7/26 Ducia AMPS @+14.5 223, +2 206, +3 219, +5 209, +7 255; PMPS 243, +2 210, +7 251

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Last post

Hi everyone,

I am in an unusual situation and need your help.

not posted history for July 25th:
AMPS 277, +2 290, +11 261
PMPS 293, +3 227, +5 260

This AMPS Ducia refused to eat her reg breakfast even after I sprinkled it with FortiFlora and then with Parmesan - refused two different kinds of food I offered. NEVER happened before except when she was DKA. I gave no shot which was due at 9AM PST.


She sniffed and walked away from the second offering and currently went to sleep hide to to the closet. Both are unusual for her. She doesn't appear nauseated: no lip licking. SHe rather not interested in eating. Appears normal although a bit sleepy. Last time she ate was PMPS +9 - 2 tsp Tiki Cat. I do not see OBVIOUS signs of discomfort or pain. She peed after I took AMPS test but I was late to test for ketones.

I have Cerenia and Mirtazapine at home. Should I try giving them? Both at the same time or shoould I try either one?

She took her meds crushed/mixed with food in the past. How do I give it if she refuses to eat?

Current plan: to wait a little and offer food again. Shot on hold.

Any ideas, suggestions ans esp appy vines are much appreciated.

I hope you all having better day!
 
Thank you Barbara!

I got her out of the closet and she grooms on the bed. Turned the AC on - it's not very hot yet but I think Ducia feels better in chilled room.
I think I am going to crush quarter of a pill each - Cerenia and Mirt and mix it with another food flavor - 3rd this morning.

I think I read it was alright to administer both pills simultaneously. If not - please warn be before I offer it.

She doesn't look off to me but rather not hungry and she always hungry by the pre-shots..

WTH?..:(:mad::nailbiting:
 
Last post

Hi everyone,

I am in an unusual situation and need your help.

not posted history for July 25th:
AMPS 277, +2 290, +11 261
PMPS 293, +3 227, +5 260

This AMPS Ducia refused to eat her reg breakfast even after I sprinkled it with FortiFlora and then with Parmesan - refused two different kinds of food I offered. NEVER happened before except when she was DKA. I gave no shot which was due at 9AM PST.


She sniffed and walked away from the second offering and currently went to sleep hide to to the closet. Both are unusual for her. She doesn't appear nauseated: no lip licking. SHe rather not interested in eating. Appears normal although a bit sleepy. Last time she ate was PMPS +9 - 2 tsp Tiki Cat. I do not see OBVIOUS signs of discomfort or pain. She peed after I took AMPS test but I was late to test for ketones.

I have Cerenia and Mirtazapine at home. Should I try giving them? Both at the same time or shoould I try either one?

She took her meds crushed/mixed with food in the past. How do I give it if she refuses to eat?

Current plan: to wait a little and offer food again. Shot on hold.

Any ideas, suggestions ans esp appy vines are much appreciated.

I hope you all having better day!
I'm sorry Ducia isn't eating. I hope she does soon. Callie refuses to eat when we travel (other times also) and I know how frustrating and scary that is. But you don't have the travel to blame Ducia's lack of appy on. Unfortunately I don't know what to tell you about the Cerenia and Mirt. Do you have any baby food or tuna on hand? Sometimes Callie will eat those when she won't touch her favorite FF. Also sometimes when she won't eat, I put a tiny bit of food in her mouth. I hate to do that since she gets so mad, but often she will eat after that.
 
She might just be feeling a little off today, but it's obviously a concern given Ducia's DKA history. Really hope the tuna works, and that she pees for you again soon so you can get a ketone test!
 
:(No luck with tuna - licked and walked off...
I just noticed that she walk with significant limp, was not there yesterday or at night...
:banghead::nailbiting:
 
Added crushed dry kibble - no interest whatsoever.

OK, if she doesn't eat at all - what are my options?
  1. Cerenia and appy stimulant - in case it's a pancreatitis flare
  2. syringe feed baby food or her own food pureed in a blender
  3. ketone test when you can manage it
  4. vet appointment tomorrow if she doesn't turn around through today and this evening.
 
Added crushed dry kibble - no interest whatsoever.

