7/26 Max Pmps(107) +2(76) +3(67) +4(57) +4.5(71) +5.5(59)

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone. Hope all is well with you.

Max now has 42 hours in Yellow and Blues. Still surfing? What does surfing mean other than that when he's finished surfing he will have an active cycle? It's good, right? Should I increase the dose? If so, by how much? (Thanks.)
 
Re: 7/26 Max +4.5(night) 172 +6 217 Amps 201 ???

Surfing simply means that the numbers are flat (i.e., within the same range). A cat can surf in greens or pinks. It's a surf when there aren't swings in the numbers. Surfing doesn't imply there will be an active cycle. However, for some cats, a flat yellow cycle often suggest an active cycle will follow.

I would hold Max's dose until tomorrow. He bounced off of the greens on 7/23. He's dropped to 50 on this dose so I would like to see the bounce clear (it can take 72 hours) so you can see where the numbers are at.

Please remember to link your previous day's condo. Max's 7/25 Condo
 
Re: 7/26 Max +4.5(night) 172 +6 217 Amps 201 ???

Thanks, Sienne! I agree. I didn't want to raise the dose considering how low he went at one point.
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) +11 (111) Update.

So here we are at +11 and his number is 111. Looks like we will have an active night. Please don't bounce!
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) +11 (111) Update.

Hi Dale

If he gives you a number at +12 that concerns you....i.e. you wonder if it is too low to shoot, don't feed, post and ask for help. Ok?? Looking good!
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) +11 (111) Update.

I'm okay with 107. I'll set my alarm and test him at +2 or soon thereafter. There's no food on board. So, we should be okay. Hope so! Thanks, Marje. Edited: He ate well, and is happily sleeping on the couch. Will test him in about 30 minutes.
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) Pmps (107) +2 (76) UPDATED

Max is at 76. He went to his bowl and ate again just before I tested him. I assume the food he ate will keep him stable, and I'll test again in 2 hours? Should I test earlier just in case? At +3?
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) Pmps (107) +2 (76) UPDATED question?

Dale

I'd definitely get a +3 as Sienne suggested since his +2 is less than PS. Do you need someone to stay up to help you with any low numbers that might occur or are you ok?
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) Pmps (107) +2 (76) UPDATED question?

Marje and Sienne, I know what to do if he goes too low, and I have all the supplies. I'd love the support, but I don't want anyone to stay up just for us.

I think, and correct me if I'm wrong, that his +11 which was 111 and his Pmps which was 107 are the same. He wasn't dropping, and the last shot had worn off by Pmps. What I don't know is how to interpret his data on the early part of the cycle. I suppose it doesn't matter if I just test him until he hits 100. Then, I can go to sleep, right, and test again at +4.5 or +5?
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) Pmps (107) +2 (76) UPDATED question?

Sometimes they drop early in the cycle for different reasons.

Without any mid cycle tests today, I can't say positively, but it looks to me like he's clearing a bounce. If that is the case, you would expect numbers to continue to drop until the bounce is cleared.

You need two, rising, non food influenced numbers to call it a night and it would be best if at least one was after his nadir so you know he won't come back down. The caveat there is if, at nadir, he has shot way up. Then I'd call it a night.

If you can, try and sleep/test.

Hope you are not up all night, Dale. :-D :-D And if he gives you a low number you are worried about, post.....there could be someone up. We have night owls.....and the East Coast folks often start coming on pretty early.

Good night.
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) Pmps (107) +2 (76) UPDATED question?

Yes, he is clearing a bounce. He's almost always clearing a bounce unless he's riding one up. I have no idea when nadir is. Ah, at least I have TV. So, I'll get two rising numbers after +5 because food hits about 2 hours after eating. He ate at +2.25 (low carb Wellness Turkey).

I'll hope to get some answers tomorrow about how to find nadir. I get the idea that I need to know when it is before I can really expect data on +1s, +2s and +10s and +11s to be useful in keeping him regulated. How I'm going to find it when he's rarely having a real curve is the mystery. For instance, on 6/25 his Amps and Pmps were nearly the same and his +6 was the lowest number. However, the numbers are all so close together, they probably don't mean anything at all. In addition, the night before the Pmps was in the Black, and the next day Amps was in the Red. On 7/15, his lowest number was at +7, but he started in the Red and ended in the Yellow. That's two examples. I don't do curves very often because Max seems to be bouncing or clearing a bounce nearly all the time. Is there any way I can get data regardless? Will doing a curve randomly once a week without regard to the bouncing be of any use?
 
Re: 7/26 Max Amps (201) Pmps (107) +2 (76) UPDATED question?

He just freaked me out! He was dreaming, and I petted him, but he didn't wake up. So, I scratched him and petted him more. Nothing. I started to pick him up, and his head lolled back. He was limp. My heart sank, and then he raised his head, and looked at me like "What's going on here?! Jeez, woman, I was having a good dream!" He was soooooo irritated! I tested him anyway and got 67. He put up with the testing, and then got up and started to leave, but he saw my bathrobe on the other side of the couch. He loves to cuddle up on anything that is on the couch -- clothes, papers, blankets, anything ON TOP of the couch is better that just the couch cushions themselves! So, he curled up on the bathrobe. It's gonna be a long night :roll:
 
Re: 7/26 Max Pmps (107) +2 (76) +3 (67) +4 (57)

If this trend continues he'll be at 37 at +6. I got him to eat just now. Now I'll try to sleep for 1/2 an hour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top