there is a little something to it. The temporary reduction followed by going straight back to the usual dose incorporates a little of that.
  • When they've been getting nice greens but have the liver putting up quite a fight with bouncing perhaps giving the liver less to fight about for a couple of cycles makes it feel a little more secure and back off - a chance for the liver to take a break and reconsider its position.
  • Some kitties may require a little more than the standard 6 cycles to show what a dose can really do (I've noticed with Purrdy I'm better off letting him go 8) so I'm thinking, particularly when you've got a higher dose kitty and stay right on top of the increases we might easily go a little past where they want to be. Not into overdose territory but just a little past so that letting the depot drain a little helps them rebalance.
Purrdy hasn't gone straight back to getting reductions this time but he is back in normal numbers and looking a heck of a lot better than he was before I tried it. He may still end up needing the increase but it certainly hasn't done any harm and he has ditched most of the yellow.
 
Sending healing vines for Sheba- I couldn't find in her profile if she is a CKD kitty? If she is, I would suspect acid in the tummy first thing before breakfast. If so, famatodine might help, you might ask your vet. And I just read your condo from yesterday, there is a poster on the Tanya's Support Group, Ro, who swears by a special brand of aloe, it is a long standing disagreement between her and another poster on that forum. I cannot remember the details, but you might ask on that forum. (although I want to say aloe is more for constipation/ulcers than skin irritations in cats?) Anyhow, hope Sheba feels better! :bighug:
 
More vines for Sheba's tummy and also some for her chin. When I worked part time/volunteered at the local shelter, we'd get lots of cats with chin acne. We used to use a warm compress a couple times a day to try to express them.

Neko got rid of her trampoline - I hope Sheba does the same, but not quickly. :rolleyes:
 
Sending healing vines for Sheba- I couldn't find in her profile if she is a CKD kitty? If she is, I would suspect acid in the tummy first thing before breakfast. If so, famatodine might help, you might ask your vet. And I just read your condo from yesterday, there is a poster on the Tanya's Support Group, Ro, who swears by a special brand of aloe, it is a long standing disagreement between her and another poster on that forum. I cannot remember the details, but you might ask on that forum. (although I want to say aloe is more for constipation/ulcers than skin irritations in cats?) Anyhow, hope Sheba feels better! :bighug:

Thanks Ruth for looking in :bighug::bighug:. I hope you are OK. @Tiger and Ruth
I have never done a profile for Sheba...I should.
Yes, she does have early stage CRD. She occasionally gets the early morning or late afternoon acid vomit, but this is the first time since I started SEB. I usually make sure she has something in her tummy and she is Ok. Last night I didn't because I was up late with her having a PJ party and didn't set the auto feeder.....
I know Ro on Tanya's support group....I must ask her about the aloe Vera.
Sheba is fine now. Those acid vomits never seem to bother her...they sound terrible but she is OK after it passes.
 
More vines for Sheba's tummy and also some for her chin. When I worked part time/volunteered at the local shelter, we'd get lots of cats with chin acne. We used to use a warm compress a couple times a day to try to express them.

Neko got rid of her trampoline - I hope Sheba does the same, but not quickly. :rolleyes:
@Wendy&Neko
Warm compresses sound a good idea. She doesn't have anything to express, just discoloured skin and black flecks at times. Looks like a dirty chin. It does get messy when she eats because I always add water to the food. Just appeared out of the blue.

How did you get rid of the trampoline...........I thought Sheba had given up as well but no.....she is back to her favourite pastime.
+8 178 so she is on the way down again.
I looked up your apples last night on Google ....interesting history.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top