7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) +5(171) +8(72) +9.25(61)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/25 Hershey

HAPPY FURSDAY, EVERYONE!!

I feel so lost...had problems accessing the forum yesterday, so needed to catch-up today, but had problems accessing, again. So, I'm just now getting on. :YMSIGH:

Hershey and Oreo are doing well. Hershey is staring me down, like I don't know it's almost FOODIES time. ;-)

Lots of life stuff going on today...don't even know how to begin to share, so I won't right now.

Running errands this afternoon, so lots to get done before-hand. Crockpot Sloppy Joes for supper, need to get it going, too...

Went to bed disappointed at the (300) at +5.25, but enjoyed the extra sleep and looked forward to a new day.

Y'all have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (249) +12 - Shot f1u at 7:00am
+4.25 (143)
+5.5 (111) - fed
+7.5 (64)
+9 (56) - Left T reg food out since we were leaving

PMPS (184) +12.66 - Shot f1u at 7:40pm
+4 (191)
+5 (171)
- fed
+8 (72)
+9.25 (61)
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey

Hehehe Contraband feasts will happen sometimes. I think we're all in the same boat on that one. I know I have to be extremely vigilant with Blackie when I feed the civvies their meals. I always try to make sure that not 1 speck of contraband is on the kitchen floor. There are times, though, that she'll find something before I will. I just kick myself. :lol: And deal with her higher #s. You're doing great with Hershey! Hang in there! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +4.25(143) +5.5(111)

Hey, Angela - Thanks for visiting. I don't know if Hershey found a morsel of something or if last PM's ugly numbers were a bounce from one of the recent greens he's not used to. From 7/22 to 7/24, he had 4 green cycles, the most ever - I don't know if his body just realized it or what. I know what you mean about watching when the others eat. I only have one other, but Hershey will make use of ANY opportunity to eat his food. Poor deprived Hershey. :roll: Have a great day!
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +4.25(143) +5.5(111)

Yeah, Mr. Liver can slack off for a while and then panic. :roll: He'll get back to green or else he'll get more juice. I've adopted the Three Bears philosophy of dosing. If the numbers are too high, up the dose. If the numbers get too low, decrease the dose. Otherwise, the numbers are just right and leave the dose alone. I also have the image of a moving target. So whatever works now will probably need adjusting in the future. I don't know how Zener's doing with that but it helps my sanity. :-D :lol: Have a great Fursday!
Liz
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +5.5(111) +7.5(64)...Life

+7.5 (64)

That is a WELCOME sight!!


A few weeks ago, my mom's doctor told her he suspects she has cirrhosis of the liver and for years has made it plain he does not believe she doesn't drink. Which she doesn't! It's not even allowed in her house...I could tell you stories...anyhoo - as if there is no other way to get it (She's diabetic.) and as if there are other conditions with similar symptoms. (She lost a brother to cirrhosis and it wasn't pretty.)

This morning, she called to tell me her sister (in Zellwood, right outside of Orlando) died at about 5am. She said she was calling from Duke Hospital, about to go in for her echocardiogram, then has an MRI on her liver/spleen this afternoon, with a dental appointment in the middle to round out her day of fun. ;-)

My mom was 11/12 children. She and her sisters (4 lived to be adults) were very close. Now, it's just her and 1 sister. (Plus a brother, but that's another story.) My remaining aunt is in a nursing facility. Her mind is sharp, but her hands and feet are twisted and crippled from arthritis. I'd appreciate your thoughts and prayers for my family.
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +5.5(111) +7.5(64)

Hi Libby,

Nice green number (getting used to seeing those!).

But more important, praying for your Mom, hoping all her tests today go well with great results. Sending healing and peaceful thoughts to you and your whole family.

Carl
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +5.5(111) +7.5(64)

Good to see GREEN on Hershey today.

I'm sending some healing vines over to your family. My mother was 6 of 7 and just has one sister and brother left. I can sympathize how the family just seems so much smaller now.
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +5.5(111) +7.5(64) +9(56)

((((Libby)))) I am so sorry about your aunt. Please accept my condolences and tell your mother how very sorry I am. Sending good vetty vines to your mother. Hershey Kiss, you are doing awesome. Good job.
Liz
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +5.5(111) +7.5(64) +9(56)

Hi Libby,

I'm so sorry to hear about your aunt and your mother. Any disease or medicine that affects the liver can cause that. You're right about it being no fun. I hope your mother will go for a second opinion and a specialist if he isn't one. Sending healing and strength thoughts to you all.

