donaleen and Ozy
Member Since 2013
Please look at his SS (attached to signature) and see what you think. How often should I be testing him? He dropped from 194 to 108 in three hours. I am a little scared.
Marje and Gracie said:I would try to not feed him within two hours of his shot because we don't want to take the chance of an inflated preshot number (because it is influenced by food). While many free feed their cats, just know that if you do, feeding after nadir also can slow down the effects of the insulin. Lantus and Levemir are known for their nice, long durations and carryover/overlap. If you feed after the peak action of the insulin, you might diminish the duration. You can see how he responds; as I said, many free feed and feed after nadir.
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
A cycle can be inactive for lots of reasons. Your cat may be bouncing and it takes up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear and numbers to come back down. Numbers may, for some inexplicable reason be high and flat. It may be a flat cycle at any number range. You could have given a fur shot and not know it. Ozy could have eaten contraband or been stressed and numbers are high. It could be the moon (I'm only semi-kidding about that.) Your insulin may be old or bad. A cycle can be inactive because you're dealing with a cat and they do not like being predictable.What is an inactive cycle? Why would a cycle be inactive?
Ozy's nadir was at +3 today. It's been a +6 on several days. Nadirs can change. They can change as quickly as from cycle to cycle. Gabby's nadir is typically at around +3 or +4 except on days when it isn't. (See comment in bold above for an additional reason.) Because the nadir is early doesn't necessarily effect the duration of Lantus for your cat.It looks like his nadir for this cycle may have been at +3. Why would that be? Does that mean that Lantus doesn't last very long with him?
Sometimes, as a bounce is clearing, numbers drop later in the cycle. Also, if you factor in 20% meter variance, the difference between 260 and 195 is not that much. However, it was a dropping number at your AMPS. Numbers can drop after a cat eats. Food stimulates the pancreas to produce and release it's own insulin. This is what happens in a non-diabetic. If a diabetic cat's pancreas is healing, the pancreas may sputter and put out insulin when it's stimulated by food. (See comment in bold above for an additional reason.)It seems like there are so many variables that it is hard to know what to do. Although I want his numbers to drop, I get scared if they drop quickly (like they did today). Especially when they drop AFTER he eats. Like this morning, why would they drop from 260 at +10, when I fed him to 195 pre shot?
The numbers, at least in most cases, aren't wild and crazy. It takes a while to learn to read and interpret a spreadsheet. And, of course, cat's don't like being predictable so sometimes numbers can be weird because we're dealing with cats.I also study other cats' SS to see what goes on. Even after a few years of treatment and careful monitoring, the numbers seem wild and crazy.
No matter what instrument you're using -- a glucometer, thermometer, blood pressure cuff, or even a response to a questionnaire -- there is measurement error. (The term is "standard error of measurement.") The number you're seeing is, in essence, an average of all of the possible readings. If you were to get a big drop of blood and test repeatedly, you wouldn't always get the same exact number. Our instruments aren't that precise. We use that "average" that we see on the meter and base our decisions on the numbers we see. If a number seems way off, most of us re-test because it can be a legitimate error of either the meter or the strip.And if the glucometers vary their readings by that much, how can one make decisions about insulin amounts?
Nadirs change. It doesn't mean that Oz is fighting the low numbers or the insulin. There are cycles when his nadir is at +6 and times when it's not. It's fine and it's normal.Please look at his sheet. When is his nadir? It seems all over the place to me. Does that mean his body is fighting the low numbers? How do I get past that? Does the body give up fighting?
The insulin has already made him more engaged and alert and feeling better plus improving his coat, he doesn't stink any more, he isn't so thirsty or ravenous, his legs are more steady, he is more comfortable.
Increasing the Dose
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.