7/26 Ella PMPS 121 +1=146

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75704

Hello LL,

We arrived at my parents house late night and it was quite the stressful event. We drove through severe thunderstorms and limited visibility nailbite_smile but we made it! Ella was yowling quite a bit and is not quite settled. She used to be much more adaptable in her younger years, I can relate to her as I can get grumpy with change as well.

She bounced big time last night! I'm not sure how low she went as after my test at +5 she was stable so I decided to wake up close to her nadir at +8 but she had bounced:( I'm thinking the dose of .75 will be safe as she didn't get below 100 on 1u before bouncing). She could have potentially gone lower as she went to vet that day so the added stress may have prevented her from reaching the lagoon?!
She was also headed in the right direction last night and was then stressed out so I'm not sure if stress has the potential to make her bounce.
I'm here all day and will be giving her the pm shot but will be leaving shortly after that. Marjorie suggested a no shoot number of 150 but I'm thinking a BCS might work as well just to keep something in her shed. Not sure though. My parents will be doing some hometesting but they also work so are not always home during the day so perhaps a no shoot number is better. Ella doesn't eat hc or mc on her own as it needs to be syringed but she will eat food with drops of syrup in them.
I can't think of anything else right now. Going to hang out with my baby girl and hope that she can relax a bit. My mom has already excercised her once today. She loves playing with her:)
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 (reduced pet sitter's dose)

Hi guys .. glad you made it to your parents .. sorry to hear about the driving conditions, if the storms were anything like we had .. nailbite_smile .. anyways, I hope ella can come down from that ugly number and not be so stressed at your parents .. everything will work out! have a great day!
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 (reduced pet sitter's dose)

Hi Tamara, how terrible with the storms and the drive in it! So Hlad Ella is all settled in and sounds like you have a good plan in place with the dose. Have a wonderful vacation and enjoy every minute. I'll check back later on Ella and you. Scritches and hugs to Ella.
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +2=394 +4=194(reduced pet sitter's do

Thanks for the visit Devon:) Hopefully she settles in soon. She looks like she's clearing this bounce already. I guess we'll have to see where this dose takes her but I hope it will be safe. I won't be around to monitor tonight. Eek!
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +2=394 +4=194 +6=119 Advice please!

Ella has been on a reduced dose since last night. She is breaking this bounce hard. My original intention was to tell my parents not to shoot if she is 150 or less. Obviously we can't predict what will happen by her 7:45 pm shot time but why is she diving so much on a reduced dose that she didn't even earn? Should I reduce the dose to .50 to keep her safe? Please advise. I'm getting really nervous at the fact that I will have to leave her.
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +2=394 +4=194 +6=119 Advice please!

She's 86 now. Wow! I don't know what to think!
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +2=394 +4=194 +6=119 Advice please!

Tamara

Ella keeps it real!! If it would make you feel better so you can enjoy your trip, reduce her to .5u. When Sienne has had to travel, she has reduced Gabby by half her dose because Gabby will not allow any tests. So when she's been normally shooting 1u, if she has to leave, she has the DPS shoot .5u knowing there will be no tests.

If you are worried that your folks will not be able to handle low numbers, there is no reason to not take her down to .5u but you MUST be sure they get ketone tests daily especially with the dental issues that Ella has....well, let's say, the fact that the full extent of the dental issues are unknown. We just know she really needs one but don't know if there is an infected tooth. I'd actually make sure they get a ketone test daily regardless of what they shoot.

You will have to balance her possibly being at higher numbers for 2-3 weeks with your peace of mind and keeping her safe knowing that your parents might not be able to manage her curve like you do. The flip side is to have them give her .75u and then post here so we can help them with any low numbers.
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +2=394 +4=194 +6=119 +7=86 Advice ple

Thanks for your support Marjorie:) I tried showing my mom the board and SS and she just didn't feel comfortable with it. She will post numbers to me and I will post them in the SS and possibly on the board if we need help. If she goes below 50 today does she get a recution from the .75 I just reduced her at? Then is the safer dose .25?

I'm finding this really stressful, can you tell? Just writing up notes for them and am wondering if they should give bcs as opposed to not shooting at all when they are faced with a 150.
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +2=394 +4=194 +6=119 +7=86 Advice ple

You're welcome. You can take her down to .5u if she goes below 50 today. There is a slight chance this could still be 1u depot....it can affect up to six cycles. Most cats, it typically affects two to four subsequent cycles. She's getting close to nadir and hopefully won't keep headed down although since she's clearing a bounce, she could possibly. I think you should see what she does the rest of this cycle and if you need to reduce her and then see what she does tonight before you decide if you want to take her to .25u while you're gone. But the bottom line is, it's your decision. You know her best and you know whether you are going to actually be able to have fun if you're worried about her 24/7.