OK, if she doesn't eat at all - what are my options?
Callie went 14 hours without eating on our trip to Texas, and she was okay. But we didn't have the previous pancreatitis diagnosis to complicate things. I didn't give her insulin, of course, but with the depot build-up, she didn't go too awfully high. I know you're concerned about your little Ducia. Prayers and hugs!

Kris's advice above is good. How does she do when you syringe feed her?
 
Sending lots of appy vines to Ducia!
Will she eat some pieces of chicken (people food)?
Or maybe a couple of treats (just to wet her appy perhaps)?
 
Will she let you examine the leg she's limping on? Just to see if there's anything like a swollen area or an insect bite or something like that that is bothering her.
 
Attempted to syringe feed - failure. At least when I am alone.

Attempted to syringe in 1/4 Cerenia + 1/4 Mirt diluted in 0.5 ml tuna juice - in the best case only about 1 ml went down. She walked to kitchen where I was frantically opening ather flavor cans, sniffed a bit one but then walked off. The limp is noticeable. Where does that come from?
Eye pupils dilated - in pain? I have Tramadol from her ER visit in April...

So guesses are : dental pain, arthritis pain and who knows what else..

Should wait and see if little Mirt that went in make her to eat?

It's two hours past reg injection time.

How helpful a vet visit could be? She doesn't eat... Even if they can syringe feed her - what's next?

She groomed the tune juice off her body - is it still a good sign?
 
Have you gotten another BG since the AM? It doesn't seem like she's in terrible shape right now (walking around, grooming, slightly interested in food even if she isn't eating) but I do worry about skipping shots when there might be something brewing.

It still hasn't been that long-- she may just decide to start eating again when she's good and ready (and not a minute sooner!).
 
It is always handy to have some gel caps on hand. I had an assortment of size 3, 4, and 5's around. That and a pill shooter meant I could get meds in when Neko wasn't feeling like eating. Try syringe/assist feeding a little food. Sometimes it helps them feel better to get a little food in.

I would have gone with at least a half dose. Cats who can't have food because of upcoming anesthesia can have half dose. Not all insulin goes to combat carbs and I worry about her DKA past. I only once or twice did a slightly teduced dose if Neko wasn!t eating. Lack of appy usually meant she wasn't feeling well and would have higher numbers. Plus I could always assist feed to get food in.
 
Ducia just ate about 3 tsp Soulistic tuna in pumpkin soup with 1/4 Cerenia but without Mirt.

She limps.

I am absolutely not confident she'll eat again if I gave her the shot. My syringe feeding skills are none existent.
 
How is her potty box? Has she pooped? Could she be a little plugged-up?
Sending many vines.
Thank you! SHe pooped overnight - two smal to medium size balls and peed her usual number of times in the past 24 hours. I do not think she is plugged but even if so - she just ate some pumpkin soup so I guess it is covered.
 
Ducia just ate about 3 tsp Soulistic tuna in pumpkin soup with 1/4 Cerenia but without Mirt.

She limps.

I am absolutely not confident she'll eat again if I gave her the shot. My syringe feeding skills are none existent.
So glad she ate something. The limping is really worrisome though.
 
I failed miserably at first too. :oops:

Amazon is a good source for gelcaps, or compounding pharmacies if you want small sizes locally. Size 5 are smaller and a bit harder to source locally, at least for me.
 
Ducia asked for more Soulistic tune soup.
I offered and immediately pulled the bowl back to preserve the appy.
Bg 223 at +2.5 (+14.5)
Do you think I should soot. I am ready for the full dose.
She asks for food NOW.

Do I shoot at +14.5?
 
Last edited:
If I could shoot in 12 hours, I would shoot, especially with her DKA history. But don't listen to me. Unless you're sure, wait for someone who knows more than I do.
 
Yay for appetite!

It's, what, three hours after usual shot time? Can you get off schedule by this much if you shoot now? It's a pain to have to work your way back, but at least you'd get the shot in then.
 
Ok,
I just gave Ducia her full dose shot at +14.75.
She ate another 2 tsp of FF Chicken Feast on her own.

Thank you all so much for helping out with this. All very worrisome because it is not like her completely...

Please keep sending healing vines!
 
It's, what, three hours after usual shot time? Can you get off schedule by this much if you shoot now? It's a pain to have to work your way back, but at least you'd get the shot in then.
It's been 2 hours 45 min since.
I shoot.
Schedule isn't a problem - I'll work it back slowly..

