7/26 Musette amps 300, +2~237, +5~113, +8~260, pmps 332

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Just when I think we are getting somewhere she decides to sneak another pink in on me.

Mel,Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/26 Musette amps 300, +2~237

oh, but that is just barely pink - by 1 point! With meter variation it isn't even pink at all! :roll:

Well, don't get too upset by it. That + 2 is pretty nice - quite a lot of drop in the first 2 hours too.
 
Re: 7/26 Musette amps 300, +2~237, +5~113 =)

And we got so much better at +5.....lol maybe she was having as hard of a time waking up this morning as I was...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 7/26 Musette amps 300, +2~237, +5~113 =)

I think she is settling nicely on this dose. Wondering though if it is causing a tiny bit of swinging? See how things go for a few more days. Watch for the PS to keep going up. Last night's 370 was kinds high. She may need a tiny bit less - .3u maybe.

Looks like you are near best dose, so fine-tuning in very small increments of no more than .1u, probably more like .05u. It makes a difference.
 
Re: 7/26 Musette amps 300, +2~237, +5~113 =)

Yeah I think I'm close, it is just going to take a little fine tuning. To me it looks like her ideal dose is somewhere between .25 & .40. As she was pretty steady but high on the .25 (although wondering now if that was the insulin, not the dose, since the same time I increased dose I also changed over to Maxwell's leftovers). If she keeps swinging I may drop her back down a tad to see if perhaps those higher but stable numbers were from that insulin not being good. Probably going to hold her here until this weekend, get a curve on her and then adjust from there. I'm almost expecting her to react tonight to that +5 of 113.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.

BTW: My vet is absolutely fascinated by the way I have learned to adjust her dose. lol Now he wants me to teach him how to microdose. :-D
 
Re: 7/26 Musette amps 300, +2~237, +5~113 =)

MommaOfMuse said:
BTW: My vet is absolutely fascinated by the way I have learned to adjust her dose. lol Now he wants me to teach him how to microdose. :-D
Cool! Please share my photos with him if you think it will help. I always do better with pictures myself. I really feel, as do many here, that a lot of cats do better on smaller doses and smaller dose changes than .25u or .5u. Heck, I barely got Beau to .5u (he was there about 2 days) and Jeddie got over that, but by making very small increases of .1u. (although right now he is at .25u). Vicky came up with making percentage dose changes, so the smaller the dose the smaller the change.

He might also be interested in the weening off insulin process when they are headed OTJ. If you want to show him Beau's SS for that, you have my permission.
 
Re: 7/26 Musette amps 300, +2~237, +5~113, +8~260 =)

Thanks I would love to share those with him, He's been laid up for while right now after getting kicked by a horse, but has been following her spreadsheet, well that and his son and my husband play for the same band. So the other night he was at one of the gigs where the band was playing and was asking how I figured out those tiny doses, so realizing I still had one of her syringes that I had taken with me to go syringe shopping (1/2 u marks seem to be a mystery here) while I was searching for a pen to try to draw him a picture...he got a first hand demo with a Jack&Coke...lol But I think your pictures might be clearer although last I heard from his son, his dad was practicing trying to get 5 drops of equal size out of .5 u...lol.

On a related note: Somehow I just knew she was going to bounce after that +5 of 113, and that 260 at +8 proves it...Hey at least I'm getting better at calling her patterns. I should have thougth about the change in pens when I raised her dose...so back down we go again, .4 of this pen is to much and she is starting to bounce again.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Well better than last nights pmps but still in the pink. But her new insulin is scheduled to arrive by 10:30 am tomorrow, so I'm thinking with a fresh batch I'm going to drop her back to the .25u and see if fresh insulin makes a difference, and slowly go up from there.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks I feel very blessed to have a vet that is as open minded as mine is, he is always willing to learn a new trick or two, and readily admits when he doesn't know something. I was at work the other day when he came in late, and went rushing in to the surgical suite with a cardboard box, someone had hit a squirrel, and he had brought it to work so he could set it's leg...not to many around here would be concerned about a little squirrel, but he truly loves the critters. :-D

Since I started working part time for him I have had squirrels, possum, a fox, and a couple of raccoons, besides the normal dogs and cats to look after in the kennels. One day we even had 36 puppies and dogs that were brought in by a brand new rescue in town, we did the routine physicals, flea meds, ear mites and vacs...grand total for the rescue....FREE! and the spay and neuters they were charged $25/per animal. I so can't wait to get through school and go to work for these folks full-time.

When they had my little heart kitty in to be spayed, I got a call after she was done asking if it was okay if Dr. Rick took her home for the night so he could make sure she was breathing okay. Then opened the clinic up on a Sunday just so I could pick her up, annd got a second call that night from him, just checking up on her. Now that is what I call a great Vet.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
That IS a great vet.

Yep, she is bouncing on that dose. There may be some more settle on this dose - getting used to the lower numbers still, but if you are starting new insulin tomorrow night it's probably a good idea to start lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top