Hershey is doing great! Another green day! It didn't take long at all for him to get to this point of seeing greens often. :smile: I would have been nervous to leave him at 56 when he had still been going down. I hope he didn't go lower and ate the food you left. Let us know how he's doing.

TTYL.
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey (249) +5.5(111) +7.5(64) +9(56)

Healing vibes comin’ out to your family Libby. It’s so hard to see our folks and older relatives have to go thru all this.
(((((hugs))))) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) Hard far can I move shot at one t

You can move the shot time 15 minutes for each shot or 30 minutes for one shot in a day. That's 30 minutes total per day.
Liz
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) How far can I move shot at one ti

@Liz - paha on the Three Bears philosophy! Guess Hershey heard you, 'cuz he went green :-) He thanks you for noticing his green :-D

@Carl - Thanks for the well-wishes for my mom and prayers for our family.

@ Wendy - Thank you for the kind words; I can't imagine how difficult it must be for my mother.

@Melanie - I'm not sure if my mom's doctor is a specialist or not. She started off with her primary and he sent her to this doctor. She isn't terribly forthcoming about details of health...how she's always been.

I didn't really want to leave Hershey, but I had been putting off the errands since last week. So, I reasoned that it being so late in the cycle and leaving food out, he should be fine. Thankfully, he was.

@Donna - You're right. It is hard. My mom is almost 76. I think Aunt Alma was 90, but we're never ready to lose our loved ones.

Thank you, all, for the kind words, expressions of sympathy and prayers for my family. I will share them with my mom.


PMPS (184) +12.66 - Shot f1u at 7:40pm

We are now :40 off shot time. How much can I move a shot at one time? Maybe :20 in the morning, then :20 more on Saturday morning?



PMPS (184) +12.66 - Shot f1u at 7:40pm
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) How far can I move shot at one ti

Well, Liz - You're Johnny on the Spot, answering before I could post! :lol: :lol: Thank you!!
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184)

Hi Libby, I've aso been bouncing off and on the board today and thought it was my puter. So sorry about your Aunt and sending vines for your Mom. I was wondering if she's on any meds that affect the liver.
(((Hugs)))
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184)

Hi Libbey. Just stopping in to say "hello".
I'm so sorry about your aunt. How sad for your mother, especially with her being sick herself. I will remember her in my prayers.

BTW, I've been trying the board all day too. You miss hearing how all the kitties are doing, huh?
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184)

HI Libby - sorry for the late visit, just stopped by to say hello. I am sorry about your aunt. How sad for your mom. I will be thinking of her.

And yes, I know on the board - issues again today. Hoping here they can figure out what is what and get things smoothed out.

Very nice day for Hershey today - I saw greens in there! Well done Hershey!
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184)

Libby

I'm so sorry about your family and the loss of your aunt. Sending healing vines and prayers to your mom and hugs and caring thoughts to you.

Nice day for Hershey! I actually think you could move times by 20 minutes and be just fine.
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184)

Thanks for vivitng Rosy's condo , Libby.
I am sorry for the loss of your aunt. Your mom must be so sad, please give her the greatest comfort.
Glad that Hershey's doing nocely with his bg. Some more green Hershey!
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) +4(191) +5(171)

@Ann - I don't think my mom is on any meds that would mess with her liver. According to her, every year the doctor just wants to know how much she drinks. She's been pretty offended, feeling like he doesn't believe her. I, personally, would change doctors if I felt they didn't believe me. In fact, I did. At one point, my urologist thought I might have bladder cancer and during the biopsy asked how much I smoked. I insisted I didn't. He acted like he didn't believe me - last visit. Good thought. I'll ask her about the meds.

