7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 PMPS 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
Morning LL,

Another long night.... Ollie's BG fell from PMPS 231 to +4 100. I decided to stay up with him to make sure he didn't crash. He didn't, and stayed in the blue all night :). I tried to feed him some MC at +4 so I could get some sleep (these nights are starting to take their toll!) and he gobbled it up, only to puke it all back up right after I laid down at about +5. I'm really happy that he stayed in the blues. This morning his AMPS was also blue - 110 and I decided to give a skinny full dose (s2.25). He's eating much better now, seems resigned to the fact that I am NOT going to give him the kitty crack ever again.

I have to leave at +6 - fingers crossed for no crashes.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 Dose Question

Ollie +4 this AM is 23. But he has NO hypo symptoms whatsoever! He's hungary but I've been giving a snack at +4 for awhile now. I'm going to follow the hypo protocol and will decrease his dose tonight. Does anyone think a .5 unit (from 2.25 to 1.75) is an over-reaction?

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23

You have time for that question later. Get some HC gravy into the boy. Just gravy for now so as not to fill him up. Check again in 15 minutes.

Put "DOSE ??? in subject of first post to get advice.
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 DOSE

Thanks Ann. He's up to 100 already, at +27 min. from the hypo reading at +4. What do you think it means that every time he goes low (which has only been a handful of times) he 1) shows no symptoms and 2) comes up really quickly??

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 DOSE

Lots of cats don't show hypo symptoms when low. that means even though we were seeing really low numbers they are in crisis yet. We just need to get them out of there. It also sounds like Ollie is very sensitive to carbs, so it doesn't take much to bring him up. I seldom need to feed Tess much more than a little 8% to get her back up. You'll learn what it takes to control Ollie's drops and to know when they are likely to happen. That's where all the testing comes in. When you have a lower preshot, it helps to get an early +1 or at least +2 test to see where he is heading. A +11 will also give you advance warning at the preshot, is he still dropping, surfing or going up?

You did good today.
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 +4.5 100 DOSE

Thanks so much for your support (and everyone at LL), I can't tell you how important it has been to me over the past 2 weeks. Ollie really does seem sensitive to carbs - his BG skyrockets if he has the tiniest bit of dry. It is a bit of a struggle with all the wet food (LC, MC, and HC). It seems like, from our limited experience with them, that he tends to puke up anything other than Wellness Chicken. Which is problematic because he likes the other flavors more - the cheaper and fishier the better :). Oh Ollie...

Thanks Ann and everyone at LL!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 +4.5 100 DOSE

Have you considered raw/ Try just giving him a few chunks of raw chicken while you are cooking to see if he likes it. The simple way to start is to get one of the powdered supplements, mix it in water and add to the meat chunks. You don't have to grind or make big batches. I've figured it out to what I need to add for a single meal. Tess loves it, but you can't leave it sitting out.
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 +4.5 100 +6 133 +8 83

I have tried raw food in the past. It seems like unless it is dry kibble, Ollie will only eat really soupy food. I always add water to his canned food. I don't think he likes raw chxn anyway. He's having another dip right now....+8 is 83. Is .5 U the largest redux people usually recommend?

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 +4.5 100 +6 133 +8 83

Hi Klaree. Sorry but I don't think I ever welcomed you to the LL family before. You've been having quite the exciting time the last couple of weeks haven't you? It sounds like Ollie is a bit like my Tori. She is one of those kitties who tolerates being low and hardly ever lets me know when she is. Whenever I see her go and stand by her food bowl and keeps looking at me I know she is low. That's why I always make sure I test her every 6 hours around the clock. It works for me because I am a nightshift worker and my son is home every night when I'm away. Tori also comes up quickly with usually just a snack of her raw food.

It sounds like you are doing really well. Low numbers are scary especially when you aren't sure yet how your kitty responds to things. Congratulations on the dose reduction. I personally find that with Tori I can go only move up or down in 1/4 unit increments. See where Ollie is at preshot time and post his number before you decide and I'm sure someone will be around to advise you.

