7/26 Bubbas AMPS 365, +11 351 PMPS 383, +2 332

a pink start for Bubbas today! This will be the 3rd cycle at 1.5U, iirc the depot takes about 6 cycles to fill, so by day after tomorrow we should get a better idea how 1.5U is working.
Yay!!!! Ok great!! Yeah we shall see! I’m very excited to see what’s going on with him.

It makes me happy to know he has no ketones in his urine and he’s maintaining weight, so that’s at least a good sign out of all of this lol
 
It makes me happy to know he has no ketones in his urine and he’s maintaining weight, so that’s at least a good sign out of all of this lol


you are so right!! It is important to focus on the positive, and while his numbers have not yet really come down much, those are two indications that the insulin IS helping him!!

Without insulin, he would not maintain weight and would have ketones building up. So keep on keepin' on Katrina, you are doing right by him. :bighug:
 
you are so right!! It is important to focus on the positive, and while his numbers have not yet really come down much, those are two indications that the insulin IS helping him!!

Without insulin, he would not maintain weight and would have ketones building up. So keep on keepin' on Katrina, you are doing right by him. :bighug:
Yeah exactly! Trying to focus on the small wins! And yes before insulin, his weight was dropping FAST! Like 2 pounds in a month or so. It was scary!!
And thank you! I was trying my best forsure :bighug:
 
just before Christmas 2021, I said to my wife, offhand "hey does Hendrick...look a little skinny to you??"

She said yes. I said huh, well let's weigh him and then weigh him again in 1 week and see what's what. He lost an entire pound that week and I was like OH @#$%

Still kicking myself I didn't get him to the vet for another week after that. Almost lost him.
 
just before Christmas 2021, I said to my wife, offhand "hey does Hendrick...look a little skinny to you??"

She said yes. I said huh, well let's weigh him and then weigh him again in 1 week and see what's what. He lost an entire pound that week and I was like OH @#$%

Still kicking myself I didn't get him to the vet for another week after that. Almost lost him.


Gosh! Well don’t feel too bad because I think I waited about 2 weeks before taking him in once I noticed he was losing weight. We just moved so I figured he was stressed out or something. I couldn’t even afford insulin for a couple weeks ago he was diagnosed so it was stressful seeing him lose weight with knowing insulin will help, but I couldn’t afford it.
 
+11 351 :banghead:

seems as though ever since switching him to Friskys 5.5 oz wet food cans twice a day is making his blood sugar stay higher than normal..
 
The pate’s. So the ones they are the lowest carb I can find. The fancy feast wet food I was giving him was either 0 or 1 carb per can, and I switch him to the frisky’s 5.5 oz cans that are 3-4 carbs per can twice a day. So maybe this is going on due to the carb increase?

it just doesn’t make sense that I upped his dose but his numbers are going up.

he’s also starting to lose weight I realized . He was maintaining 13.8-13.6 for a month or so, the last two days he was 13.4, then today he was 13.0. He’s losing weight as fast as he was before insulin. And his blood sugar is actually higher than when he wasn’t on insulin. That doesn’t seem normal at all
 
Last edited:
Oh Bubbas, you can do this! :bighug: I do not have enough experience to offer advice, and I really don't understand the food calculations myself, but @Nimi S had great info on food that she put in my threads from the other day. I'm going to try to put them here:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-94-3hrs-123-5hrs-new-kibble-mix.279788/
and
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-23-jack-103-amps-100-4.279827/
And I found this which Im trying to work on:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/calculating-calories-from-carbohydrates.205128/

I don't know if any of this is helpful. Sending hugs and gain some weight vibes to Mr Bubbas :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Bubbas, you can do this! :bighug: I do not have enough experience to offer advice, and I really don't understand the food calculations myself, but @Nimi S had great info on food that she put in my threads from the other day. I'm going to try to put them here:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-94-3hrs-123-5hrs-new-kibble-mix.279788/
and
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-23-jack-103-amps-100-4.279827/
And I found this which Im trying to work on:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/calculating-calories-from-carbohydrates.205128/

I don't know if any of this is helpful. Sending hugs and gain some weight vibes to Mr Bubbas :bighug::bighug:
Yes thank you! Any help at all is extremely helpful!!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes thank you! Any help at all is extremely helpful!!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Jack eats Friskies most of the time, it's a combo of budget and extreme pickiness. Every now and then I'll try FF for him, but he doesn't really care for them, but he will eat the Meow Mix pate with the shredded meat on top. I have a very multiple cat household so they all can't have the MM, but I keep some for Jack when he is being a beast about eating. And I was looking for Dr Pierson's PDF with more food info, and there are a bunch more food charts here:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/links-to-food-charts.174182/
 
Jack eats Friskies most of the time, it's a combo of budget and extreme pickiness. Every now and then I'll try FF for him, but he doesn't really care for them, but he will eat the Meow Mix pate with the shredded meat on top. I have a very multiple cat household so they all can't have the MM, but I keep some for Jack when he is being a beast about eating. And I was looking for Dr Pierson's PDF with more food info, and there are a bunch more food charts here:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/links-to-food-charts.174182/
Thank you so much for that information! I bet it can be tricky feeding your diabetic cat when you have multiple cats! So good for you!

It’s just been so odd, I’ve been giving him basically zero carb fancy feast wet food for about a month, obviously, his blood sugar hasn’t really stabilize Or gone down too much, but he’s been in the 100 and 200s quite a few times since then. But I wasn’t giving him enough food, I was only giving him 1 can in the morning and 1 can at night, which is maybe 130 cal. And obviously that’s literally terrible, so I did my research and decided to get Friskies, the pate, the 5.5 ounce cans that are like almost 200 cal per can. I’ve been giving him one can in the morning and one can at night since Monday, but it seems like his blood sugar, even though I’ve increased his dose to 1.5, has been going up. So last night I decided to give him two cans of fancy feast, and this morning I did the same thing. I’m going to test and see if it may be the food that did it you know? Going from basically zero carbs to almost 8 carbs a day might’ve messed his system up.

I was only giving him two cans a day because I wasn’t sure if I was able to afford to give them multiple cans at each meal. But at this point, if the fancy feast works, I’m going to have to give him about four cans a day. Which is about $60-$70 every two weeks, but it’s just something that I have to do. If this food works for him, I’m going to stick to that no matter how much money I have to spend.
 
Back
Top