7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=71

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100736

EVENING ALL

I hope everyone is having a safe night......prayers to sweet jupe! and more understanding bosses for poor dara! Happy birthday Gracie, welcome back Tashie, and "come down a little" Papaya!!

Well, Tom and I have had an interesting day.....all good though. He has been all good colors...I will even take the yellow! I am not too sure what is finally up with him......but the insulin likes him! finally

I actually thought this was going to be a sleeper night......one poke and done. but I don't have enough data to know yet what is going to happen. he could be 44 in an hour....he could be 144.....well you all know what I mean

What exactly are the "Rules" when it comes to holding reductions? I mean, what do you do when you catch a 55 and you know if you wait it out ....you will get a 49? I would never do that......but still....just askin?

good health to all--peace to jamie

~kelly
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73

Oh,Kelly! ANOTHER night with Tom! Can't offer advise but sure can empathize with your SLEEP pattern! You have to be beat! Hang in there ........ seems, to me, Tom wants OTJ --- if you can hold on, he wants OFF this stuff! Thinking of you and wish that Tash could trade a HIGH for a GREEN - if nothing else, just to give you a night off!!! Hang is there - you are doing GREAT - BEYOND GREAT!!!! I am SO proud of you!
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +4=62

I never used Lantus, but I've done a lot of the late-night-holy-cow-low-numbers!!! thing...

I mean, what do you do when you catch a 55 and you know if you wait it out ....you will get a 49?

...and from all the kitties I've watched, if a kitty is bound and determined to get a dose reduction, it's going to happen. Yes, to some extent, you could see a 55 and intervene, and never see the 49. But if it doesn't happen that cycle, it's likely to happen in the near future if the dose needs to be tweaked down. When a cat is "done with this dose", they can be pretty insistent. ;-)
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +4=62

Wow, Tomcat! Again? Really? That is quite a drop from PMPS! Looks like you will be staying up an hour or two, Kelly!

With cats who have a history of not holding reductions, or if they just got reduced and the caregiver doesn't think another reduction so close together will hold, people may decide to try to avoid a reduction by feeding just enough to keep them over that 50 mark. It doesn't look like Tom has any problem keeping his numbers down on the reductions, though! I guess just follow his lead (with HC and testing strips in hand)! You're doing great!
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +4=62, +5=48

Well........really? okay I was just going to get one more test...figured he would be holding a nice 65 or so....throw on his harness for his late night outing (which is his reward for all this poking) come back inside...one last poke....open up a can of food and off I would go to bed......but what do I get?

I get a 48. :o (that was for Carl)

no walk just yet.

gave him HC.

will test in 30......

now, I know it is too soon for a reduction right? what to do? decisions ...decisions......boy, I am glad I don't have to make it


advice?

thanks all

~kelly
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +4=62, +5=48

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You know the drill....how about a tsp of LC, retest in 30, and let me look at his SS..

Look how well you know him...you kinda called it!

Eta: sorry...saw you fed HC. I'd have probably fed LC this late but it's fine especially because he just got a reduction. So, no, don't reduce again tomorrow...just hold the dose.

Thank you for Gracie birfday wishes ;-)
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +4=62, +5=48

Hmmm. I don't know that I would definitely rule out another reduction (but I'm not a Lantus veteran).
He only took four cycles to tell you he was done with 3.75u when you reduced from 4.0u
This could be just the depot settling down, but maybe Tom is just "on a mission"?
If so, then he'll let you know soon if he thinks he's "done" with this dose.


ETA: you need to add one of these :mrgreen: to your subject line. :shock: :mrgreen: :lol:
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +4=62, +5=48

Oh my !! a busy night for you too :lol:

I am still here...waiting on a +6 I think now... then will promptly feed and fall into bed (I hope :roll: )

Nice surfing there Tomcat, a bit of dip, but your Bean was right on it :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

okay...wow. that was a shoot up fast!

I learned something new tonight. Depending on where you are in the cycle.....depends on what type of food you offer.

okay...got it.

next time, Tom drops below 50 this late in his cycle...I will know to just offer some LC

and when he hits below 50 at +2....break out the big guns...mrs. buttersworth.

okay....so now I wait to get two rising number and call it a night? errrrr....I mean....brake out the harness? ;-) does he really know the difference if he gets his late night stroll (lay)? yup, sure he will kel!

okay back to the reduction....we have two differing minds

shall we or no?

generally do you like a reduction to be held for at least 4 cycles?

I am able to monitor him around the clock so keeping same dose is fine....I don't require sleep anymore.

I sure am glad I don't have any plans to ever leave my house in the next 2 months!! YIKES

what the hell was I complaining about with the pinks for weeks?!!!! :smile:

thanks all


kelly
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Well I hate to disagree with my pal, Carl, but a dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles and I think it's pretty typical for it to affect 3-4 subsequent cycles in most cats.

Yes, if you reduce and he doesn't hold, you can go back up. But I would just be careful about giving reductions too close together and you just reduced this morning. If he were my cat, I'd prefer to keep him on track.
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

okay back to the reduction....we have two differing minds

shall we or no?

generally do you like a reduction to be held for at least 4 cycles?

I don't consider it two differing minds.... I think of it as "Marje is the 'Obi-Wan' to my 'Luke'. :lol:
Every day I spend here, I learn more and more. From people who know more about this than I can ever hope to.

You want the depot to "catch up to the dose". The depot can effect, IIRC, up to six cycles. Tomcat could still be seeing the effect of the 3.75u depot without a doubt. And reducing back-to-back quickly can sometimes lead to a "failed reduction" and you end up having to go back up in dose. Me, I just love to see kitties climb quickly down the dosing ladder, so I sometimes tend to jump the gun. I lend out a pair of patience pants occasionally.... maybe I should try them on more often. :lol:
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 742
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

I am in no rush. I want to do this the correct way.

holding dose is the final answer.

do you think I should have held the prior dose even another 2 cycles longer then?

i should not have reduced this AM CYCLE then? I should have held it another 2 cycles? the 3.75 dose is what I am talking about...

now, I am worried.

