7/26 Jake's AMPS - 344 PMPS -184 *dose decrease*

Status
Not open for further replies.

breayle and jake

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20786

I didn't get a 12:00am test because I frackin' fell asleep! When I woke up this morning he was at 344... if you look at his numbers last night he coasted green for 6 hours! Makes me wonder where the jump came in. I gave him some canned food I got from the vet, Royal Canin duck formula and venison formula. I did not see any grains but there was a fair amount of veggies in it so that might have upped him.

Got a call from the vet today, and although I'm still waiting for the results of the Senior Blood Panel, the vet said he did test positive for pancreatitis. :YMSIGH:

However on the good side she said there was not a trace of glucose in his blood stream, absolutly no ketones and no UTI! So I'm glad to hear that. Jake's belly is pretty swollen and I tried to give him an enema today. Not sure if he was clenching too much but I couldn't get the water to come out of the bulb... and I didn't want to force it. I'm going to try again tomorrow (joy). Nothings says lovin' like stickin' a infant enema bulb syringe into your cats rectum as he yowls at you for shoving somthin' up his bum. If I can't do this... I'll have to get the doctor to do it.

However Jake HAS been pooping... just not a lot so something is getting passed the blockage... we just gotta clean him out. The vet said she wants to x-ray him again once it's removed from his colon so she can get a better look at him. She said although he has quite a good amount of feces in his colon that his belly distension is "odd looking." And she wants to make sure there isn't something freaky going on other than what we already know. She also told me she wouldn't charge for the second x-ray!

So... here's to hoping just a little water got in his bum... and it'll move what's blocking everything. If not... the doc has to do it... and I hope that doesn't cost me too much 'cos I"m running out of cash here. I just spend my last $40 on food/litter for Jake. I just hope it lasts a week! With his appetite being very much back in affect it might be hard... he is after all the biggest piglet I've ever had, and has always been so!

Hope you all had a wonderful day,

-Breayle and Jake
 
Also... would anyone suggest using a glycerin suppository for Jake? I know the fleet enemas are a no no due to the high phosphorus content but what about the glycerin ones? I want to get that impacted feces out of his poor little colon. My babies belly is too big :(
 
Did your vet suggest any treatment for Jake's pancreatitis? The condition can be very painful and many cats lose their appetite. You might find this link on chronic pancreatitis and it's treatment helpful.

Based on what's on your SS, Jake did not earn a dose reduction. If the numbers don't hold, I'd suggest going back to 3.0u.

I don't know about suppositories.
 
You really think I should up his does again? Hmmmmmm... I'll try to do it tomorrow... it's just that I don't feel comfortable shooting him when he's in 70's and 60's range, frankly it scares the living hell out of me.

I am going to talk to her tomorrow about treatment... she wants to go over it with me because she says a lot of the things done to treat the pancreatitis are sort of counter productive to the treatment of diabetes.

As for his poor little colon... I've been reading lots of places where a glycerin suppository can be used to break up the impacted feces. This site lists it as a suggestion for constipation but not impacted colon. I suppose it couldn't hurt.

-Breayle and Jake
 
I would check with your vet before using a suppository. There could be reasons why they are not indicated in cats. Enemas too, some kinds are dangerous so just double check with your vet that what you're doing is ok.

Pancreatitis, the main things done to treat at home are fluids, pain meds, and pepcid. Some vets recommend a low-fat diet, others do not. There is not a lot of evidence supporting the necessity of a low fat diet, but it can't hurt. A lot of the lower fat wet foods are higher in carbs, so that might be what your vet is referring to. There are options that are medium in carb. Talk to Amy/Six, she has done a lot of experimenting with diet for her cats. I have more links at home that I can send you when I get home tonight, unless someone else posts them first.
 
Yes, I spoke with her about the enema. It did not take... he was either blocked too much or clenching too much. He was so not pleased with me shoving something in his booty. I did give him the suppository last night, it was an infant one. About 10 minutes after I gave that to him he gave me a nice BM. I was pleased and he seemed to be way more comfortable and his belly was not as big! I'm sure he has more, I'm speaking to my vet again today to get more info on maybe having her extract his blockage, how much it would cost and all that jazz.

-Breayle and Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top