Remember if they get a number below 150 and they shoot a BCS, the cycle might still play out the same as if they shot the full dose. Shooting a reduced dose normally affects late in that cycle but more likely, the subsequent one. So they would still need to test.
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +2=394 +4=194 +6=119 +7=86 Advice ple

so ella earned her reduction. i'm busy keeping her up now. thoughts on what i will need to do at ps time as she will likely be food influenced.
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +4=194 +6=119 +7=86 +9=47! Advice ple

Ok so she's on the rise. At +11 she was 92. I will post the ps number but I'm thinking I should reduce to .50. Thoughts?
 
Re: 7/26 Ella pmps 121 reduce to .5?

SO ella is at 121, the no shoot number but I'm not sure if I should dose her .5 or not. Thoughts?
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +4=194 +6=119 +7=86 +9=47! Advice ple

Hi Tamara,

If it was Racci, I would give her the .5 now because Ella has been rising pretty quickly and the insulin won't start working for a while. You also have to take into account that she does have some left in the shed. How long it lasts will affect her numbers also tomorrow. She's probably going to be stressed and bounce from the 47 as well tomorrow. Since she just got the reduction, I would make the under 150 # .25. Just my opinion. You should check with Marje to see if she agrees.

How long will you be gone? Have a great time!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +4=194 +6=119 +7=86 +9=47! Advice ple

Hi Tamara,
I hope that Ella will settle down so that you don't have to worry. In any event, I think that Marje's advice is the best road to follow. Stay on the safe side with regard to dose, and test for ketones. It sounds like your mom doesn't mind testing, so at least you will know Ella's numbers and may be able to provide guidance.
I hope that you will have a good vacation and that all will go well for Ella and your folks.

Sending good-luck vines!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/26 Ella amps 409 +4=194 +6=119 +7=86 +9=47! Advice ple

Thanks for visiting with your support and input Ella and Melanie. I took Marje's advice and dosed .5. I hope it will be ok. My mom and dad can test now but realistically, my mom can only wake up once in the night. I hope the .5 will be ok and I will be back on Monday morning to assess how the dose is going. I do fear for ketones as she has some stuff going on in her mouth. My mom will test her if she can catch her in the lb. It's Greg's b-day and I haven't spent a minute with him. Supposed to be going for dinner but I'm exhausted. It's really hard passing this responsibility to others. I'm not a fan of this stress.
 
It is hard to pass the responsibility on. I know. You're lucky your mom will be able to test and loves to play with her. It sounds like you have the perfect catsitter. Try and relax and have a good time. I'm sure that's the right thing to do and Ella will be fine.

I hope you're spending some time with Greg now, if not just make it up to him this weekend. Have a great time!

Melanie & Racci
 
(((Tamara))) try to enjoy Greg's birthday!!

You can have your mom shoot .25u if she is 150 or below. But she still needs to get a couple tests the cycle that she shoots the BCS especially if she shot .5u the cycle before. You understand the depot can carry over to the cycle that she shoots the BCS so it's important to test.
 
Hi Tamara - wishing you and joyful and stress-free time. I am sure all will be OK. Ella is in good hands. Enjoy the celebration. Great numbers for Ella tonight too. I am sure she will settle.
 
Thank you for all your well wishes. I'm packed and ready for the 9 hour drive to the Sault. I'll be back on Sunday evening and will be visiting Ella moday morning. I already miss my baby girl. I hope she will sleep well tonight. My mom spoon fed her tonight as her appy hasn't been the greatest since the transition. Ella sure does like all the extra attention. She was on the up and up when I left so I decided to pack my bags and come home so we could leave bright and early. My mom will text me her numbers for support and I will in turn post to the board if I have any concerns. Thanks to all that dropped in with your encouragement and support. We appreciate all your help during this stressful time. DH had a nice b-day dinner. We filled our faces with oysters,crab and other creatures from the sea. Our kitters would have been proud. I'm pretty sure I saw Chef Mannie cooking up some creole crab cakes in the kitchen :cool:
 
Ok...good that you had a lovely dinner. Now breathe...enjoy the rest of the evening and the weekend with Greg. Ella will be fine :-D Hugs! Have fun!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top