DO you think I should take to vet re: the limp? How do they check for arthritis?
 
I'd keep an eye on the limp, and if it doesn't seem to be getting better by tomorrow, or seems to be getting worse during the day today, call the vet. She seems kind of young for arthritis, so I'm guessing some kind of injury. Could be as simple as that she just landed wrong from jumping, and it will clear up on its own, but there's always the rare chance of something more serious. I mentioned insect bites above because a few months ago in Feline Health someone had a cat go into DKA for no apparent reason, turned out to be a reaction to a spider bite. I think that was really a freak accident, though.
 
She seems kind of young for arthritis, so I'm guessing some kind of injury
She is natural jumper and when she was overweight ( 13.9 lbs v. 9 ideal) she injured one of her hind legs. The vet mentioned in March that she has arthritis but it was right after the DKA and we had more pressing issues to worry about...I do not remember any details about from that appointment.
I mentioned insect bites above because a few months ago in Feline Health someone had a cat go into DKA for no apparent reason, turned out to be a reaction to a spider bite
This is really scary - only a few days ago I killed one in my bathroom - a regular household looking one but they ALL are biggest fear in life. Nothis else frightened me more at a sight.
 
This is really scary - only a few days ago I killed one in my bathroom - a regular household looking one but they ALL are biggest fear in life. Nothis else frightened me more at a sight.

Oh no! So sorry, I wouldn't have said anything if I'd known that! I really think it's unlikely to be the problem.

I still think injury from a jump or something like that-- I don't think arthritis would be so noticeable so suddenly, unless there was something else aggravating it. Crossing fingers it gets better soon, whatever it is.

And, keep eating, Ducia!
 
I vote for a slight leg injury from landing incorrectly after jumping. I've had that happen with my cats over the years. I'd wait and see for a little while. I'm glad she's eating even a little bit.
 
And, keep eating, Ducia!
Just got another 2 tsp of FF at +1.:D:D
I wouldn't have said anything if I'd known that!
I am glad you did - hubby is going to be dispatched to search and destroy mission tonight. I took no chances with those creatures. :mad:
I still think injury from a jump or something like that-- I don't think arthritis would be so noticeable so suddenly, unless there was something else aggravating it.
I hope so. She gained a bit over recommended 9 lb and we often do exercises involving jumping for her leg's muscles so there is a little extra stress on her petite frame/small joints.
 
Last edited:
I'd keep an eye on the limp, and if it doesn't seem to be getting better by tomorrow, or seems to be getting worse during the day today, call the vet. She seems kind of young for arthritis, so I'm guessing some kind of injury. Could be as simple as that she just landed wrong from jumping, and it will clear up on its own, but there's always the rare chance of something more serious. I mentioned insect bites above because a few months ago in Feline Health someone had a cat go into DKA for no apparent reason, turned out to be a reaction to a spider bite. I think that was really a freak accident, though.[/QUOTE
That's exactly what DH proposed to do just now.
I case it persists I'll take to the vet and we have Tramadol for pain but it is opium, basically, I'd hate to give it. Too many possible side effects.
Let us know how her leg is doing? And her appy also...
 
I'm glad she's eating even a little bit.
Actually she just vocalized another food request - very unusual, she is quiet girl. I guess some Mirt got in, after all.
Also unusual - seeks attention, actively come up, talks to me and EVEN purred when I picked her up and held in my arms - it;s been a while since the last purr and I used to blame ear poking. I know Mirt makes some kitties act odd...But feels so good to hear her purring - I am totally ok with that kind of odd-ness.
 
Just got another 2 tsp of FF at +1.:D:D

I am glad you did - hubby is going to be dispatched to search and destroy mission tonight. I took no chances with those creatures. :mad:

I hope so. She gained a bit over recommended 9 lb and we often do exercises involving jumping for her leg's muscles so there is a little extra stress on her petite frame/small joins.
I am weird. I take my spiders outside. :):D
 
Actually she just vocalized another food request - very unusual, she is quiet girl. I guess some Mirt got in, after all.
Also unusual - seeks attention, actively come up, talks to me and EVEN purred when I picked her up and held in my arms - it;s been a while since the last purr and I used to blame ear poking. I know Mirt makes some kitties act odd...But feels so good to hear her purring - I am totally ok with that kind of odd-ness.
Cuddle time! Enjoy!:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top