7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77 +6=

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo
Hi LL,

I am facing super low numbers for the first time ever. We have a massive thunderstorm going on outside, the power is going on and off, and the pets are freaking out.

PMPS=294
+2=198
+3.5=54

I gave her about 3 tsp of HC gravy and a crunchy treat and I plan to test her every 15 min until she goes up and stays up. I'm scared to lose internet connection/power again. Mama bean is really anxious. It's the "perfect storm" tonight. Literally.....

Anyone out there who can provide guidance? Anything else I need to do?
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 Help!

Liz

In my signature block is a link to Handling Low Numbers. Print that if you can before the lights go out.

You did the right thing but wait 30 mins to test again. You won't see any progress in 15. I'll be here if you'll post your next number.

BTW, dry food and crunchy treats take way too long to kick in. Stick with small amounts of HC gravy for now.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 Help!

We refer to the process as "lather, rinse, and repeat." You're going to want to test and feed every 20 - 30 min. until Nadia is surfing safely in the 50s or 60s. You're doing exactly the right thing.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4=56 Help!

Thank you so much - printing now. Internet/power has stayed on for the past 30 min or with no interruption. I really hope this storm is on it's way out.

We just tested again at the 30 min mark since we gave her LC gravy. She's now at 60. Should I give more gravy?
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 Help!

Sienne and Gabby said:
We refer to the process as "lather, rinse, and repeat." You're going to want to test and feed every 20 - 30 min. until Nadia is surfing safely in the 50s or 60s. You're doing exactly the right thing.

Thanks so much. Its crazy that you had posted in my earlier condo that kitties can drop from a high PS to a very low number quickly. Little did I know Nadia was about to take note and try it herself.

So when you say she needs to surf in the 50's-60s, how many tests will I need to see before I should stop worrying? Let me preface this by saying I'm more than happy to stay up as long as needed. She is my #1 priority.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 Help!

Did you give her LC gravy or HC gravy? Most gravy varieties are HC

I'd just retest in 20-30...see if she goes up, but remember, the effect of HC can wear off, so you'll want to keep testing for awhile to make sure she doesn't go down again

Good luck...I'm up late tonight too! I've got a 57
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 Help!

Chris & China said:
Did you give her LC gravy or HC gravy? Most gravy varieties are HC

I'd just retest in 20-30...see if she goes up, but remember, the effect of HC can wear off, so you'll want to keep testing for awhile to make sure she doesn't go down again

Good luck...I'm up late tonight too! I've got a 57

Good luck to you too! I have given her a HC gravy.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 Help!

I'm new here, so I can't offer any advice, but I'm praying for you and your kitty!
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 Help!

I figured you had just mis-typed...as much as China loves gravy, I'd love to find some that's LC!!

She dropped to 21 on Monday...that freaked me out some..I just gave her a little of her usual LC food tonight and will retest in a few...make sure she's either past her nadir or go ahead and give her a little of that lovely gravy she loves so much!
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 Help!

Marje and Gracie said:
I'd give her two tsp of LC food and retest in 30.

Crap, I didn't read this in time and already gave her about a tsp of HC gravy.

And to add to the fun around here, the dog peed in the dining room. I found Nadia rolling around in it. We're having a regular ol' party around here!
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 Help!

You didn't do any permanent damage :smile:

Next time, you won't be quite so panicked, and the next time you'll be even less so, and the time after that you'll start taking it in stride. If you retest, and it's going up, just give a little LC and retest again in 20-30....that way you won't get Nadia too high and have to test all night to make sure it's not just the HC


I guess the dog didn't want to feel left out :lol:
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 Help!

Next time, you won't be quite so panicked, and the next time you'll be even less so, and the time after that you'll start taking it in stride

well said Chris. it is true. However, being a newbie I was much more stressed and panicked with your 21 the other morning that you were :shock: .......but like you said.....you will start taking it in stride.......

just thought I would say hi.....you did great! your still doing great Liz!!

I am glad you still have your sense of humor in your highly stressed night.....had to laugh at the dog!
:lol:
you are in good hands!

~kelly
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 Help!

