7/26 Clare AMPS 193 waited 1 hr 340 0.25 u given

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good morning to the group ;-) Clare had a good night. To bring the spreadsheet up to date, here's a summary since yesterday morning:
7/25
AMPS 241
0.25 u
+7 70
PMPS. 287
O.25 u
+2 323
+4 315

7/26
AMPS 193

Shall we hold the dose?
Thanks for being there,

Georgette and Don
 
Re: 7/26 Clare AMPS 193 Continue 0.25 dose AM and PM?

I'm wondering what the community thinks. We've maybe got a special situation here with Clare.

She's on such a small dose that it doesn't give us much wiggle room. Would it help to have more info of some kind?

I'll be around today to monitor her. So maybe waiting for a bit, to see if her number comes up after breakfast?

Thanks for your thoughts/considerations.
 
Re: 7/26 Clare AMPS 193 Continue 0.25 dose AM and PM?

That's a great number for Clare to start her day with. If you're going to be home to monitor and plenty of test strips and some high carb food or karo for just in case, I would shoot the 0.25 dose (because she had that nice 70 yesterday).

I'm not much of a fan on stalling. You deplete the depot when you stall and it makes when you do shoot act like a reduction because she had to use some of what was in the depot while you were waiting.
 
Re: 7/26 Clare AMPS 193 Continue 0.25 dose AM and PM?

Thanks for the advice, Dyana. We just took another reading and it was 340 (1 hour after eating) so we're giving her the dose now. We'll keep checking on her and her BG starting in a few hours.

Have a great day, LL! I'm glad that we found you.
 
Don't forget that when you shoot late, that the next shot is now due 12 hours after the last insulin given.
 
Okay, I reread the Don't Panic! and Low Numbers advice pieces and realize that, given Clare's past history of rising on the +1s and +2s, we should've given her the shot first thing since it wouldn't go into effect until later.

I don't have any +10 or +11 numbers so I'm not sure how long the later-given shot will last, or if Clare is one of those who dips at the end of the cycle.

We are all set in the family to feed the cats at 6:00 AM each day. We can alter that if we need to, but we'd like to get her back to 6:00. How do I get her off of this later cycle safely?

I'm sorry to be so dense! I'm gradually getting it. :oops:
 
Hi Georgette!

Welcome to you and Clare and Don. I haven't had a chance to stop by yet and welcome you all to our wonderful Lantus Land family.

Here's the link to Clare's First LL 7/25 Condo.

Oh gosh you are not dense at all!!!! We've all been there, asked the same questions, and know the early learning curve is steep. In a month, you'll read back over your early posts and pat yourself on the back for all you have learned.

Here is a post on Getting Back on Schedule for future reference. You can shoot 30 mins early once a day or 15 mins early each cycle until she's back to your normal time. Or....if you check her at +11 this evening and she's really high, you can shoot at that time to get her back to her normal time. But if you do that, you absolutely must be there to test because shooting early can act as a dose increase. If you think you might want to do that, I'd post first and just have someone help you make that decision with eyes on her SS.

When you are stalling, you want to be sure you don't feed because you don't want the rise to be food influenced (see caveat below). Then you want to check every 20 mins or so and as soon as the rise starts, shoot. Of course, as long as you have supplies and will be there to test.

The caveat to not feeding is if you are stalling with a 40s number. In that case, don't feed, retest in 15 mins and if she's still in the 40s, feed one tsp of LC food, retest in 20-30 mins, shoot the rise if you have supplies and will be there to test.

Those +10 or +11 tests are great so grab one when you can. You will get to know her cycles and know when she might be on the rise enough that you don't need one of those tests.
 
One other thing I wanted to add after looking at her SS. It's about meters ;-)

I started out with a One Touch Ultra Mini meter and loved it. Numbers were very close to lab tests. Awesome meter but it takes a lot of blood. So I ordered a Freestyle Lite. The numbers were significantly lower than my OT and the lab. You could search posts here about the Freestyle meters but they have had problems. One member went to the company about the difference in BG readings between the Freestyle and other meters.

As Chris said, many if not most of us use some type of Relion meter. I have two micros because I believe it is smart to have a backup meter. It's not as accurate as my OT but it's accurate enough especially at low numbers.

I read on Clare's SS that your Alpha Trak read 70-80 mg/dL less than your vet's. That is not unusual. Meters can have up to a 20% variance. The higher the BGs, the wider the spread can be. For example, if one meter is reading 300, it wouldn't be odd for a meter of the same type to read 360. The lower the BG, the less the spread in numbers. I wouldn't use the 20% variance been different types of mete because the variance actually applies to the readings you can get from the meter in your hand. In other words, the meter you are using at that moment can have a 20% variance. But I also look at the 20% variance if I'm using my backup meter which is the same type as my primary.

The disadvantage to the AT is the cost and availability of strips. If you have a really active weekend and you run out of strips, you can't drive to Walmart and buy more AT strips. You can with a a Relion.
 
Marge,
Thanks for all the great information! I can't brlieve how generous you all are with your time and knowledge. It really helps us to not feel too alone in this journey with Clare.

We shot Clare 1/2 hour early this evening to start moving her toward getting back on her usual 6:00-and-6:00 routine. Her +10 number was pretty high at 274 so we thought it would be okay

I was up several times last night to check on her; I'm pooped! Her pattern is beginning to come out now (hopefully it will be fairly reliable) and that's a comfort.

Have a good night, sleep well LL.
 
Good job! Try to get some rest and we'll see how she does tomorrow.

Everyone here is very generous with their time and knowledge because we are all paying it forward. We were all new, scared, and overwhelmed at one time.

Ni ni
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top