7/26 AMPS 438 +3 380 + 6 296 - Ketones 3.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

billy

Member Since 2012
Using the Precison Xtra blood ketone test strips, just got a 3.2 for ketones. Based on their scale that's high. He doesn't seem dehydrated and is still eating. But based on what I've read he needs to go to the vet ASAP. I'm getting prepared to take him in, just wondering if I'm correct in this assessment. Thanks!
 
If that test result is accurate, then yes, to the vet, and quickly. Ketones can go really bad really fast and you at least need to get the test verified. Bob was DKA, and he went from zero ketones to DKA in 3 days time. My vet told me he probably wouldn't have made it till day four had I not brought him in when I did.

Let us know what you learn...

Carl

ETA - ketones can show up in the blood hours before they show up in the urine, so fantastic that you caught them on a meter.
Sometimes their breath will smell like acetone (nail polish remover), but not always. Can you smell that?
 
I just found this on a post:

Quote Sienne: "What meter are you using to test ketones? With a Precision Xtra meter, a reading of 3.0 is equivalent to "trace" ketones on a Ketostix (urine ketone testing strip). We become concerned if ketones are above trace."

So should I take him or not? What would you do? What do I do to get those lowered? Thanks so much for your help!
 
Thanks Carl, just saw your message. I think I'm going to take him. He's my baby boy. I have four cats and he is my favorite (I don't say that in front of the others!)>
 
OK, after reading the thread, and the threads linked off of it, it might not be an emergency. Have you ever used the stix, or did you choose the meter (like I did) because the stix weren't a practical option?

That said, "ketones" scare the hell out of me, and I would never tell anyone to not worry about them, so if for no other reason, I'd get a 2nd test by the vet to set your mind at ease.

Carl
 
I mostly use strips, but also have a Nova Max meter to test ketones. I was never too convinced on the accuracy of the meter, to tell the truth.

The first time I got a HOT PINK reading - which is MODERATE KETONES - on the test strips, I called the ER vet and the NC State Vet school. Everyone told me to go ASAP. Because he was still eating like the ravenous beast he is, I held off until the morning, and beelined for my regular vet. He got fluids (lactated ringers), was put on an antibiotic, we increased his dose [not sure the protocol on the L's for increasing like that - we were on ProZinc] and we were sent home. I test for ketones VERY frequently, so I caught it early. I continued to give sub-cutaneous fluids (SubQs or Squids) for several months... initially 2x/day, then 1/day, then every other day. He got MOD KETONES two more times, and again I upped the fluids and dose. He's not had them since.

The vet school told me it generally costs $2-4000 to treat him if he goes DKA. Usually, however, by the time they see the pet, they haven't eaten for 3 days. This is why I was able to hold on until the morning... but otherwise, I would've at least gone to the ER vet.

My posts at this time were on PZI about Feb 23rd or 26th. feel free to take a look if you think it would help. Test strips (bottle of 50 for about $6-10) is the cheapest/best form of insurance you can get against ketones. Good luck. Let me know if I can offer anythign further.

Lu-Ann
 
Hi Billy,

Did you take Smudge to the vet? Please keep us posted. I was thinking that if he seemed fine and you wanted to double check the meter, maybe you could get Ketostix at the drug store and see what they said before you went in.

Good luck. I hope Smudge is ok.

Melanie & Racci
 
There is a difference between a cat throwing ketones and full blown DKA. However, Carl is correct -- ketones can become DKA very quickly. The info on the Precision Xtra meter and its relation to a Ketostix is based on Sharyn/Fiona's experience.

The basic recipe for ketones is infection + not eating + not enough insulin. So, Lu-Ann's experience with Grayson is very much like what we suggest. Add as much water as you can to Smudge's food. A vet needs to check your cat out to make sure there's not an infection present. A blood test and cystocentesis (sterile urine draw with a needle) along with a culture and sensitivity to rule out a UTI should cover the possible sources of infection. You may want to make sure there's not a dental problem, as well. If there's an infection, antibiotics will be very helpful. Beyond that, you just raised Smudge's dose. You need to wait a bit before you can raise the dose further.
 
Thanks for all the advice!

We took him in and everything was normal. He didn't have any ketones showing in his urine and all his other tests came back great. We hadn't been to the vet with him in awhile so we were happy to get everything re-checked. They are doing a culture on the urine to check for infection and did give him some fluids sub q. Thanks again for all the help!

MelanieAndRacci said:
Hi Billy,

Did you take Smudge to the vet? Please keep us posted. I was thinking that if he seemed fine and you wanted to double check the meter, maybe you could get Ketostix at the drug store and see what they said before you went in.

Good luck. I hope Smudge is ok.

Melanie & Racci
 
Glad to hear it. Like I said, as long as everything else seems normal, and the urine test strip looks okay, I'm a little guarded about the results from the meters. Mine gave such crazy numbers and had so many error messages, so with $2 (each) test strips, I became really frustrated. But I'd test any time I caught him in the litter box w/ the urine strips, and felt very comfortable with them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top