7/26 Boomer AMPS 360 increase to 1.25u +3 349 +6 333 PMPS 342 +3 209

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: Flat Pink Cat Day
Good morning!
AMPS 360 shooting an increased dose of 1.25u
This takes us to his dose pre-dental (although he had been up to 1.5 at one point but he had earned a .25u reducie with a very low number).

I couldn't believe his flat pink cycle yesterday. He's not even trying to work the juice! On the upside, we did our very first ketone test last night and it was negative. YAY!

Boomer ate all of his overnight fuds. Allen also ate well overnight and ate his double serving of chicken pate and about 3/4 of his single serving of turkey pate.

Waiting for Dr Larry to get back to me with information about the other surgeons although I know it's likely that he has sent them emails and is waiting for responses.
 
Good job with the ketone test! It's a relief to see it negative. So did Boomer look at you funny:p Glad he's eating all his fuds and Allen too.

I hope Dr. Larry gets back to you today Judy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So did Boomer look at you funny
DH put plastic wrap in the litter box. But I thought he had just put it along the sides (where Boomer usually pees). But he had covered all the litter. When Boomer finally decided he needed to pee, he circled the box a few times then gave us a few "looks" and left the area. Headed towards the other box but he couldn't get to it; we had closed the door. It was clear he was going to wait it out so I rearranged the plastic so that it covered just the edges and I brought him to the litter. He hesitated but decided it was ok.
 
Boomer....c'mon, Dude! I think Wendy may have mentioned this yesterday....now that you've done a number of increases and it actually seems that Boomer's numbers are going up, maybe it is time to try some new juice. Sure, the teeth could also be a factor, but since the dental issues are still somewhat up the air, I'd be inclined to get a fresh vial and see if that helps.
 
Yesterday I had a conversation with DH about purchasing new insulin. He didn't want to; he thought we should go the blood work route. Since Dr Larry obviously didn't think blood work was needed yesterday during our many messages, I'm thinking about the new insulin again.
Last time I purchased insulin I asked the pharmacist about the pens. They cost (I think) about 30% more than the vial although you do get more insulin. I didn't know all the benefits of the pens at that time so I purchased the vial instead.

So tell me about the pens please! Are they actually guaranteed to hold their effectiveness? What makes it different than the bottles? Will I be able to stick the syringe into the pen and then grab the magnifying glass to check on dosage( like I do with the bottle) without the syringe falling out?

Edited to add: And let's assume part of the issue is with the insulin (which may or may not be true). How do I time it? Should I leave him at 1.25 for 3 days and assuming his levels don't come down then change to the new bottle/vial and hold for another 3 days to see? It's definitely true that if the strength of the current bottle is in question then I want to start a new bottle/vial now and not wait until he's at a higher dose.
 
Last edited:
Yesterday I had a conversation with DH about purchasing new insulin. He didn't want to; he thought we should go the blood work route. Since Dr Larry obviously didn't think blood work was needed yesterday during our many messages, I'm thinking about the new insulin again.
Last time I purchased insulin I asked the pharmacist about the pens. They cost (I think) about 30% more than the vial although you do get more insulin. I didn't know all the benefits of the pens at that time so I purchased the vial instead.

So tell me about the pens please! Are they actually guaranteed to hold their effectiveness? What makes it different than the bottles? Will I be able to stick the syringe into the pen and then grab the magnifying glass to check on dosage( like I do with the bottle) without the syringe falling out?
In Ontario you can buy just the Lantus pen cartridges as a 5 pack of 3 mL each (total of 15 mL or 1500 units) for about $125 at Shoppers - maybe cheaper at Walmart, Costco, etc. No need for all the extra plastic of the pen bodies, etc. Each cartridge acts exactly like a small 3 mL vial with a tiny rubber seal on one end that you insert the syringe through. The expiry date on the 5-pack is usually 2 years down the line. I bought my 5-pack at the end of January this year and am still working on it. You'll take a couple of months to use up a single cartridge, depending on dose level. If you store properly in the fridge, it'll be fine.
 
:joyful:...great minds think alike!

With the pens, you can usually use every last drop, since each pen contains less insulin than a vial - you can get through the whole pen before the insuiln poops out. The clock doesn't start ticking until you stick a syringe in the pen for the first time, so while you're using one pen, the other pens remain in perfect condition for a good long time.

I think you should be able to grab a magnifying glass with one hand while holding the pen and syringe with another...I can't imagine why not!

Personally, I probably would hold the dose for a couple cycles, and if nothing changes, start the new insulin. Once you start the new insulin, I would also continue to hold the dose for a couple more cycles as well, just so you are only changing one thing at a time. JMO, though...we'll see what others say.

At this point, I do thing trying new juice is a very good idea...5+months on a vial could be teetering on the each of pooped out insulin.
 
Definitely get the cartridges vs. pens. In BC they were a bit cheaper and less waste and closer to $100 that $120. There is a video on how to draw from pens/cartridges in the Insulin Info Sticky Note. It is slightly different in that you do not inject air into the cartridge. I held a magnifying glass, cartridge and syringe OK. DH used readers.

Work it Boomer!
 
In Ontario you can buy just the Lantus pen cartridges as a 5 pack of 3 mL each (total of 15 mL or 1500 units) for about $125 at Shoppers - maybe cheaper at Walmart, Costco, etc. No need for all the extra plastic of the pen bodies, etc. Each cartridge acts exactly like a small 3 mL vial with a tiny rubber seal on one end that you insert the syringe through. The expiry date on the 5-pack is usually 2 years down the line. I bought my 5-pack at the end of January this year and am still working on it. You'll take a couple of months to use up a single cartridge, depending on dose level. If you store properly in the fridge, it'll be fine.
I just called around for some prices....Costco $102.39, Walmart $109.57, Metro (because its very close to us) $109.99
 
Hey Judy, have you tried using some cheap reading glasses instead of having to hold a magnifying glass? It's been working great for me.
Hope Boomer gets with the program soon! :cat:
No I haven't! I may have to check that out!
This is what I use. I love it. Works beautiful. Best $10 I have spent in this whole dance! :smuggrin:

https://smile.amazon.com/SE-MH1047L...fier/dp/B003UCODIA/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

61sQGdovTGL._SL1200_.jpg
 
Even better!
Maybe call those places you checked and ask about tax. Shoppers is more expensive but I can get 20% off the strips and lancets on Seniors' Day, not the insulin though. However, all those items earn me Optimum points (insulin included) which I cash in periodically to buy more strips. I could even cash them in for Lantus if I accumulate enough (I think).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top