Okay, cleaned up the dog pee (which Nadia thought was a cat spa or something lol) and was able to test again. She's at 60 still. She's eating some LC food now. Testing again in 30 min and more LC food?

At what point should I feel confident she's safe and out of the woods?

And will I still give her a 1u dose for her AM (provided she's at a high level again)? Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself here.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 Help!

It's ok Liz. Don't even worry! It's a learning experience.

Ick on her rolling in dog pee :shock:

How's it going now?
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 Help!

Crap, I didn't read this in time and already gave her about a tsp of HC gravy.

that is not a problem. Just test 30 minutes from that time. And at that test, you can switch to LC.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 Help!

Hi Liz,

Hi Marje, fancy meeting you here! And hello Chris and Kelly!

Nadia was a couple hours late for the party tonight.

All good?
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60

Hey Liz

I've got to get to bed but Carl is up for a bit if you need help.

Hope it settles down there! Night.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

Thanks! She's up to 77 now. At what point will I know she's safe to head to bed? Do I give more LC food now or just test again?
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

You can feed another spoon of LC now, test in 30. If the number is higher, you can hold off food, test in 30 and if the number hasn't dropped below where you're at now, you should be able to get some sleep.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

Liz,
Can you leave food out for Nadia that the others won't get into? Because when you feel okay with going to bed, you could leave some food out and if she needs it, she'll eat it.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

Carl, yes I can leave some out and it will be available to her when I ultimately go to sleep. She had LC food about 10 minutes ago, so I'm waiting 20 more minutes to test her. Do you think I still will give her the same dose tomorrow AM? Or decrease it? Or we don't know yet?
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

Well, the protocol says you'd stick with the 1u dose. But let me find something Marje posted in another thread earlier tonight about reducing...
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

hi liz. i'm not carl, but have been around long enough to say... these are the kind of numbers you've been working so hard to see!
you certainly test a lot. unless you feel like you had to fight to keep her numbers up, i'd stick with the current dose and tell nadia, "do it again!" :mrgreen:

just my thoughts...



edited to add: that is unless you have to fight to keep the numbers up during the remainder of the cycle.
any time you have to fight to keep numbers above 50 you'd want to take a reduction.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

She's up now at +6=153. I have not fed her and will test again in 30 min per your recommendations. She shot way up. :)
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

If she shot up quickly without food to help, then this could be the start of a bounce. The drop from PMPS to a 54 only 3.5 hours later was probably sort of a shock to her system. All of a sudden she went from near 300 to "normal", and her body wasn't comfortable with that.

Not a problem. It just happens.

Jill is right....these are the kind of numbers we all want to see and work towards. That doesn't mean it's easy-peasey to deal with them when they happen all of a sudden, and the more often you see them, the bigger your smile will get :mrgreen:

I can't find what I mentioned earlier. But part of it was what Jill just posted.
unless you feel like you had to fight to keep her numbers up, i'd stick with the current dose

If it's really hard to keep the numbers above 50, and it goes on for hours, then sometimes a reduction can make sense, even if it didn't drop under 50.

There's a "catch" though, with a depot-type insulin like Lantus. Often, the effects of a reduction or an increase in dose are seen immediately. It can take 2 or 3 days after a dose change before you are actually seeing the true results of the new dose. The depot has to "settle" to the new dose level. So you could reduce in the morning, but that doesn't always mean you will see a reduction "on your meter". Same with an increase. Sometimes people will increase the dose, and then be confused because the numbers don't improve the next cycle like they thought they would.

The very best thing to do when you have a question about dose, whether it's an increase or decrease, or it's a lower number at shot time than you feel good about giving insulin on, is to post before shooting and put "dose advice" in the subject line. Always ask when in doubt, and somebody will be there to help you out.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

Liz, the climb in BG to 153 means you can leave out a snack and get some sleep.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

Thank you ALL so much for your help! She's now up to 250! Holy cow!!!!! :)
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia PMPS=294 +2=198 +3.5=54 +4.5=60 +5=60 +5.5=77

Yeah, I'm thinking "bouncing like Tigger". But still a very good night, and you did great with handling your first "greens" too. :mrgreen: See you tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top