@Barb - Thanks for the prayers. And, YES! I missed being able to read about all the kitties. Not getting on until later, I wasn't able to visit many. :sad:

@Michelle - Visits are welcome, no matter how late! I do hope they get the issues straightened out with the board. I'd hate to think someone NEEDED help and couldn't get it. nailbite_smile

Thanks, again, for the well wishes for my mom and expressions of sympathy for my family. Knowing you care means a lot to me. My mom called Aunt Alma every night since Uncle Paul died several years ago. Aunt Alma couldn't go to sleep without a call from my mom. Even after developing Alzheimer's and not remembering my mom had called the night before...And, ever since Aunt Annie died (about 6 years ago) she has done a Sunday afternoon conference call with Aunt Alma and Aunt Colene (except for the time Aunt Colene didn't have a phone in the nursing facility). I know it's going to be really hard for my mom not to pick up the phone to make that call...


+4 (191)
+5 (171)
- fed

Now, THAT'S a FLAT cycle...I'm thinking the :40 shot delay may be partly to blame...or, it may not have shown up, yet...I reset the dose counter since it was that late. Sounded right to me...

Grabbing a nap until +7.5 - Goodnight!!
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) +4(191) +5(171)

@Marje - I guess I was typing while you were posting and missed your post. Doug said the :20 and :20 would be easier for him to remember in the AM fog, so that's what we'll plan to do. Thank you for the thoughts for my family.

@Rosy - I think I was typing my reply while you and Marje were posting and I missed both posts. Thanks for stopping by and for the kind words for Hershey and my family.

It's been a long day...heading to take a nap...Nighty night...
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) +4(191) +5(171) +8(72)

Slept through +7.5 alarm and woke up when I heard Doug turning off the alarm at +8...wondered why Switchfoot was playing in my dream ;-)

+8 (72)

Oh, YAY! Glad I was a awake to see it!
 
Re: 7/26 Hershey PMPS(184) +4(191) +5(171) +8(72)

Nice (+8) there, Hershey!

(((Libby))) I was so sorry to read about the difficult times you and your family have gone through. I will keep you and yours in my prayers and send you many, many vines and calming thoughts. All the best.

Jane
 
Hey, Jane - Thanks for stopping by, your sweet words for my family and the compliment on Hershey's numbers. He welcomes the attention! :-D

I really was heading to bed, but started reading condos and...you know. Decided to test one more time before truly heading btb

+9.25 (61) I'm thinking this late in the cycle he should be okay not to feed the (61). Don't want to have a food-inflated PS...but, am I lapsing back into ProZinc thinking since we don't shoot a sliding scale based on PS??

How late in the cycle would you feed a (61)? THANKS!
 
Doug N Libby said:
+9.25 (61) I'm thinking this late in the cycle he should be okay not to feed the (61). Don't want to have a food-inflated PS...but, am I lapsing back into ProZinc thinking since we don't shoot a sliding scale based on PS?? How late in the cycle would you feed a (61)? THANKS!

Hi Libby. I was looking at your SS. Yesterday Hershey's (+9) was around the range of today's (+9.25), right, and from the SS notes I gather that you fed a little LC, and by the end of the cycle he was in the 180s. On the 23rd, it does *not* say that you fed the cycle, though then too he was in the mid-50s, and even without food, by the end of the cycle, Hershey was in the 160s. Since there doesn't seem to be an enormous difference between those end-cycle rises, even though one was with food and one was not, I would go with your gut on this. If you're uncomfortable leaving it, feed, if not, let Hershey get to the end of his cycle without food. Or, wait and re-test in 20 if you can... Does that help at all?
Jane

ETA: I'm trying to learn about ProZinc but don't know enough yet to be able to assess to what degree you're into non-Lantus thinking there. :smile:
 
Hey, Jane -

I guess I had already gone to bed, so I missed your post. No, I didn't feed the cycle on the 23rd. That was the one I used for comparison, too. I felt comfortable leaving him, but when awakened to the (65) this morning, wished I had stayed up a little longer. But, there was no way of knowing...silly kitties...always changing up the steps!

With ProZinc, we used a sliding scale and based the dose solely on the PS. It rarely lasted Hershey past +10, so even if he hit lower numbers mid-cycle, we didn't have to be too concerned knowing the insulin would be gone soon. Those are the biggest things I've had to re-think.

Thanks, again. Have a great day...or is it night for you? I can't remember the time difference...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top