????????? :? :?:
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Obi-Wan says no worrying.

I think I like being called Obi-Wan more than the Borg Queen :lol: :lol: :lol:

Seriously, I think you are fine at four cycles at the new dose. It's working. The only cat I know of right off the bat that likes six cycles in between reductions is my Little Brown Girl. But....if I'm having to work hard to keep her up within that six cycles, I reduce.

I'd just see how Tom does....you have all of us to ask at any time.

Doing great...a race down the scale between Bob and Tom :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

do you think I should have held the prior dose even another 2 cycles longer then?

the 3.75 dose is what I am talking about...

I think "no" to that question. He had 4 really nice cycles on that dose, with greens all over the place. Then he said "I'm done with this dose" by dropping under 50. I don't think that the 4th cycle was still the 4.0 dose talking.
The 2 cycles on 3.5u have also been really great cycles with lots of greens. If he bounced, it was a teeny bounce, and only a yellow number. Yes, this cycle tonight could still be the 3.75u dose having an effect. But if this continues (mid green nadirs) for 3 or 4 more cycles, and he drops under 50 again, I think it would be logical to assume he's bound and determined for a reduction again.
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

I think I like being called Obi-Wan more than the Borg Queen :lol: :lol: :lol:

I almost said "Yoda", but then I thought, "no, he was a creepy looking dude, that could be insulting!"
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

okay..thanks for that carl

now I am super worried....I should NOT have reduced this morning!! YUCK

well......not to throw anyone under the bus....but I did not reduce from my own doing....someone MADE ME DO IT...okay not like that...but you know.....

WHERE WERE YOU LAST NIGHT MARJE!!

oh well....all is not lost.

if I have to go back up the darn ladder....I will go up!

how come suddenly I feel like I need to do an increase in the AM????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 AHAHHAHAHH
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

now I am super worried....I should NOT have reduced this morning!! YUCK

I hope what I said didn't lead you to that conclusion....because I meant the opposite. I think reducing this morning to 3.5u was the correct choice.

The 4th cycle on 3.75u was the BEST of the 3.75u cycles. I think by then, the residual effects of the 4.0u dose were no longer in play.
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

okay.....got it.

sorry...I keep having to re-log in every time and by the time I get my frantic thoughts out....they have already been answered!!!

thanks you two........

I love a good cat fight! :twisted:
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Kelly

Not sure where we Carl confused you ;-) ;-) (JK) but you should have reduced this morning; Wendy was on target with her suggestion last night. I would have said the same thing :-D

Where was I last night? I-) I-) I-) I-)

Wednesday is my workday and I start at 5:30, get home around 7, eat dinner, talk to Mike a few, and then I'm toast. Believe me, you don't want me helping on those nights. I've gone back to read a post and it says:

"The protocol states stsdnhenmksinej dnsidnsb,mkkksnr" :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Wednesday is my workday and I start at 5:30, get home around 7, eat dinner, talk to Mike a few, and then I'm toast. Believe me, you don't want me helping on those nights. I've gone back to read a post and it says:

"The protocol states stsdnhenmksinej dnsidnsb,mkkksnr" :lol: :lol: :lol:
Yep, and then I have to play "Marje's interpreter" and translate what that means. :lol: And even I can't do that if there's any adult beverages involved! :lol:

Love ya Marje ;-)
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Hi Kelly, I see Tom is keeping you up chatting to us again tonight. Keep surfing there Tomcat please! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Another way to look at things - if Tom had gotten his 3.75U dose this morning and tonight, where do you think he would have dropped to tonight? So it's a good thing you dropped to 3.5 and ONLY had to deal with a 48 tonight. :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Sad but true, Carl. Luckily, I refrain from adult beverages during the week. :lol: :lol:

Love ya 2 Carl.
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Another way to look at things - if Tom had gotten his 3.75U dose this morning and tonight, where do you think he would have dropped to tonight? So it's a good thing you dropped to 3.5 and ONLY had to deal with a 48 tonight

well said.

got it

maybe the lack of sleep is catching up with me.........surely not! ;-)
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

+6=85

I think it is harness time!! I will give him some LC when we get back and poke once more...and off I go

so am I right about my discovery tonight:

when you get a 49 later in the cycle......offer LC food

when you get a 49 at +2= break out the mrs. buttersworth

makes sense...I just never put that together before

thanks again all
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

so am I right about my discovery tonight:

when you get a 49 later in the cycle......offer LC food

when you get a 49 at +2= break out the mrs. buttersworth
Exactly. Early on, you want to force the numbers up with sweets. Later, you just want to help the numbers climb without going overboard. Low carb encourages surfing. High carb is less subtle.

Enjoy your walk!
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

Hang in there, Kelly! I've been reading along these last few days - what a ride you've been through! Cashing in some karma coupons? ;-) Hope you can get some zzzzzzz's soon!
 
Re: 7/25 Tomcat AMPS 97, +3=54 PMPS 253, +3=73, +5=48, +5.5=

You're welcome, Kelly.

I did post that on someones condo recently....I thought it was Bobs. It was a summary of when to feed what..in general. There are always exceptions.

Feeding after nadir slows down the effects of the insulin. Think of insulin as a car coming up to a stop sign (PS) and food as the brakes. If you zoom towards the stop sign and then slam on the brakes just short of it, then you won't make it to the stop sign. But if you take your foot off the accelerator and gradually slow down...you glide up to the stop sign.

Good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top