Again welcome and sorry I missed you before.
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 +4.5 100 +6 133 +8 83

Thanks Barb! I'm sorry, I didn't formally introduce myself. I was all business when I first found this site! I will post PMPS and see what everyone says. I'm leaning toward a .25 redux because I'll stay up all night with him to monitor what is going on. The last few days have been a roller coaster of #'s and I want to try to be as consistent as possible. We'll see...

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 +4.5 100 +6 133 +8 83

Nice catch!
23 is a little extreme Ollie... 37 would go the trick!
I also agree with the 0.25U decrease (vs your proposed 0.5) and at 23 (or even in the 30s) - it would be thanksgiving dinner at my house... I don't care about carb sensitivity... but that's just me. I'd rather deal with a touch of higher than lots of lows.

Now tonight... don't forget about the shed. I don't remember how familiar you are with Lantus, so let me apologize in advance in you already know this stuff, you although you have reduced the dose (or maybe you haven't yet... dang time zones), the reduced dose might have some extra push from this morning's dose..... although he might also bounce like he did on the 24th.... you'll see. My point is, don't assume that because you reduced the dose now, that the effect of the decreased dose will be instantaneous.... make sense?
 
Re: 7/26 Ollie AMPS 110 +4 23 +4.5 100 +6 133 +8 83

I agree with Helene - reduce the dose tonight.

Also, you need to remember that in a newly diagnosed diabetic, a BG below 50 warrants a reduction. Ollie had a 48 at PM +2 on 7/24. From what I can tell, you didn't reduce his dose. It might help if you printed out the protocol so you have it handy as a quick reference.

Also, please remember to link your previous day's condo to your first post of the day. I was going to look at your condo from 7/24 to see if there was a reason you didn't reduce but I didn't want to plow through 2 days of condos.
 
Hi everyone,

First, thanks! Second, Ollie's PMPS was 101 and I gave him 2.00 (a .25 redux). Ollie has been diabetic for 1 year 11 months (Vetsulin 08/2008-06/2010). I was following the protocol that says to redux if <40 for a long-time diabetic. So his 48 on the 24th followed by a AMPS of 405 on the 25th made me want to keep the 2.25 for a smidge longer. [I'm so sorry, I don't know how to link a condo, is there a sticky for that? I think I remember seeing that somewhere, I'll look again tonight while I wait up with him.] Anyway, last night he surfed nicely in the low 100's (blues) and his AMPS this morning was 110. I decided on the full 2.25 to see what would happen. His PMPS tonight was 101 and I shot 2.00 (a redux of .25). I'll keep posting to let everyone know if he crashes again.

Question - so he may rebound from having a 23, right? I should just hold this 2.00 dose for about 5 days even if he skyrockets again?

THanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Hi Klaree and Ollie and welcome to LL. I'm happy to see that you got some good advice about your new dose and just want to wish you good luck with it.

Ella & Stu
 
wow, great catch on that number today! Now he forces us to take the reduction.

He might bounce, but yes, hold this new dose. You don't necessarily have to hold for 5 days. If a dose reduction fails, you go right back up to the last good dose. What does "right back up" mean? Each cat is different. Generally we wait until any bounce has cleared (up to 3 days). Then if the numbers aren't back in green, we'll go back up.

As Helene said, you do have to keep an eye on tonight's cycle. The first cycle of a reduced dose usually has some "shed" action from the previous dose influencing it, so often they still drop on the first cycle of a reduction. Get your early spot checks to be safe.
 
Hi Klaree,to link your condo from the previous day:
  • --copy the URL for previous condo
    --go back to the forum list and open a new topic
    --you'll see a number of buttons above the window for the text
    --click on the URL button, it will give you this code with the insertion point between the brackets
    --paste the URL you copied from the previous day's condo where the insertion point is between the brackets

That's it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top