7/26 Mikey AMPS 85 +5/72 PMPS 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo [urlhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75731][/url]


Mikey's last dose of prednisone was last night. He is still on .5u but not sure if I need to keep him on if his numbers stay green. Can I start giving "fat zero" or .1u?
 
Re: 7/26 Mikey AMPS 85 decrease dose?

Tight Regulation Protocol said:
Reducing the dose:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

So, what do you think you need to do?
 
Re: 7/26 Mikey AMPS 85 decrease dose?

So even though his numbers are green if they don't go below 40 I'm going to need to INCREASE his dose until it goes under 40 in order to decrease his dose?
 
Re: 7/26 Mikey AMPS 85 +5/72 PMPS 81 DOSE?

Tonight was Mikey's 19th cycle at .5u so I'm confused as to why I didn't have to increase to .75 at cycle 10 and why now I have to get him to a BG of below 40 to do a decrease? It seems the prednisone was making his BG's rise and now he's off of the meds and staying green why I can't start decreasing or at least start start decreasing in a few days?
 
Re: 7/26 Mikey AMPS 85 +5/72 PMPS 81 DOSE?

Jenn

Here is what Sienne was trying to show you if he does not drop below 50:

Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Mikey is still a newly diagnosed diabetic....he only needs to go below 50 to earn a reduction OR be in normal numbers for seven days. I would start counting seven days on the a.m. cycle of 7/21 although you did have a 156 one evening due to the pred. Tonight would end six days. If he maintains numbers in the normal range all through tomorrow, then decrease his dose on Saturday.

If you want to be more conservative considering the 156, start counting the seven days on the a.m. cycle of 7/24.
 
Re: 7/26 Mikey AMPS 85 +5/72 PMPS 81 DOSE?

You know, just when I think I "understand" LL another curve ball!

Sorry for all my confusion. I will follow what you wrote Marje. I don't remember seeing "to be in normal numbers for 7 days before reducing dose further" prior to you writing it tonight.
 
Re: 7/26 Mikey AMPS 85 +5/72 PMPS 81 DOSE?

Found it!
Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

My mistake but again thanks for posting. You all have this stuff memorized and I feel like I'll never "get it".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top